TheManaDrain.com
December 29, 2025, 08:30:52 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Tabernacle + Smokestack  (Read 1696 times)
eightywpm
Basic User
**
Posts: 41


35491132 evildac eightywpm
View Profile
« on: July 31, 2008, 08:00:32 pm »

I control a The Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale:
"The Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale"
Info:  Color = Land      Type = Legendary Land        Cost = None       Edition =  Legends (LG)
Errata:  All creatures have "At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice this creature unless you pay {1}." 

and a Smokestack
"Smokestack"
Info:  Color = Artifact  Type = Artifact              Cost = 4       Edition =  Urza's Saga (US)
Errata:  At the beginning of your upkeep, you may put a soot counter on Smokestack. ; At the beginning of each player's upkeep, that player sacrifices a permanent for each soot counter on Smokestack. [Oracle 1999/05/01]

with 2 soot counters on it.

Can I stack the effects so that the Tabernacle resolves before the smokestack on my opponent's upkeep?  My initial thought is no because the upkeep ability is given to their creatures (static) and triggered at beginning of upkeep (APNAP) so therefore it is my opponent's ability to stack as he sees fit, meaning my Smokestack would resolve before the Tabernacle.  Could anybody verify this for me?
Logged

The Addiction
-btJi- til i die
LordHomerCat
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1397

Lord+Homer+Cat
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2008, 08:50:00 pm »

Tabernacle gives an ability to each creature.  Smokestack creates a triggered ability of its own (2 on your turn, but thats not what we're interested in).  So, at the beginning of your opponent's upkeep, they have the smokestack trigger and a trigger from each creature waiting to go on the stack.  The whole APNAP thing means that first, they put all the triggers they control on the stack in any order (so, all their creature's new found abilities), and you place all of your abilities on the stack in the order of your choice (so, the stack sacrifice trigger).  So the stack will be:

Top of Stack
Smokestack trigger
Creature 1
Creature 2 etc.

Therefore, your smokestack trigger will resolve first.  So, in summary, you are correct that he will Sac to smokestack before paying for his dudesweats.
Logged

Team Meandeck

Team Serious

Quote from: spider
LordHomerCat is just mean, and isnt really justifying his statements very well, is he?
Mantis
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 564


Guus de Waard - Team R&D

guus_waard@hotmail.com
View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2008, 09:45:07 am »

But you can float mana anyway so what is the point really?
Logged
eightywpm
Basic User
**
Posts: 41


35491132 evildac eightywpm
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2008, 10:16:27 am »

It would force them to either sacrifice their lands or lose the creatures to the Tabernacle and then sacrifice their lands.  With the way the Tabernacle interacts with Smokestack, you can sacrifice creatures to Smokestack without paying for the Tabernacle which means your mana remains unmolested.
Logged

The Addiction
-btJi- til i die
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.05 seconds with 17 queries.