TheManaDrain.com
December 13, 2025, 09:58:24 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question regarding interaction between Necro and Yawg Win  (Read 1057 times)
The Grim Reaper
Basic User
**
Posts: 144



View Profile
« on: December 04, 2006, 01:12:30 am »

Hi there,


Here is the scenario:

I have a Necropotence in play and have cast Yawgmoth's Will this turn.
I have 0 cards in my hand.
I have a Soul Spike in my graveyard

Soul Spike

You may remove two black cards in your hand from the game rather than pay Soul Spike's mana cost.
Soul Spike deals 4 damage to target creature or player and you gain 4 life.


I pay 7 life for Necropotence and proceed to the end step.

Can I use Yawgmoth's will to cast the Soul Spike from my graveyard, removing 2 black cards I drew from my Necropotence?
I know that I can cast a Soul Spike off Yawg's Will by removing cards in my hand, but will I be able to remove cards that I drew off Necropotence?

Thanks,

Grim.
Logged
The Atog Lord
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3451


The+Atog+Lord
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2006, 01:35:15 am »

You can.

Necropotence fills your hand on your end step, which despite the name occurs before the "until end of turn" that YawgWill looks for. There is a window to play spells after taking them with Necropotence yet before discarding; and YawgWill continues its effect until after discarding.
Logged

The Academy: If I'm not dead, I have a Dragonlord Dromoka coming in 4 turns
Dante
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1415


Netdecking better than you since newsgroup days

wdicks23
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2006, 01:14:41 pm »

You can.

Necropotence fills your hand on your end step, which despite the name occurs before the "until end of turn" that YawgWill looks for. There is a window to play spells after taking them with Necropotence yet before discarding; and YawgWill continues its effect until after discarding.

Just as a general note, once you start discarding however, unless there is a triggered ability or SBE that would go on the stack, no one gets priority.

Quote
313. End of Turn Step

313.1. As the end of turn step begins, all abilities that trigger “at end of turn” go on the stack. (See rule 410, “Handling Triggered Abilities.”) Then the active player gets priority and players may play spells and abilities.

313.2. If “at end of turn”-triggered abilities are created or if cards with “at end of turn”-triggered abilities come into play after preexisting ones have already gone on the stack at the beginning of the end of turn step, those abilities won’t go on the stack until the next turn’s end phase. In other words, the step doesn’t “back up” so new “at end of turn”-triggered abilities can go on the stack. This only applies to triggered abilities that say “at end of turn.” It doesn’t apply to continuous effects whose durations say “until end of turn” or “this turn.” (See rule 314, “Cleanup Step.”)

314. Cleanup Step

314.1. If the active player’s hand contains more cards than his or her maximum hand size (normally seven), he or she discards enough cards to reduce the hand size to that number (this game action doesn’t use the stack).

314.2 Simultaneously, all damage is removed from permanents and all “until end of turn” and “this turn” effects end (this game action doesn’t use the stack).

314.3 If the conditions for any state-based effects exist or if any triggered abilities are waiting to be put onto the stack, the active player gets priority and players may play spells and abilities. Once the stack is empty and both players pass, another cleanup step begins. Otherwise, no player receives priority and the step ends.
Logged

Team Laptop

I hate people.  Yes, that includes you.
I'm bringing sexy back
The Grim Reaper
Basic User
**
Posts: 144



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2006, 05:49:39 pm »

Thanks, this confirms what I thought.
Please lock at will.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.254 seconds with 18 queries.