TheManaDrain.com
October 01, 2025, 06:13:21 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Summoner's egg and Eater of Days  (Read 1137 times)
Cancerman
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 15


Cancerman
View Profile Email
« on: July 13, 2004, 08:39:36 am »

When i cast Summoner's Egg, i imprint Eater of Days.
Now, when the Egg goes into the graveyard, Eater of Days comes into play. Does Eater of Days make me lose the next 2 turns, or is the "comes into play" rule ignored?

Thank you in advance!
Logged
Ephraim
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2938


The Casual Adept

LordZakath
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2004, 08:46:14 am »

You would lose two turns. The turning of the card face up isn't the same as a creature with Morph or something put into play with Illusionary Mask turning face up. It is simply revealing the card that had been removed from the game, to confirm that it is a creature. Eater of Days doesn't say 'When ~this~ comes into play from your hand...' so regardless of how it gets into play, you lose two turns.

EDIT: I realize I was a little bit unclear. Eater of Days' penalty only applies if it is face up when it comes into play. Putting it into play with Illusionary Mask would avoid the penalty, the same way that it avoids the penalty with Phyrexian Dreadnought. It is for that reason that the creature put into play with Summoner's Egg is turned face up while it's still outside of the game, then put into play. It is so that any comes-into-play effects of the creature will trigger.
Logged

Did you know that Red is the color or art and music and passion? Combine that with Green, the color of nature, spiritualism, and community and you get a hippie commune of drum circles, dreamcatchers, and recreational drug use. Let's see that win a Pro Tour.
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2004, 08:55:35 am »

The lines of text we need to look at are pasted down here:

Quote
When Summoner's Egg is put into a graveyard from play, turn the imprinted face-down card face up. If that card is a creature card, put it into play under your control.


Quote
When Eater of Days comes into play, you skip your next two turns.


Although the first textline would suggest flipping over of the card (which would result in a no-turnloss fatty), the second line instructs you to put it into play, hence triggering the turnloss from eater of days. You could put the eater of days into play with an illusionary mask, but I am sure you could better use a phyrexian dreadnought to abuse that card.

Edit: Ephraim beat me to answering the question Sad
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Cancerman
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 15


Cancerman
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2004, 12:27:56 pm »

Thanks guys!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.029 seconds with 19 queries.