TheManaDrain.com
September 19, 2025, 07:03:03 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Ambush Commander and Dual Lands  (Read 1793 times)
Tempe
Basic User
**
Posts: 182



View Profile Email
« on: May 03, 2004, 05:42:34 pm »

Will an [card]Ambush Commander[/card] turn a [card]Tropical Island[/card] into a 1/1 Elf? If so, does it have summoning sickness? If so, does that mean it can no longer tap for mana the first turn it comes into play as well? Thanks in advance.

--Tempe
Logged

The Dominion of Chaos (DoC)
-Phenix of DoC
-MUD Administrator

The Definition of Budget
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2004, 05:44:16 pm »

Yes, yes, and yes. In that order.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Tristal
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 233


Knocks you all down


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2004, 01:37:19 am »

The land will only have summoning sickness if it came into play that turn.  Lands that have been in play long enough will not have it when you play the Ambush Commander.
Logged

No longer a DCI Level 1 Judge.  Just a guy who likes rules knowledge.
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2004, 10:04:43 am »

Quote from: Tempe
If so, does that mean it can no longer tap for mana the first turn it comes into play
Logged

i need red mana
Meddling Mike
Master of Divination
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 1616


Not Chris Pikula

micker01 Micker1985 micker1985
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2004, 11:15:27 pm »

Quote from: Tempe
Will an [card]Ambush Commander[/card] turn a [card]Tropical Island[/card] into a 1/1 Elf? If so, does it have summoning sickness? If so, does that mean it can no longer tap for mana the first turn it comes into play as well? Thanks in advance.

--Tempe


Question 1: Will an [card]Ambush Commander[/card] turn a [card]Tropical Island[/card] into a 1/1 Elf?

Answer: Yes, just as a polluted delta can go get a volcanic island, Ambush Commander makes Tropical Island an elf.

Question 2: If so, does it have summoning sickness?

Answer: If you played it the same turn that you played the ambush commander, then when the Tropical Island becomes an elf, it will have summoning sickness and be unable to tap. If you played it during a prior turn, it will not have summoning sickness.

Question 3: If so, does that mean it can no longer tap for mana the first turn it comes into play as well?

Answer: After the Ambush Commander resolves making the recently played tropical island a 1/1 elf with summoning sickness, it can no longer be tapped for mana until the following turn when it is no longer summoning sick.
Logged

Meddling Mike posts so loudly that nobody can get a post in edgewise.

Team TMD - If you feel that team secrecy is bad for Vintage put this in your signature
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2004, 09:22:54 am »

Quote
Question 2: If so, does it have summoning sickness?

Answer: If you played it the same turn that you played the ambush commander, then when the Tropical Island becomes an elf, it will have summoning sickness and be unable to tap. If you played it during a prior turn, it will not have summoning sickness.


Summoning sickness is "healed" at the beginning of the controllers first upkeep after the permanent comes under his/her control. So suppose player A plays a tropical island during his turn, then passes the turn to player B. During player B's turn, player A activates winding canyons and pops the ambush commander into play, then the tropical island played the previous turn will still have summoning sickness, since player A hasnt had an upkeep of his/her own yet.

Permanents that are confiscated/donated by players will also have summoning sickness untill the new controllers first upkeep. So no stealing of dreadnoughts during your turn and immediately using it to smack its previous controller for 12 (well, unless you are a s4v4g3 cheator).
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2004, 03:48:43 pm »

Or are playing with [card]Magus of the Unseen[/card].
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.294 seconds with 20 queries.