TheManaDrain.com
October 11, 2025, 12:42:03 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Remand and Flashback  (Read 2702 times)
scutakicker
Snakes on the Drain!
Basic User
**
Posts: 70



View Profile
« on: June 22, 2006, 02:13:40 pm »

I play Call of the Herd and it goes to my graveyard. When I flash it back what happens if I Remand it? Does the card come back to my hand allowing me to play it again (and then flash it back again)?
Logged

--ICBM--
netherspirit
Basic User
**
Posts: 480


guitars own you!


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2006, 02:21:37 pm »

I think so, flashback would cause it to remove from the game, but remand replaces that with the return ability.
Logged

Who says you can't play Nightmares?!
bomholmm
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 449


blarknob
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2006, 03:48:04 pm »

The spell is removed from the game because flashback replaces the spell going to any zone other than the stack with removing it from the game.
Logged

Team Meandeck - the Meandeck of legacy
netherspirit
Basic User
**
Posts: 480


guitars own you!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2006, 04:20:05 pm »

Flashback says "Then remove it from the game". So surely the removal will fizzle because Remand puts it in your hand?
Logged

Who says you can't play Nightmares?!
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2006, 04:47:27 pm »

bomholmm is correct.

Same thing will happen if you give Flashback to a spell with Buyback. Flashback RFG effect is the very last thing you apply.
Logged
ashiXIII
Basic User
**
Posts: 470


ashiXIII@hotmail.com ashiXIII
View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2006, 04:53:43 pm »

Flashback has a special clause in the comprehensive rules that says. "When ~this~ leaves the stack, remove it from the game instead of putting it anywhere else it would go." I'm paraphrasing because I don't feel like looking at the comp. for the exact wording, but you guys can check it yourselves if you need to double-check me.
Logged
Nibble
Basic User
**
Posts: 194


HisNameIsBoopy
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2006, 07:07:48 pm »

Aha, here it is.

Quote from: Comp Rules
502.22a Flashback is a static ability of some instant and sorcery cards that functions while the card is in a player’s graveyard. “Flashback [cost]” means “You may play this card from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost. If you do, remove this card from the game instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack.” Playing a spell using its flashback ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 409.1b and 409.1f–h.
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft - We don't just play type 4 all the time, we swear
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.03 seconds with 19 queries.