TheManaDrain.com
October 31, 2025, 09:36:37 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: State-based effect timing question  (Read 1175 times)
Chiz
Basic User
**
Posts: 121



View Profile
« on: July 04, 2007, 10:24:43 am »

OK, I just got a question from the last post I found there : http://www.themanadrain.com/index.php?topic=33539.0 (I'm not able to reply there...)
Quote
Here's what happens:

When combat damage resolves, you take 1 from the unblocked Virulent Sliver.  The blocked Virulent Sliver takes at least 1 damage.  The 2 seperate "Poisonous 1" abiltiies on the unblocked sliver trigger, but they don't go on the stack yet.  Now state-based effects get checked, and the sliver with lethal damage is put in the graveyard.  Then both "Poisonous 1" triggers go on the stack, and assuming they both resolve, you get 2 poison counters.
OK, my question is technical, but isn't state-based effect checked when a player would get priority!?

From what I understand from the rule, the correct order would be this:
When combat damage resolves, you take 1 from the unblocked Virulent Sliver.  The blocked Virulent Sliver takes at least 1 damage.  The 2 seperate "Poisonous 1" abiltiies on the unblocked sliver trigger and both abitlities go on the stack.  Now state-based effects get checked, and the sliver with lethal damage is put in the graveyard.  Both "Poisonous 1" triggers are still on the stack, and assuming they both resolve, you get 2 poison counters.

Here that change nothing, but maybe in a situation I don't figure now, it could change something to inverse those.
Are the slivers abilities really trigger without going into the stack now (because the state-based effect are checked)!?
Or are those abilities put on the stack and then, state-based effect are checked?
Logged

Team Québec

Fasle Dawn: 191
parallax
Basic User
**
Posts: 318


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2007, 03:52:00 pm »

Quote
420.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 408, “Timing of Spells and Abilities”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based effects. All applicable effects resolve as a single event, then the check is repeated. Once no more state-based effects have been generated, triggered abilities go on the stack, and then the appropriate player gets priority. This check is also made during the cleanup step (see rule 314); if any of the listed conditions apply, the active player receives priority.

State-based effects are applied before triggered abilities are put on the stack.

This means that anything that leaves play due to a SBE is no no longer a legal target for triggered abilities.
Logged

How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant Wrath of Frog.
Chiz
Basic User
**
Posts: 121



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2007, 12:56:58 pm »

Quote
420.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 408, “Timing of Spells and Abilities”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based effects. All applicable effects resolve as a single event, then the check is repeated. Once no more state-based effects have been generated, triggered abilities go on the stack, and then the appropriate player gets priority. This check is also made during the cleanup step (see rule 314); if any of the listed conditions apply, the active player receives priority.

State-based effects are applied before triggered abilities are put on the stack.

This means that anything that leaves play due to a SBE is no no longer a legal target for triggered abilities.
What confused me was in factm the rule 420.3 and that rule:

Quote
404.2. Triggered abilities aren’t played. Instead, a triggered ability automatically “triggers” each time its trigger event occurs. Once an ability has triggered, it goes on the stack the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 408.1, “Timing, Priority, and the Stack,” and rule 410, “Handling Triggered Abilities.”

Anyway, I found the anwser in that rule:
Quote
408.1b Spells and activated abilities are played by players (if they choose) using a system of priority, while other types of abilities and effects are automatically generated by the game rules. Each time a player would get priority, all applicable state-based effects resolve first as a single event (see rule 420, “State-Based Effects”). Then, if any new state-based effects have been generated, they resolve as a single event. This process repeats until no more applicable state-based effects are generated. Then triggered abilities are added to the stack (see rule 410, “Handling Triggered Abilities”). These steps repeat in order until no further state-based effects or triggered abilities are generated. Then the player who would have received priority does so and may play a spell or ability, take a special action (such as playing a land), or pass, as governed by the rules for that phase or step.
Logged

Team Québec

Fasle Dawn: 191
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.063 seconds with 20 queries.