TheManaDrain.com
December 26, 2025, 03:54:24 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question about Legend rule and Planeswalkers  (Read 9825 times)
Carnac
Basic User
**
Posts: 51


View Profile
« on: April 09, 2010, 09:36:28 am »

Lets say my opponent has Garruk in play.

Then I play Garruk myself, to remove his Garruk.

Can I use my Garruks ability to either untap two of my lands or make a 3/3 creature before he goes to the graveyard, or do they both go to the graveyard, before I can use it?
Logged
BC
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 609



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2010, 01:16:14 pm »

After your Garruk enters the battlefield, both will die to the Legend Rule the next time either player gets priority, so you will not get an opportunity to do anything.
Logged
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1271



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2010, 01:56:33 pm »

In broaders terms, state based actions are always checked (and any consequences are applied) right before anyone would get priority. I prefer thinking in those terms because it means that lethal damage/losing the game/the Legend rule/the Planeswalker rule/etc all get covered by one blanket system. This is particularly relevant when new mechanics pop up, since I can just see the tag "this is a state based action" and understand how the timing works.

Also, a minor nitpick: Your Garruk dies to the Planeswalker Rule, not the Legend Rule. The key difference being that if you play a copy of Jace Beleren when there is a copy of Jace, The Mind Sculptor on the table, both will explode. If they were Legends instead, having different card names would mean they both live.

PLANESWALKER SUBTYPES

Each planeswalker has a subtype. For example, Garruk Wildspeaker says "Planeswalker -- Garruk" on its type line. These subtypes are also called planeswalker types. These are not creature types; they're an independent list.

* If two or more planeswalkers that share a subtype are in play, they're all put into their owners' graveyards as a state-based action.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2010, 03:13:25 pm by Clariax » Logged

I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
Cyberpunker
Basic User
**
Posts: 608


I just gotta topdeck better than you ^_^.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2010, 06:15:45 am »

Sorry to necro this thread. But I want to ask something about the Planeswalker rule.

So if I play Nico Bolas the Planeswalker, does he not die if a Nico Bolas (the creature) enters play?
Logged

evouga
Basic User
**
Posts: 537


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2010, 02:50:29 pm »

No, because the rule only applies if both cards are Planeswalkers. See 704.5j.
Logged
Clariax
Global Moderator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 428


Clariax
View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2010, 05:54:44 pm »

So if I play Nico Bolas the Planeswalker, does he not die if a Nico Bolas (the creature) enters play?

The Legend rule cares about card name.  One is named "Nicol Bolas," the other is named "Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker."  As much as we all know they're the same dragon, for the purposes of the game, the 2 have as much in common as "Forest" and "Progenitus."

The "planeswalker rule" cares about planeswalker subtypes.  "Nicol Boas, Planeswalker" has the planeswalker subtype "Bolas," and "Nicol Bolas" no planeswalker subtype at all.  Ajani Goldman and Ajani Vengeant both have the planeswalker subtype "Ajani,"so if both are on the battlefield and the same time, they both put in the graveyard.
Logged

Aaron Cutler
DCI L2
Cleveland, Ohio
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.066 seconds with 20 queries.