TheManaDrain.com
December 29, 2025, 08:31:38 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New Mogg Fanatic rule!? Can someone explain it to me  (Read 15068 times)
Carnac
Basic User
**
Posts: 51


View Profile
« on: November 18, 2009, 05:19:21 am »

Im sorrry to post this question again, cause someone has probably already asked it. However I cant find any threads that answer my question.

I used to play magic back in 1998 or so, where Mogg Fanatic was around. I remember that I could block a creature with Mogg Fanatic, and then sacrifice Mogg Fanatic to have it deal 1 damage.

Now, after like 8 years, where I havent been playing magic, I want to start play magic again, and a lot of new cards has come to Magic the Gathering, and also a lot of new abilities. But I am now also told, that rules has changed. I can no longer sacrifice Mogg Fanatic in response to blocking a creature with it. It does no longer go on the stack.

Now this really concerns me, cause just as I thought I had understood one of the most important rules in magic -the stack- it does no longer exist!?

Can someone explain to me, why I cannot sacrifice Mogg Fanatic in response to a block anylonger? And why I can still sacrifice my Strip Mine in response to someone destroying it with Fissure? What goes on the stack, and what does not? And does the stack not exist anymore? I am really confused about this question... If someone can explain it clearly to me, I will be thankful for that.

Cause it is really impossible to play magic without being 100% acqauinted with this rule.
Logged
Godder
Remington Steele
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 3264


"Steele here"

walfootrot@hotmail.com
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2009, 05:43:04 am »

http://www.wizards.com/magic/Magazine/Article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/feature/42a

I suggest you read the link above as it explains the main rule changes that came with Magic 2010. The one that answers your question is #5, namely that combat damage no longer uses the stack, so once it's assigned, it's dealt as well, and therefore can't be responded to, which is why Mogg Fanatic combat tricks don't work the way they used to. The stack is still there, and still an integral part of the rules, it just isn't used by combat damage any more.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2009, 05:49:27 am by Godder » Logged

Quote from: Remington Steele
That's what I like about you, Laura - you're always willing to put my neck on the line.
Carnac
Basic User
**
Posts: 51


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2009, 05:53:52 am »

This means, that when my 1/1 creature blocks my opponents 1/1 creature, they both die, and I can no longer rescue my 1/1 creature using a Giant Growth?
Logged
Clariax
Global Moderator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 428


Clariax
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2009, 06:12:50 am »

The stack still exists, you can still play spells or abilities during combat.  What was changed is that combat damage no longer uses the stack.  There is no time period between combat damage being assigned and combat damage being dealt.  You can still play spells or abilities between attackers being declared and blockers being declared, or between blockers being declared and damage being dealt.
Logged

Aaron Cutler
DCI L2
Cleveland, Ohio
CorwinB
Basic User
**
Posts: 236


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2009, 08:38:59 am »

Unless I'm mistaken, you can still declare a block with your Mogg Fanatic and then sacrifice it, the attacking creature will still be considered blocked, and won't deal combat damage to you unless it has trample. What doesn't work anymore is dealing two damage with your Fanatic, one combat damage and one through the sacrifice effect.
Logged
Wagner
Basic User
**
Posts: 820


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2009, 09:34:03 am »

Quote
Unless I'm mistaken

Please do not ever, EVER start a sentence like this in the rules forum. If you don't know for sure, please abstain from commenting.

That being said, what you said was correct.


Also for Carnac, you can still use Giant Growth to save your creature, you must simply do it BEFORE the damage are assigned.
Logged
Carnac
Basic User
**
Posts: 51


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2009, 09:21:43 am »

Ok guys -thank you very much for your answers.

Especially the link http://www.wizards.com/magic/Magazine/Article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/feature/42a
 was very helpful.

I dont like the new rules though. Makes it more confusing in my opinion. But I guess we just have to live with it...
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.038 seconds with 18 queries.