Show Posts
|
|
Pages: [1] 2
|
|
1
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Mana Drip
|
on: December 17, 2004, 01:38:20 pm
|
However, it used to be that an opponent with at least two untapped Islands was threatening a counterspell. This makes it so that even a single untapped island (along with N other untapped lands, which I reiterate, is not rare for a control deck to have) threatens a potent counterspell. This is particularly important because the current state of the art of countering is probably Hinder Correct me if I am wrong, you seem to be neglecting Condescend, which I believe sees a fair amount of T2 play these days.
|
|
|
|
|
5
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Selective Recall
|
on: July 28, 2004, 03:01:51 am
|
It isn't needed. Right, of course it isn't needed for rules purposes. I think it's nice for the sake of clarity, so that it's immediately obvious how it works (and so you wouldn't get questions on it in the Rules forum.) --Sam L-L
|
|
|
|
|
6
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Selective Recall
|
on: July 27, 2004, 08:17:16 pm
|
|
Without "up to X", it is a little confusing what happens when you, say, pay 6 for X and there are less than 6 cards in your graveyard of any one type (or, giving an even larger possibility for confusion, if there are >6, say, lands, but <6 of each other type). This makes the correct answer immediately obvious.
--Sam L-L
|
|
|
|
|
8
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / Sigh...Sunburst Cards and Mycosynth Latice
|
on: July 19, 2004, 02:03:21 am
|
Matt's right. Rune Horvik says:Q: If I have Mycosynth Lattice in play and play a card with Sunburst ability (like Infused Arrows), do I get one charge counter for each mana I spent to play it, since Mycosynth Lattice has: "Players may spend mana as though it were mana of any color"? --Fabricio Puppi
A: No, you don't. Mycosynth Lattice lets you use all your mana as though it was white, blue, black, red or green; but it doesn't changethe mana. For example, if you only have Islands in play, you pay only blue mana for the Infused Arrows spell, and that is what the Sunburst ability will see, even if you spend it as if it were any color. --Sam L-L
|
|
|
|
|
9
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / 3CB Tournament #36
|
on: July 01, 2004, 03:12:56 am
|
I have one nitpicky thing about that reasoning. The rulings on Shahrazad specifically say all players who lose the subgame lose half of their life in the main game. If the subgame is a draw, then it would end according to the infinite loop rule, and then neither player would lose life. In essence, that means Shahrazad does nothing. The Oracle text says "Each player who doesn't win the subgame loses half his or her life, rounded up." (Emphasis mine.) --Sam L-L
|
|
|
|
|
10
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / 3CB Tournament #36
|
on: June 30, 2004, 03:40:06 pm
|
Either way, the caster of Shahrazad will never have 3 cards, because Shahrazad was cast. That player will lose. If the opponent has also played at least one card, he loses too. So, either Shahrazad's caster loses 10 life, or they both lose 10 life. No subgame can ever be drawn. Shahrazad takes your new decks from your parent game libraries, not your parent game hands. Unless something put cards from someone's hand back into their library, both players will have empty decks in the subgame. --Sam L-L
|
|
|
|
|
11
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / 3CB Tournament #36
|
on: June 30, 2004, 03:36:07 pm
|
|
Here is my reasoning: see if it makes sense to you.
"Players play a MAGIC subgame, using their libraries as their decks. Each player who doesn't win the subgame loses half his or her life, rounded up. After the subgame, players shuffle all subgame cards they own into their libraries. Players don't ante a card for the subgame, and libraries with less than the required number of cards are legal."
Nothing in there about losing if you have less cards than the number you have to draw in your opening hand. In the Comprehensive Rules:
"101.3. Once the starting player has been determined, each player sets his or her life total to 20 and draws a hand of seven cards."
"102.2. When a player is required to draw more cards than are left in his or her library, he or she draws the remaining cards, and then loses the game the next time a player would receive priority. (This is a state-based effect. See rule 420.)"
These are the two rules that would make someone lose in a normal (parent) game. 3CB overrides 102.2, so that we each start by trying to draw 7 and only getting 3, but don't lose.
In a subgame, though:
"506.3a A player's deck in the subgame may have less than the minimum number of cards. If a player's deck contains less than seven cards, the player will lose the game as soon as it starts, even if he or she mulligans. (See rule 420, "State-Based Effects.")"
