TheManaDrain.com
September 17, 2025, 06:43:16 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Celestial Dawn  (Read 1332 times)
Upinthe
Basic User
**
Posts: 282



View Profile
« on: March 25, 2004, 12:28:50 am »

This really doesn't have any game relevance yet, but if I have Celestial Dawn in play and I use a Ring of Ma'ruf or a wish to get a card from outside the game, will it count as getting a white card? I'm not sure if "own but aren't in play" means just the cards in the current game or your entire collection.
Logged

I know this won't happen in a tournament, but if my opponent has Chaos Orb in his hand while I'm controlling his turn from a Mindslaver, who flips the card if I force him to play it and activate it?

"When I saw the announcement of Temple Garden on wizards.com, I knew that I was going to be out of Type 2 for the next two years" - JDizzle
JSexton
Basic User
**
Posts: 35



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2004, 11:35:33 am »

Quote
Celestial Dawn
{1}{W}{W}
Enchantment
Nonland cards you own that aren't in play, spells you control, and nonland permanents you control are white. Lands you control are Plains. Spells and abilities you control produce white mana instead of any other color. You may spend white mana as though it were mana of any color.


I would say no. From the Comp. Rules glossary:

Quote
Owner
The owner of a card is the player who started the game with that card in his or her deck or, for cards that didn’t start the game in a player’s deck, the player who brought the card into the game. (Legal ownership is irrelevant to the game rules, except for the rules for ante.)


If you use an effect to bring a card into the game, you are by definition its owner. Since there is no such thing as "between zones", the moment a wished-for card enters your hand, it becomes white. However, I do not think that Celestial Dawn makes your entire sideboard (or collection, for casual) white. Here's a hypothetical card, templated from existing wishes. Is this kind of what you're getting at?

Quote
Alabaster Wish
{2}{W}
Sorcery
Choose a white card you own from outside the game, reveal that card, and put it into your hand. Remove Alabaster Wish from the game.


Interesting. Now that I read it again, it seems the Wishes use the word "own" to mean "legal owner," which is clearly not what the definition is according to the rules. Golden Rule wins, though. Still, there's no reason to think that Celestial Dawn also breaks the rule that way, since there's no compelling reason for it to do so.
Logged

--
Justin
Jaapmans
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 44

47573040 jaapbrouwer@hotmail.com
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2004, 05:19:27 pm »

Although JSexton displays some fair research and reasoning, if I would have to rule over such question, for the purpose of resolving an Alabaster Wish, I would declare the whole sideboard white. Based on the similar 'own' word.

Jaap
Logged

- "Sorry, did I break your concentration?"
JSexton
Basic User
**
Posts: 35



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2004, 06:30:06 pm »

Agreed. I think it can be safely assumed that you own your sideboard, and that Dawn would apply to it, though I'm fairly certain there's currently nothing in the game that particularly cares. Yet, anyway.
Logged

--
Justin
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.27 seconds with 20 queries.