TheManaDrain.com
September 22, 2025, 04:29:57 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Phyrexian Dreadnaught HARDCASTED!  (Read 1747 times)
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« on: August 01, 2005, 11:56:25 pm »

Quote
Phyrexian Dreadnought
1   
Artifact Creature   
12/12   
Trample
If Phyrexian Dreadnought would come into play, sacrifice any number of creatures with total power 12 or greater instead. If you do, put Phyrexian Dreadnought into play. If you don’t, put it into its owner’s graveyard. 

I know that this card has been errated a lot, but this is the current Oracle text.

An opponent hardcast his/her Dreadnaught, with an active Welder in play, and did Welder tricks to weld out said Dreadnaught and weld in Trinisphere.
This seems incorrect to me.

Just need confirmation: 1) Dreadnaught does not enter play at all unless the 12 toughness worth of creatures is sacrificed, right?
                                 2) The player cannot choose to sac "zero" creatures, and thus save his Welder, right?
                                     I thought the player must fullfill the requirement as much as he/she can.
                                     This is what I understood from earlier dealings with Dreadnaught, but the current wording still seems ambiguous.

In short: Hardcasting Dreadnaught=bad, right? Thanks in advance.
Logged

Komatteru
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 783

Joseiteki


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2005, 12:10:30 am »

An opponent hardcast his/her Dreadnaught, with an active Welder in play, and did Welder tricks to weld out said Dreadnaught and weld in Trinisphere.
This seems incorrect to me.

Just need confirmation: 1) Dreadnaught does not enter play at all unless the 12 toughness worth of creatures is sacrificed, right?
                                 2) The player cannot choose to sac "zero" creatures, and thus save his Welder, right?
                                     I thought the player must fullfill the requirement as much as he/she can.
                                     This is what I understood from earlier dealings with Dreadnaught, but the current wording still seems ambiguous.

In short: Hardcasting Dreadnaught=bad, right? Thanks in advance.

Yes, Dreadnaught does not come into play unless you sac the creatures.  You cannot Stifle the CIP ability with the Oracle wording.  With the original wording, you could respond to the CIP trigger, and you cannot do that anymore.

You have to sacrifice all the creatures you have until you get to 12.  If you get there, then the dreadnaught comes into play.  If you don't, all those creatures and the Dreadnaught go to the yard.  You do as much as you can, just like if you cast Intuition with 1 or 2 cards remaining in your library.  You take all you can.
Logged
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2005, 10:14:21 am »

So not only would they be unable to weld out the dreadnought, but they would in fact have to sacrifice the welder too.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
BurningIce
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 177


15212688 burningice96@hotmail.com Adzerak
View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2005, 10:37:35 am »

So by the same token, if you have a welder in play and so does your opponent, and he has a dreadnought in his graveyard, what a great way to get rid of one of his artifacts, and his welder.
Logged
Fubar
Basic User
**
Posts: 168


Sanatorium Rector


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2005, 04:14:48 pm »

Is it because the oracle wording states "would come into play" that you can't use the stifle?
Logged

The Shaming of the True
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2005, 04:31:28 pm »

Quote
Is it because the oracle wording states "would come into play" that you can't use the stifle?

Stifle counters triggered or activated abilities.

Triggered abilities always has "At, When, or Whenever" on them.
Activated abilities always have a colon in them. Cost: Effect.

"If" and "would" don't cut it.  It's the above 3 words, and the colon thing, only.
Logged

Nibble
Basic User
**
Posts: 194


HisNameIsBoopy
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2005, 05:02:37 pm »

Quote
Is it because the oracle wording states "would come into play" that you can't use the stifle?

Stifle counters triggered or activated abilities.

Triggered abilities always has "At, When, or Whenever" on them.
Activated abilities always have a colon in them. Cost: Effect.

"If" and "would" don't cut it.  It's the above 3 words, and the colon thing, only.

Exactly. Abilities worded such as Dreadnought, that being 'If x would happen, do y instead' are replacement effects.

So by the same token, if you have a welder in play and so does your opponent, and he has a dreadnought in his graveyard, what a great way to get rid of one of his artifacts, and his welder.

Yep. And unless he has 12 power on the board, the Dreadnought goes back too, so you can do it again.
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft - We don't just play type 4 all the time, we swear
spawn
Basic User
**
Posts: 13


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2005, 07:54:21 am »

Ive been told by a judge that as long as you cant sacrifice for 12, you dont sacrifice anything.

/spawn
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2005, 09:48:03 am »

Ive been told by a judge that as long as you cant sacrifice for 12, you dont sacrifice anything.

/spawn

Please stop spamming the forum with incorrect answers.  Thank you.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.046 seconds with 19 queries.