TheManaDrain.com
October 01, 2025, 06:13:55 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Rector Tendrills questions  (Read 1282 times)
bedafile
Basic User
**
Posts: 85



View Profile Email
« on: March 22, 2004, 10:20:13 am »

My brother and I have been working on mastering a rector tendrills deck for an upcoming toournament and I have a few questions about playing it.

Can I play Mox Diamond, choose to not discard a land from my hand and still tap it once for mana on the way to the graveyard?

My brother also pulled this move, I was wondering if it works. Academy Rector is cast with Cabal Therapy in the graveyard. I cast Swords to Plowshares on his turn targeting Rector, hoping to remove it before he can use Cabal Therapy. He claims that instants can only be put onto the stack or played on my turn so at this point its not a valid target yet. He flashbacks Cabal Therapy sac-ing Rector. He claims I can't STP his Rector at this point either because that's part of Therapy's casting cost. This seems a little suspect, is this claim valid that there was nothing I could to remove Rector with STP?
Thanks for the help.
Logged

I can't belive I ate the whole thing
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2004, 10:53:35 am »

You discard the land as part of Mox Diamond's casting cost. So if you don't discard a land, you simply can't play it. Mox Diamond's has been errated.

Quote
As an additional cost to play ~this~, discard a land card from your hand. ; {Tap}: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool.


Second question. You have no opportunity to STP the Rector. Your opponent casts a Rector, then receives priority. Then he plays Cabal Therapy saccing the Rector. Then you receive priority, but the Rector is already in the graveyard.
Logged
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2004, 10:54:11 am »

First: Discarding a land for Mox Diamond is a COST. This means you cannot tap it for mana since it won't come into play yet. This was an update from 6th ed. rules, IIRC.

Second: In order to play STP, you must have priority. If you do not have priority, you cannot play it. If your brother manages to put Therapy on the stack before you have priority to STP it, you cannot anymore, as saccing the creature is a casting cost of the flashback therapy. However, don't forget Therapy is a sorcery, so you can just Swords to Rector during his upkeep or something. Just don't let the game go into the first mainphase of your brothers turn, since then HE will have priority.

Hope this clears things up a little.
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2004, 12:07:45 pm »

Quote
He claims that instants can only be put onto the stack or played on my turn so at this point its not a valid target yet.


i believe this is the part that is VERY FISHY
instants may be played anytime you have priority, regardless of whether the stack is empty or not

however, like toad and morefling have said, once rector resolves, he has priority, and if he doesn't pass, and flashes therapy, your stp is as good as a wrath of god

next, your opponent HAS to search out the enchantment before naming a card
it's normally not nice to cheese the opponent this way, but if you're in a tournament, go ahead Twisted Evil
Logged

i need red mana
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.267 seconds with 20 queries.