TheManaDrain.com
October 11, 2025, 08:57:09 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Necrotic ooze and phyrexian devourer  (Read 2847 times)
elmarfud
Basic User
**
Posts: 16


What? No. We can't stop here. This is bat country.


View Profile Email
« on: April 08, 2011, 08:20:45 am »

Hello everyone

It's me again with another (maybe stupid) question:

Necrotic ooze:

Creature - Ooze 4 / 3
As long as Necrotic Ooze is on the battlefield, it has all activated abilities of all creature cards in all graveyards.


Phyrexian devourer:

Artifact Creature - Construct 1 / 1
When Phyrexian Devourer's power is 7 or greater, sacrifice it.
Exile the top card of your library: Put X +1/+1 counters on Phyrexian Devourer, where X is the exiled card's converted mana cost. If Phyrexian Devourer's power is 7 or greater, sacrifice it.



My question is: can necrotic ooze die when you reveal a card with converted mana cost 7 or greater? Personally, I don't think so since that is a triggered ability and the ooze only gets the activated abilities. Is this correct?

Many thanks!

Elmar fud
Logged
AmbivalentDuck
Tournament Organizers
Basic User
**
Posts: 2807

Exile Ancestral and turn Tiago sideways.

ambivalentduck ambivalentduck ambivalentduck
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2011, 08:29:40 am »

Correct.  The triggered ability is not an activated ability and therefore will not be inherited.
Logged

A link to the GitHub project where I store all of my Cockatrice decks.
Team TMD - If you feel that team secrecy is bad for Vintage put this in your signature
Any interest in putting together/maintaining a Github Git project that hosts proven decks of all major archetypes and documents their changes over time?
3eowulf
Basic User
**
Posts: 36

3eowulf@libero.it
View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2011, 08:34:35 am »

Wrong. The Ooze wouldn't get the triggered ability, but would get all the activated ability, included the last sentence.
Quote
Exile the top card of your library: Put X +1/+1 counters on Phyrexian Devourer, where X is the exiled card's converted mana cost. If Phyrexian Devourer's power is 7 or greater, sacrifice it.


Logged

"My power is as vast as the plains, my strength is that of mountains. Each wave that crashes upon the shore thunders like blood in my veins."-Memoirs
Daenyth
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 432


shadowblack379
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2011, 08:39:16 am »

It can die, if you allow the ability to resolve. Since exiling is the cost, you see what card it was before the ability resolves and kills it. Use the ability again, and it will stay on the stack, harmless, until after you've presumably killed your opponent via Triskelion's activated ability on the Ooze.
Logged

Team #olddrafts4you -- losing games since 2004
Tempus
Basic User
**
Posts: 137



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2011, 09:06:42 am »

My question is: can necrotic ooze die when you reveal a card with converted mana cost 7 or greater? Personally, I don't think so since that is a triggered ability and the ooze only gets the activated abilities. Is this correct?

It dies, and does this if you remove a card with cmc 3 or greater, not 7...
Logged

AmbivalentDuck
Tournament Organizers
Basic User
**
Posts: 2807

Exile Ancestral and turn Tiago sideways.

ambivalentduck ambivalentduck ambivalentduck
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2011, 10:58:13 am »

Oops, didn't notice that they'd errata-ed the activated ability.
Logged

A link to the GitHub project where I store all of my Cockatrice decks.
Team TMD - If you feel that team secrecy is bad for Vintage put this in your signature
Any interest in putting together/maintaining a Github Git project that hosts proven decks of all major archetypes and documents their changes over time?
Harlequin
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1860


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2011, 10:16:47 pm »

It dies when the ability resolves, not when you "reveal the card".  The cost is "Exile the Top card of your library:" and the game allows you to look at the card you used to pay the cost before deciding if you want to pass priority, or if you want to hold onto priory and continue stacking effects. 

The typical ooze combo is Triskellion + Devourer which does work, if you understand the relationship between costs and effects.  You exile 1 card, look at it and say it has CMC = 5.  From there you just stack that effect and reveal another card in response to the "Put 5 +1/+1's on him, then sac him".  This time lets say lets say its CMC=2.  This ability we'll let resolve, so we pass priority and resolve the "put 2 +1/+1's on him, and he survives" now our first  "Put 5 +1/+1's on him, then sac him" activation is the only thing left in the stack.  But we get priority again, so we fire off 2 trike shots.  After the damage resolves, but before that 5-cmc activation does we have priority so we can respond to the 5-cmc activation by exiling a 3rd card.... and so on.  So we can keep hunting for cards with CMC 2 or less and just stack up a bunch of "add X and sac ooze" activations to the stack.
Logged

Member of Team ~ R&D ~
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.039 seconds with 19 queries.