TheManaDrain.com
October 14, 2025, 11:40:53 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Commandeer and changing targets  (Read 2164 times)
Tobi
Tournament Organizers
Basic User
**
Posts: 898


Combo-Sau


View Profile
« on: March 12, 2009, 03:46:26 pm »

May I use Commandeer to gain control of my opponent's Duress and choose him as new target?

Duress says "target opponent", but as Commandeer gets me in control of Duress, I should be able to choose my opponent as target.


Additional question:
May Commandeer be used to counter a counter, just like Misdirection can be used to do that? (by misdirecting the opposing counterspell to Misdirection, which causes the counterspell to be countered on resolution since Misdirection is already gone once it comes to resolution of counterspell)
Logged

2b || !2b
Clariax
Global Moderator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 428


Clariax
View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2009, 08:17:12 pm »

May I use Commandeer to gain control of my opponent's Duress and choose him as new target?

Duress says "target opponent", but as Commandeer gets me in control of Duress, I should be able to choose my opponent as target.

Yes, as you are now the controller, your opponent is a legal target so you may change the target to him/her.  Also worth noting, the target changing is optional.  You may choose to leave the target as yourself, in which case the spell will be countered on resolution since you are not a legal target. (You're not your own opponent)

Quote
Additional question:
May Commandeer be used to counter a counter, just like Misdirection can be used to do that? (by misdirecting the opposing counterspell to Misdirection, which causes the counterspell to be countered on resolution since Misdirection is already gone once it comes to resolution of counterspell)

Yes, this works exactly the same as with misdirection.
Logged

Aaron Cutler
DCI L2
Cleveland, Ohio
maatn
Basic User
**
Posts: 56


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2009, 01:22:11 am »

apologies for possible topic-necromancy, but I do think my question belongs in this topic.

I have another Commandeer question: what happens if you Commandeer someones Buried Alive? Will it work in the desired way, i.e. I (as the Commandeer-caster) get to put creatures in my G.Y.? Or do I get the choice of which creatures (if any) will be 'buried alive' in my opponents G.Y?

I did check out the Oracle-text of both cards, but that got me more confused:

Commandeer
Color= Blue    Type= Instant    Cost= 5UU    CS(R)

Text (CS+errata): You may remove two blue cards in your hand from the game rather than pay ~this~'s mana cost. ; Gain control of target noncreature spell. You may choose new targets for it. (If that spell is an artifact, enchantment, or planeswalker, the permanent comes into play under your control.) [Oracle 2008/04/01]

  • You cannot remove this card since it is in the stack already when you are choosing cards to pay the cost. [Coldsnap FAQ 2006/06/14]
  • Even though you control the spell, it goes to its owner's graveyard. [Coldsnap FAQ 2006/06/14]
  • After you gain control of the spell, references to "you" in the card text refer to you and not the former controller. [Coldsnap FAQ 2006/06/14]
  • You do not have to change the targets, but you can. If you do change them, the new targets must be legal. If you don't change them, they can remain illegal. [Coldsnap FAQ 2006/06/14]

Buried Alive

Color= Black    Type= Sorcery    Cost= 2B    WL(U)/OD(U)

Text (OD): Search your library for up to three creature cards and put them into your graveyard. Then shuffle your library.

  • You can look in your library and then choose to find any number from zero to three creatures after you look at it. [D'Angelo 2000/12/07]
  • You do not have to find all three creature cards if you do not want to. You can choose to find zero, one, or two instead. See Rule G19.4. [D'Angelo 2001/07/14]

So, Oracle says Commandeer changes all instances of "You" in the targeted spell on the stack to "You" as the caster of Commandeer. So do you as the owner of Commandeer get to put creatures in your GY, or get to choose the creatures that will be put in to the GY of the owner of Buried Alive?
I think the latter is true, but I would like to hear what you guys have to say about it  Very Happy
Logged
A_Outcast
Basic User
**
Posts: 126


AOutcastedkid morphreader2true
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2009, 03:23:59 am »

if you commandeer buried alive you get to search your library for creatures to be put into your graveyard
Logged

maatn
Basic User
**
Posts: 56


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2009, 01:19:48 am »

Okay!That's even better. Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.075 seconds with 21 queries.