Read strictly, each player loses the subgame as soon as it starts. But it seems like the reason for this is that each player will be drawing more cards in their library, and that therefore 3CB should override it as well.
On the second issue, if we override this rule, but then both players have no chance of winning the subgame, you get in an infinite loop:
"102.6. If the game somehow enters a "loop," repeating a sequence of events with no way to stop, the game is a draw. Loops that contain an optional action don't result in a draw."
You'd be in a loop where the only thing each player could do would be pass the turn, and therefore the subgame would be a draw. Both players would lose half their life in the parent game.
--Sam L-L
|
|
|
|
|
13
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Sit-in
|
on: June 25, 2004, 01:46:30 pm
|
Furthermore, with as few as two creatures in play, you also eliminate most reasonable ways of getting rid of this. Unless somebody's playing Tranquility or Creeping Mold, you don't leave many options for somebody else doing something about this With the upkeep ability on the stack, Disenchant it? --Sam L-L
|
|
|
|
|
15
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Rules Q&A / spectator/s and game play
|
on: June 23, 2004, 06:54:30 pm
|
UTR Section 14: Spectator and Press Responsibilities Spectators are expected to remain silent during matches and are not permitted to communicate with players in any way while matches are in progress. Players have the right to request that a spectator not observe their matches. All such requests must be made through a judge.
Spectators and members of the press who believe that they have observed rules violations should inform a judge, but they must not interfere with the match.
It's clear from this that you aren't supposed to tell the players when you see an obvious rules problem that the two players are missing. Should you raise your hand immediately and call for a judge, or simply let it slide? --Sam L-L
|
|
|
|
|
17
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Something else from me
|
on: June 02, 2004, 12:24:02 am
|
|
If this is supposed to be:
Skip your next turn: At the end of your opponents next turn, double your life total.
...then you can play the ability an arbitrarily large number of times and each will double your life total on your opponent's next end step. It's like a one-card infinite combo, with a built in win via decking.
|
|
|
|
|
18
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / The Battle of the Banned Decks!
|
on: May 14, 2004, 05:20:45 pm
|
Why not allow decks to use the rules that were legal at the time? This would make them more powerful, and have less dead cards in the MD ex. cauldron-fastbond. It is very much not well defined what happens when two players are playing under different rulesets -- what if one player is playing under pre-Sixth Edition rules and has no stack? --Sam L-L
|
|
|
|
|
21
|
Eternal Formats / Miscellaneous / [Deck] Ankh Sligh 2k4
|
on: April 20, 2004, 04:10:08 am
|
PoP, however, with both wastelands and bloods is not a good choice. PoP and Blood Moon don't really interact. A Tolarian Academy under Blood Moon is a nonbasic Mountain and would still be good for 2 PoP damage. --Sam L-L
|
|
|
|
|
26
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Card Creation Forum / Mirrored Landscape
|
on: April 07, 2004, 05:52:20 pm
|
|
You've basically created the following card:
Mirrored Landscape 0 Enchantment 2: Draw a card. If you've played this ability four times, instead sacrifice Mirrored Landscape and draw two cards. Flavor text: You could play this card as a land, but nobody will, so we left it off.
|
|
|
|
|
29
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / 3CB Tournament #30 Results and Discussion
|
on: March 26, 2004, 11:17:18 pm
|
Was your resistance in any way bolstered by the fact that Bridge is banned? Pffft. That would have made it easier, yes  Something like the first three decks I could come up with were banned (Balance, Strip Mine, and the Bridge). Also, I assume you mean Havenwood Battleground and not Hickory Woodlot, which is not even in the format. Ah, I actually meant the Woodlot -- I meant that the Channel/Snake Basket deck wished it was in the format. I overlooked the FE replacement! --Sam L-L
|
|
|
|
|
30
|
Vintage Community Discussion / Casual Forum / 3CB Tournament #30 Results and Discussion
|
on: March 26, 2004, 12:53:14 am
|
OK, maybe swamp, ritual, hypnotic specter isn't very original, but it is classic  I think that Channel/Snake Basket really wants the Hickory Woodlot to be a contender. I was strangely tempted to go for the ~100 turn win deck (Dwarven Hold, Ensnaring Bridge, Searing Touch) but somehow resisted it. --Sam L-L
|
|
|
|
|