|
asmoranomardicodais
|
 |
« on: April 26, 2005, 11:54:40 am » |
|
How about this card? I've always wanted to see a good version of Rystic Cave, so here's my take on it:
Cave of the Ur-Dragon Tap: Play this ability as an instant. When it resolves, add one mana to your mana pool of the last color chosen. Pay 1 life: Choose a color. Any player may play this ability.
How does everyone like that card? Is it playable? Also, what's a better name for it?
Current Wording: Cave of the Ur-Dragon Land
As Cave of the Ur-Dragon comes into play, choose a color. T: Any player may pay 1 life. If they do, untap Cave of the Ur-Dragon and that player chooses a color. Otherwise, add one mana of the last color chosen to your mana pool. You can’t play this ability as another spell or ability is being played.
|
|
|
|
« Last Edit: April 28, 2005, 12:14:02 pm by asmoranomardicodais »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
rvs
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2005, 12:04:09 pm » |
|
It looks cool, but I think the wording could use some cleaning up. I'm not sure how to though, so I'll leave that up to someone else.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.
Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
|
|
|
|
The Atog Lord
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2005, 12:54:25 pm » |
|
This needs a clause stating what happens when no color is chosen.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
The Academy: If I'm not dead, I have a Dragonlord Dromoka coming in 4 turns
|
|
|
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
    
Posts: 8074
When am I?
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2005, 01:34:31 pm » |
|
How about this:
Cave of the Ur-Dragon When Cave of the Ur-Dragon comes into play, choose a color. Pay 1 life: Change the chosen color to the color of your choice. Any player may play this ability. Tap: Add one mana of the chosen color to your mana pool. This is not a mana ability.
Except I just realized the "play as an instant" clause doesn't work, because mana abilities don't use the stack. Hence the bizarro rules text of "this is not a mana ability".
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Meandeck: O Lord, Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile. To those who slander me, let me give no heed. May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
|
|
|
|
Nibble
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2005, 01:35:28 pm » |
|
This needs a clause stating what happens when no color is chosen.
Could also be fixed by a CIP color choice, which I think is simpler to do. It looks cool, but I think the wording could use some cleaning up. I'm not sure how to though, so I'll leave that up to someone else.
The biggest problem I see with the wording is that it wants a mana ability that can be responded to. 'Play only when you could play an instant' doesn't erase the fact that it's a mana ability and will be resolved instantly. So, my try: When ~this~ comes into play, choose a color.  : Add one mana of the last chosen color to your mana pool. This isn't considered a mana ability. Pay 1 life: Choose a color. Any player may play this ability. Edit: Jacob wins.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Grosse Manschaft - We don't just play type 4 all the time, we swear
|
|
|
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Moderator
Basic User
    
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2005, 01:43:18 pm » |
|
T: Choose a color. Any player may pay 1 life to choose a different color. Add one mana of the color last chosen in this way to your mana pool.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}
|
|
|
|
Nova442
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2005, 02:42:12 pm » |
|
Does that wording even work without a repeat this process/each player takes turns type clause?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
The Atog Lord
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2005, 03:33:25 pm » |
|
I have some reservations about the "This is not a mana ability" wording. First of all, this may get very confusing to a player. Are players supposed to imply that, because it is not a mana ability, it therefore uses the stack? I can see some players scratching their heads at this. Yes, I know the Edible Lands from Mirrodin explicitly declare themselves not to be spells, but at the same time their text also says what they are -- lands.
Second, a land whose mana can be responded to has some serious weaknesses. Image that you have this as your fourth land. If you are holding a Hill Giant as your only card, and tap this for mana, I can respond by casting Orim's Chant. And you'll end up with mana burn and the creature still in your hand.
So, let me take a shot at this. This wording seems to give the card the bidding-for-life flavor, while still keeping it from using the stack.
Cave of the Ur-Dragon When Cave of the Ur-Dragon comes into play, choose a color. T: You and all other players bid life. You start the bidding with a high bid of 0. In turn order, each player may top the high bid. The bidding ends when the high bid stands. Each player loses life equal to the highest bid made by that player. The player with the highest bid then chooses a color. Then add to your mana pool one mana of the last chosen color.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
The Academy: If I'm not dead, I have a Dragonlord Dromoka coming in 4 turns
|
|
|
|
Godder
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2005, 06:07:46 pm » |
|
That looks way too complicated for a mana ability... How about some reminder text instead:
Cave of the Ur-Dragon
Pay 1 life: Choose a colour. Any player may play this ability. Tap: Add one mana of the colour last chosen to your mana pool. Play this ability only any time you could play an instant.(If no colour has been chosen, Cave of the Ur-Dragon produces colourless mana.)
That said, it's lost its Rhystic Cave feeling, so maybe something else can be done.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
|
|
|
|
asmoranomardicodais
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2005, 10:20:57 pm » |
|
I like Godder's suggestion, as long as it still leaves this situation open:
You have Cave and one island untapped. The opponent knows you have a counterspell in your hand. They play wrath of god, which would kill your morphling, your last chance of winning. So you tap your cave, and try to produce blue so you can play your counterspell. The opponet pays one life, changing it to green. You pay life again to get it back to blue. This continues till he has payed 4 life and you have payed three. In dismay, he lets you have your mana. You respond by tapping to play an impulse, since you were bluffing the whole time.
I just want mana wars to ensue because of the card.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
    
