TheManaDrain.com
September 20, 2025, 07:33:02 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Ill-gotten Gains  (Read 946 times)
kl0wn
Obsolete
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 425


kl0wnz0r ahappyclown
View Profile
« on: October 03, 2005, 05:10:10 pm »


Does this card target cards in the graveyard (ie: is it hosed by Ground Seal)?

I can't seem to find the Oracle anymore and apparently Crystal Keep is dead, thusly I can't look up any relatively current wordings on it. Anybody have any recent info they can ship me?
Logged

Team kl0wn: Quitting Magic since 2005?
The Fringe: R.I.P.
Polynomial P
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 351


Your powerpill has worn off.


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2005, 05:14:26 pm »

This search based on the January 15, 2004 release of the Rulings.

Ill-Gotten Gains

      Color= Black    Type= Sorcery    Cost= 2BB    US(R)
      Text (US+errata): Remove ~this~ from the game. Each player discards his or her hand, then returns up to three cards from his or her graveyard into his or her hand. [Oracle 1999/05/01]
    * You can get fewer than 3 cards if you want. [DeLaney 1998/10/05]
    * You can pick up any of the cards you discarded since you do not choose the cards until after you discard. [WotC Rules Team 1998/10/18]

I got this off Crystal Keep. It does not appear to target the graveyard.
Logged

Team Ogre

"They can also win if you play the deck like you can't read and are partially retarded."  -BC
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2005, 05:24:29 pm »

Stop using Crystalkeep. The site is dead. Go here instead:

http://gatherer.wizards.com/

The current oracle wording on IGG is:
Quote
Ill-Gotten Gains
2BB   
Sorcery   
Remove Ill-Gotten Gains from the game.
Each player discards his or her hand, then returns up to three cards from his or her graveyard to his or her hand. 

It does not target, because if it did you would be unable to target the cards in your hand that you're going to discard but want to get back.

edit: also, all magic rules (including the complete, current, updated Oracle) can be found here: http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=magic/rules/tourneyplayer
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
kl0wn
Obsolete
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 425


kl0wnz0r ahappyclown
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2005, 01:09:47 am »


Ah, thank you. I don't feel so outdated now.
Logged

Team kl0wn: Quitting Magic since 2005?
The Fringe: R.I.P.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.044 seconds with 19 queries.