TheManaDrain.com
October 22, 2025, 04:54:00 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question on targeting  (Read 1147 times)
L_O_L
Basic User
**
Posts: 27



View Profile
« on: September 21, 2010, 05:32:06 pm »

When a card like Dragon Fangs comes back from the graveyard, does it actually target the creature you just played ? For example, can it be attached to a creature with protection from green in that situation ? The relevant rules text has been boldfaced.

Dragon Fangs [1G]
Enchantment - Aura
Enchant Creature.
Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 and has trample.
When a creature with converted mana cost 6 or more comes into play, you may return Dragon Fangs from your graveyard to play attached to that creature.

I ask because it doesn't specifically mention the word 'target'.

Thanks !
Logged

Team Redemption : Acta Non Verba.
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2010, 05:57:52 pm »

Auras put into play (by either this effect, or Enduring Ideal, or anything else that puts enchantments into play) have to go on something.

Since the aura isn't cast in this case, there is no target. It just goes on something.  Dragon Fangs would go on something with cmc 6 or more that just came into play, unholy strenth would go on any creature, etc.  Yes, you can even put these auras on creatures with shroud.

But protection from green specifically says any enchantments/equipments that are green die immediately.

So dragon fangs could go on Emrakul or Inkwell Leviation, but not Progenitus.
Logged

L_O_L
Basic User
**
Posts: 27



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2010, 03:59:59 am »

Thank you for clearing this up LotusHead !
Logged

Team Redemption : Acta Non Verba.
Clariax
Global Moderator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 428


Clariax
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2010, 02:06:28 pm »

But protection from green specifically says any enchantments/equipments that are green die immediately.

It doesn't die immediately, it can't go there at all.  A creature with Protection from Green cannot be enchanted by a green enchantment.  The enchantment would just stay in the graveyard, not moving at all.
Logged

Aaron Cutler
DCI L2
Cleveland, Ohio
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.029 seconds with 20 queries.