TheManaDrain.com
September 26, 2025, 10:26:38 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: mana drain  (Read 1116 times)
Ender
Basic User
**
Posts: 66



View Profile
« on: April 29, 2004, 01:59:53 pm »

i was reading the tourney reports and crazycarl wrote about this situation.

Quote
The game goes on for a while, and he goes for Intuition during his turn, and Drains the Force I use on it. He gets his AK's, casts the one for 3 and passes. At the end of his turn I stop to think, then realize he hadn't gone through his attack phase and used his mana during his second main phase. I point this out and it takes a few people to convince him of how Drain mana works with the phases.


can someone explain the reasoning why if the mana drain was used on the first main phase, why he can't use the 5 colorless during his 2nd main?

the only think i can think of is that i may be misinterpreting the fact that he casted the intuition on his 2nd main but maybe you guys see something i don't..
Logged

Fear the bunnies for they will rule the world one day. Unless George Bush is one of them then we may already be too late....

Protect this world and kill a bunny. The fluffy cute ones are the most dangerous kind.
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2004, 01:57:30 pm »

No, the point was that he HAD to use the mana on his 2nd main, but thought he could wait until the next turn.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
virtual
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 203



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2004, 02:05:35 pm »

I think it's just a slightly unclear description of what happened.  By my reading, he mana drained the force during his first main phase, cast an AK (not using the MD mana), and then passed the turn, thus implying that he would mana burn the 5 mana during his 2nd main phase.  

He could probably (depending on the level of the tournament), have gone back and used the 5 colorless during his 2nd main phase on learning the rules about mana drain.  I don't think anywhere it said that he couldn't; it seems that he just didn't.  I think he stated that his turn was over though, and in a serious tournament, a case could be made that he should mana drain for the 5 mana.
Logged

Team White Lotus:  Out Producing U since 1995.

Anyone near LA who wants to play, TWL tests about once a week, send me a PM.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.033 seconds with 19 queries.