TheManaDrain.com
September 18, 2025, 02:19:18 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Storm Count and Stifle Question  (Read 2877 times)
Cavius The Great
Basic User
**
Posts: 379


I'm realer than you.

King+Cavi
View Profile
« on: December 20, 2005, 04:21:28 pm »

If my opponent plays a Stifle in response to my Tendrils of Agony, could I cast a second Tendrils and kill for lethal damage? I assume that the second one would resolve with spells on the stack or does Stifle nullify storm all together? Any help with this matter would be greatly appreciated. Smile
Logged

Creator of Nourishing Lich & Enchantress Bloom.

PM me if you're interested in serious Vintage testing on MWS.
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2005, 04:35:17 pm »

When you play any Tendrils of Agony, immediately it puts its triggered Storm ability on the stack. You and your opponent may both respond. If neither does, that triggered ability will resolve and plop a bunch of copies on the stack, above the original Tendrils. Stifle counters a single instance of an ability.

So the play is this.

Son_of_Satan: Play Tendrils of Agony. Storm triggered ability triggers and goes on the stack above the original Tendrils. Pass priority.
Matt: Play Stifle, targeting the Storm ability. Pass.
Son_of_Satan: Pass. Stifle resolves, countering Storm ability, and the active player (Son_of_Satan) gets priority back. The original Tendrils is still on the stack, so I can't play my second Tendrils because it's a sorcery, and sorceries need an empty stack. Pass priority.
Matt: Pass. Tendrils resolves, I lose 2 and you gain 2. The stack is now empty. You get priority back since you're the active player.
Son_of_Satan: Spend 2BB to play a second Tendrils. Storm triggered ability goes on the stack. Pass.
Matt: Shit. Pass.

Storm triggered ability resolves, and several copies of Tendrils are put on the stack. Start resolving each copy until I lose my last life point.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
matt_v
Not So Random Judge
Basic User
**
Posts: 99


mattvillamaino
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2005, 05:56:46 pm »

Stifle will only counter the one instance of storm. Countering one triggered ability does not mean that it can't happen if the trigger condition is met again (like playing another Tendrils).

-Matt
Logged

Judges are not native guides. We don&#039;t know where the McDonald&#039;s, the ATM, or the bathrooms are.
Cavius The Great
Basic User
**
Posts: 379


I'm realer than you.

King+Cavi
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2005, 06:13:04 pm »

Let me rephrase the question, if I have 10 spells on the stack and I cast a Tendrils and my opponent responds with a stifle, do the spells stay on the stack or are they completely nullified by the Stifle? For example, could I cast a second Tendrils for the win?
Logged

Creator of Nourishing Lich & Enchantress Bloom.

PM me if you're interested in serious Vintage testing on MWS.
Godder
Remington Steele
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3264


"Steele here"

walfootrot@hotmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2005, 06:18:18 pm »

Stifle only negates the triggered ability on the Tendrils. It doesn't do anything else to the storm count (it doesn't even counter Tendrils itself), so if/when you cast another copy of Tendrils that turn, it will get the full benefit of all the other spells that have been played that turn, including the first Tendrils and the Stifle.
Logged

Quote from: Remington Steele
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
Cavius The Great
Basic User
**
Posts: 379


I'm realer than you.

King+Cavi
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2005, 07:00:36 pm »

awesome. thanks to all you guys you've been a big help. Smile

Happy Holidays!! Very Happy
Logged

Creator of Nourishing Lich & Enchantress Bloom.

PM me if you're interested in serious Vintage testing on MWS.
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2005, 01:48:51 am »

Let me rephrase the question, if I have 10 spells on the stack and I cast a Tendrils and my opponent responds with a stifle, do the spells stay on the stack or are they completely nullified by the Stifle? For example, could I cast a second Tendrils for the win?
I don't think you understand the stack. When a spell or ability resolves, it leaves the stack and is not on the stack anymore. You can't play a sorcery like Tendrils until the entire stack is empty (unless you have Vedalken Orrery in play).

You probably mean to ask, "If I have played ten spells this turn and then I play Tendrils and the Storm ability gets Stifled, does the storm count stay the same?" And when you play the next Tendrils, it asks, "How many spells were played before this card this turn?" And the answer is ten, plus the first Tendrils, plus the Stifle, for a total of 12 Storm copies. Playing Stifle doesn't make the game "forget" about all the spells that have already been played.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Ninja_Bob
Basic User
**
Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2005, 01:59:52 am »

I found the best way to learn about the stack (and other random rules issues) is to play a little Mtg: online.  I thought I knew how it worked, but never was exactly 100% sure I was using it right.  After mtgo, all cleared up.
Logged

"He exercises his right to bear arms."
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.06 seconds with 20 queries.