TheManaDrain.com
October 20, 2025, 02:17:40 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Cosmic Larva  (Read 940 times)
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« on: September 30, 2005, 04:33:17 am »

I have Cosmic Larva in play, some unplayable creature with the ability: "At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice Cosmic Larva unless you sacrifice two lands."

Suppose that in response to the trigger the Larva is removed from play (bounced, plowed, sacced, whatever).
When its ability resolves can I choose to sac two lands if I want to (e.g. planning on playing Balance)??
Logged
epeeguy
Basic User
**
Posts: 240



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2005, 07:54:23 am »

Suppose that in response to the trigger the Larva is removed from play (bounced, plowed, sacced, whatever).
When its ability resolves can I choose to sac two lands if I want to (e.g. planning on playing Balance)??

Yes.  The ability allows you to choose to either sacrifice two lands or not instead of sacrificing the Cosmic Larva, and it doesn't check to see if the Larva is in play or not.  If you sacrifice two lands (and you can only choose this option if you can sacrifice two lands), then you won't have to sacrifice the Larva (even if it isn't in play).  By the same token, you aren't forced to sacrifice the lands if someone removes the Larva from play; the ability will simply resolve and be unable to do anything.
Logged

Level 2 Judge

It's the wood that should fear your hand, not the other way around. No wonder you can't do it, you acquiesce to defeat before you even begin. - Pai Mei

(Retired Poster)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.025 seconds with 19 queries.