TheManaDrain.com
September 30, 2025, 11:23:30 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Animate Dead (and friend) VS Misdirection  (Read 2934 times)
Zhindel
Basic User
**
Posts: 25

Zhindel
View Profile
« on: April 14, 2004, 03:27:21 pm »

"Animate Dead"
Info:  Color = Black     Type = Enchantment           Cost = 1B       Edition =  4th Edition (4E)

Errata:  When Animate Dead comes into play, if it's in play, it becomes an enchant creature.  Put target creature card from a graveyard into play under your control enchanted by Animate Dead. ; Enchanted creature gets -1/-0. ; When Animate Dead leaves play, destroy enchanted creature.  It can't be regenerated. [Oracle 2001/08/24]

Enters play as a global enchantment and then becomes an Enchant Creature as a triggered ability (see Rule 404) upon entering play.  It follows all the rules for Enchant Creature cards from then on. [WotC Rules Team 1997/03/14]  For example, it counts for abilities that interact with creature enchantments, such as Rabid Wombat. [Aahz 1997/06/06]

A "creature card" is a Creature card or Artifact Creature card. [D'Angelo 1999/05/01]  Older cards of type Summon are also Creature cards.

You can Animate a creature which was discarded from a hand and therefore was never in play. [D'Angelo 1994/04/01]

The creature comes out as if it were just played.  Any X in the mana cost is zero (see Rule G24.1).  So animating a Rock Hydra gives you a hydra with zero heads.  [Mirage, Page 31]

When putting a card into play that requires a definition for its value, such as with Minion of the Wastes, you do what is needed to define the value.  [WotC Rules Team 1998/02/02]  In the case of Minion of the Wastes, you pay life to define its values.

The animated creature comes into play with summoning sickness (see Rule G19.27), so it cannot attack until it begins one of its controller's turns in play. [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]

This is a targeted ability.  Note that cards in the graveyard do not have Protection from Color abilities (see Rule 402.8), but the comes into play ability may be countered if the target creature card is removed from the graveyard before the spell resolves.  If the ability is countered, then this card stays an Enchantment and stays in play. [D'Angelo 2002/12/19]

If the creature phases out (see Rule 502.15) without the Animate Dead because Animate Dead has been affected by Spatial Binding, the Animate Dead is destroyed but the creature is not.  The creature will phase in perfectly normal since the Animate Dead ability did not destroy it. [Aahz 1997/02/16]

Note - Also see Comes Into Play Abilities, Rule 410.10a.

Note - Also see Put Into Play, Rule G16.25.

Note - The Limited Edition, Unlimited Edition, Revised Edition, and Fourth Edition versions had this card as an Enchant Dead Creature. [D'Angelo 1997/04/11]

"Misdirection"
Info:  Color = Blue      Type = Instant               Cost = 3UU       Edition =  Mercadian Masques (MM)

Errata:  You may remove a blue card in your hand from the game rather than pay Misdirection's mana cost. ; Change the target of target spell with a single target. [Oracle 2001/06/01]

You choose the spell to target on announcement, but you pick the new target for that spell on resolution. [bethmo 1999/11/30]

If there is no other legal target for the spell, Misdirection does not change the target. [D'Angelo 2000/07/24]

Misdirection does not check if the current target is legal.  It just checks if the spell has a single target. [DeLaney 2001/02/15]

This has just come up in the GAT vs Hulk thread here:

http://www.themanadrain.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=16610&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15

Can an animate spell be misdirected to another creature instead of the dragon?

I think the ruling about it following the rules for an enchant creature card, would mean you have to pick the target creature to enchant.
Logged
Zhalfirin
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 47


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2004, 04:04:08 pm »

Animate Dead cannot be misdirected.  When it is played, it has no target because it enters play as a global enchantment.  When it comes into play, it has a come-into-play trigger that does target a creature card in a graveyard.   That ability's target could be changed only by Willbender, if I recall correctly.
Logged
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2004, 01:43:32 am »

Simply put, the targetting effect of Animate dead is a TRIGGERED ABILITY, not a spell. If you took all that time to find the errata, it seems really obvious.
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2004, 02:54:58 pm »

You can, however, stifle the CIP trigger. This leaves them with a random animate dead in play.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
DavidHernandez
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 414



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2004, 10:58:16 am »

Jacob:

I just want to confirm this: If the Dragon player casts Animate targeting Worldgorger, and I STIFLE the Animate trigger, they get an Animate in play by itself, and the Dragon stays in the graveyard.

Right?

Dave.
Logged

I will find a way -- or make one.
Check out my wife! www.DanceKitten.com
Team GRO- Ours are bigger than yours.
Card Carrying Member: Team Mindtrick
Best.Fortune.Cookie.Ever: "Among the lucky, you are the chosen one."
Zhalfirin
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 47


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2004, 12:00:48 pm »

David, you are correct.
Logged
dmessiah
Basic User
**
Posts: 20



View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2004, 01:28:25 pm »

Quote from: DavidHernandez
Jacob:

I just want to confirm this: If the Dragon player casts Animate targeting Worldgorger, and I STIFLE the Animate trigger, they get an Animate in play by itself, and the Dragon stays in the graveyard.

Right?

Dave.


     It could just be me, but I'd rather Stifle the "leaves play" ability of the dragon after he's floated enough mana to burn and emptied his hand from bazaar.
     But yeah that works.
Logged

We, who do not deny the animal of our nature
We, who yearn to preserve our liberation
We, who face darkness in our hearts with a solemn fire
We, who aspire to truth and pursue its strength

-- Dimmu Borgir
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2004, 01:31:24 pm »

A more common situation would be activating a crypt in response to the CIP effect. With the target gone, the effect won't occur, leaving the animate in play as a global enchantment that does nothing.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
DavidHernandez
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 414



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2004, 03:02:38 pm »

Quote
I'd rather Stifle the "leaves play" ability of the dragon after he's floated enough mana to burn and emptied his hand from bazaar.

Yes, I agree, but my question was regarding the ability to use Stifle on Animate Dead.

Thanks,
Dave.
Logged

I will find a way -- or make one.
Check out my wife! www.DanceKitten.com
Team GRO- Ours are bigger than yours.
Card Carrying Member: Team Mindtrick
Best.Fortune.Cookie.Ever: "Among the lucky, you are the chosen one."
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.038 seconds with 19 queries.