Posts: 8074
When am I?
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2005, 01:04:58 pm » |
|
Godder's wording won't let that happen. You can only play the ability at instant speed, but since it's still a mana ability, they don't get priority before it resolves--so they can't change the color.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Meandeck: O Lord, Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile. To those who slander me, let me give no heed. May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
|
|
|
|
Godder
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2005, 07:08:11 pm » |
|
I don't think it's possible to word it to do that without resorting to AtogLord's wording, or something very similar. The Land still has to have its colour set at some point in time, so that could lead to an auction of sorts, but the stack makes this very hard, because you can always tap it in response if you're happy with the colour it's set to, plus the change goes in LIFO order, which means waiting for each one to resolve separately, before changing the colour again. It could lead to some interesting EOT wars, though...
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
|
|
|
|
Nibble
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2005, 10:15:11 pm » |
|
An idea:  : Any player may pay 1 life. If they do, that player chooses a color, and untap ~this~. Otherwise, add one mana of the last color chosen to your mana pool.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Grosse Manschaft - We don't just play type 4 all the time, we swear
|
|
|
|
asmoranomardicodais
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2005, 11:47:17 pm » |
|
Nibble's wording is great! I like it a lot, and it seems to work. Anybody see any problems with this wording?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Godder
|
 |
« Reply #14 on: April 28, 2005, 01:23:43 am » |
|
Add the text at the end of the Rhystic Cave's mana ability i.e. "You can’t play this ability as another spell or ability is being played" and you're good to go. Cave of the Ur-Dragon Land As Cave of the Ur-Dragon comes into play, choose a colour.  : Any player may pay 1 life. If they do, untap Cave of the Ur-Dragon and that player chooses a color. Otherwise, add one mana of the last color chosen to your mana pool. You can’t play this ability as another spell or ability is being played.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
|
|
|
|
rvs
|
 |
« Reply #15 on: April 28, 2005, 01:37:10 am » |
|
Nibble's wording is great! I like it a lot, and it seems to work. Anybody see any problems with this wording?
Yes. That turns it into a good uncounterable channel.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.
Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
|
|
|
|
Nibble
|
 |
« Reply #16 on: April 28, 2005, 04:17:14 am » |
|
Yes. That turns it into a good uncounterable channel.
It's meant to be that if any life is payed, it untaps but no mana is produced (this is implied by the 'Otherwise'). So for each activation, you get one of two effects: A player pays 1 life, a new color is chosen, and the land untaps, or The controller of the land gets 1 mana, and the land remains tapped.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team Grosse Manschaft - We don't just play type 4 all the time, we swear
|
|
|
|
asmoranomardicodais
|
 |
« Reply #17 on: April 28, 2005, 12:14:58 pm » |
|
Ok, just need some flavor text, and it looks like the card is good to go
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
asmoranomardicodais
|
 |
« Reply #18 on: May 06, 2005, 08:10:15 pm » |
|
Ok, since no one has given me any objections, 24 hour clock!
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Moderator
Basic User
    
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
|
 |
« Reply #19 on: May 07, 2005, 10:09:54 pm » |
|
This almost seems too complex to bother with.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}
|
|
|
|
asmoranomardicodais
|
 |
« Reply #20 on: May 08, 2005, 01:28:16 pm » |
|
It's not complex! It's text just boggles the mind, but the card itself is straightforward! I tap it to try and get the color I want. The opponent fights me for that color. I finally tap for blue, the color that I wanted in the first place. I think it works perfectly!
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Moderator
Basic User
    
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
|
 |
« Reply #21 on: May 09, 2005, 12:01:00 pm » |
|
That's because you already know what it's supposed to do. you have to look at this with the eyes of a prerelease player who's never seen this before.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}
|
|
|
|
asmoranomardicodais
|
 |
« Reply #22 on: May 10, 2005, 01:04:19 am » |
|
So you want me to simplify the text? I'll see what I can do.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Moderator
Basic User
    
Posts: 2297
King of the Jews!
|
 |
« Reply #23 on: May 10, 2005, 09:03:54 am » |
|
Yes, that is what I would like. Right now it's very "[card]Dead Ringers[/card]".
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF---------------------- SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar ---------------------- noitcelfeRmaeT {Team Hindsight}
|
|
|
|