ty, someone was trying to tell me since they changed the stack and that damage didn't stack I couldn't use abilities anymore either after blockers were declared.
This is similar to the Putrid Leech pump ability in Standard.
Under the old rules, you could block a 2/2, stack the dmg, then pump. This ensured that even if they played a removal spell on your guy, the 2 dmg carried through to kill the blocked creature.
Under the current rules, you must block, then pump before damage. If they shock your guy with pump on the stack, their attacker will live.
In short, pumping becomes more risky, because a response from the opponent becomes a blowout instead of just a trade.