TheManaDrain.com
October 18, 2025, 08:46:02 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Minor Oracle Changes  (Read 1862 times)
TopSecret
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 864


View Profile
« on: August 30, 2007, 07:13:43 am »

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/feature/420a

There's nothing really Vintage relevant changing outside of Animate dead.
I just wanted to post this so no one tries to Animate Dead Akroma in a Tournament.

... Also, Singing Tree shall be a plant, henceforth, and it shall be good.
Well, not the card, but you get my drift.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2007, 07:22:04 am by TopSecret » Logged

Ball and Chain
Purple Hat
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1100



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2007, 09:33:10 am »

the change to animate dead and dance of the dead actually has an effect on dragon.  It now allows misdirection to change the target of animate dead or dance of the dead, which it couldn't do under the middle(?) set of wordings.
Logged

"it's brainstorm...how can you not play brainstorm?  You've cast that card right?  and it resolved?" -Pat Chapin

Just moved - Looking for players/groups in North Jersey to sling some cardboard.
Nefarias
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 932


NefariasAndy
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2007, 10:46:34 am »

It also means you can't use Akroma as an alternate reanimation target anymore, not that Dragon was really popular by the time people realized that interaction.
Logged

Team GG's

Quote from: Young Jeezy
This will be the realest shit you ever quote
vartemis
Basic User
**
Posts: 503



View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2007, 11:52:16 pm »

Not relavent? Baron Sengir can regenerate himself now! sui is on its way back.. or not.
j
Logged
Ephraim
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2938


The Casual Adept

LordZakath
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2007, 06:20:57 am »

Not relavent? Baron Sengir can regenerate himself now! sui is on its way back.. or not.
j

Not so.  Here is the relevant text from the article.  I have bolded the line that you must have missed.

Quote
Baron Sengir
It's becoming a Vampire! Finally!!! There's more information on the creature type changes below. Note that since Baron Sengir has never been able to regenerate itself, its last ability will now allow it to regenerate "another target Vampire."
Logged

Did you know that Red is the color or art and music and passion? Combine that with Green, the color of nature, spiritualism, and community and you get a hippie commune of drum circles, dreamcatchers, and recreational drug use. Let's see that win a Pro Tour.
The Atog Lord
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3451


The+Atog+Lord
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2007, 06:28:52 am »

Funny how they go back to Depletion counters for the ice age lands to restore functionality with Giant Fan, but then they make Baron Sengir's interaction with Mirror Gallery become different than how the text is printed.
Logged

The Academy: If I'm not dead, I have a Dragonlord Dromoka coming in 4 turns
Norm4eva
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1072

The87thBombfish
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2007, 10:26:28 am »

If Waylay doesn't work, then it doesn't really matter, does it?
Singing Tree.  Nice.  So what.  Where's my Knight stampede?  Grr
Logged
vartemis
Basic User
**
Posts: 503



View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2007, 11:06:36 pm »

Not relavent? Baron Sengir can regenerate himself now! sui is on its way back.. or not.
j

Not so.  Here is the relevant text from the article.  I have bolded the line that you must have missed.

Quote
Baron Sengir
It's becoming a Vampire! Finally!!! There's more information on the creature type changes below. Note that since Baron Sengir has never been able to regenerate itself, its last ability will now allow it to regenerate "another target Vampire."

Ah, my bad.  I saw that it said it is now a vampire, then clicked on the card for the oracle wording assuming it was updated and it still said "reg targ vamp". 

j
Logged
Dark4Ever
Basic User
**
Posts: 14


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2007, 10:53:58 pm »

Doesn't the new oracle wording mean that you can "attach" the animate dead to the Akroma so if you destroy the enchantment you must sacrifice the Akroma?
The new wording given here "Enchant creature card in a graveyard
When Animate Dead comes into play, if it's in play, it loses "enchant creature card in a graveyard" and gains "enchant creature put into play with Animate Dead." Return enchanted creature card to play under your control and attach Animate Dead to it. When Animate Dead leaves play, that creature's controller sacrifices it.
Enchanted creature gets -1/-0. " doesn't say target anywhere so protection from black will not stop it attaching to the Akroma.

Is this correct?

Signed Confused.
Logged
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2007, 01:08:40 am »

Quote
502.7. Protection

502.7a Protection is a static ability, written "Protection from [quality]." This quality is usually a color (as in "protection from black") but can be any characteristic value. If the quality is a type, subtype, or supertype, the protection applies to sources that are permanents with that type, subtype, or supertype and to any sources not in play that are of that type, subtype, or supertype. This is an exception to rule 200.9.

502.7b A permanent or player with protection can't be targeted by spells with the stated quality and can't be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality.

502.7c A permanent or player with protection can't be enchanted by Auras that have the stated quality. Such Auras attached to the permanent or player with protection will be put into their owners' graveyards as a state-based effect. (See rule 420, "State-Based Effects.")

502.7d A permanent with protection can't be equipped by Equipment that have the stated quality or fortified by Fortifications that have the stated quality. Such Equipment or Fortifications become unattached from that permanent, but remain in play. (See rule 420, "State-Based Effects.")

502.7e Any damage that would be dealt by sources that have the stated quality to a permanent or player that has protection is prevented.

502.7f If a creature with protection attacks, it can't be blocked by creatures that have the stated quality.

502.7g Multiple instances of protection from the same quality on the same permanent or player are redundant.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.039 seconds with 20 queries.