TheManaDrain.com
September 10, 2025, 03:47:22 pm
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
News
:
Home
Help
Search
Calendar
Login
Register
TheManaDrain.com
>
Vintage Community Discussion
>
Rules Q&A
(Moderators:
The Atog Lord
,
Godder
,
Demonic Attorney
,
Clariax
) >
Reparations and redirection spells
Pages: [
1
]
Print
Author
Topic: Reparations and redirection spells (Read 1360 times)
waffles
Basic User
Posts: 240
Reparations and redirection spells
«
on:
October 02, 2012, 05:42:27 pm »
Card Name: Reparations
Mana Cost:
Converted Mana Cost: 3
Types: Enchantment
Card Text: Whenever an opponent casts a spell that targets you or a creature you control, you may draw a card.
Flavor Text: "Sorry I burned down your village. Here's some gold."
With this current wording i can redirect the spell somewhere else and still draw a card or does the spell have to resolve in order to draw the card? Additionally, if i were to change the target from myself to a creature i control would i draw one or two cards?
«
Last Edit: October 02, 2012, 05:46:15 pm by waffles
»
Logged
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
Posts: 1271
Re: Reparations and redirection spells
«
Reply #1 on:
October 02, 2012, 06:56:39 pm »
You get 1 card, period.
Reparations triggers upon cast. So they will cast the spell, the draw trigger will go on the stack, then players receive priority as normal. Assuming nobody responds to the trigger, you will draw a card. Even if you now chose to counter or change the target of the spell that triggered Reparations, the draw is already on the stack and will resolve unless specifically prevented somehow.
Note that since the triggers is above the spell itself on the stack, it's possible for them to cast Lighting Bolt at your dome, you draw a counter off Reparations, then counter the Bolt.
Logged
Quote from: Diakonov on September 15, 2011, 03:30:01 pm
Quote from: MaximumCDawg on September 15, 2011, 02:52:29 pm
I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
Clariax
Global Moderator
Basic User
Posts: 428
Re: Reparations and redirection spells
«
Reply #2 on:
October 02, 2012, 10:03:00 pm »
Also, if the spell is cast targeting something other than you or a creature you control, redirecting it later will not cause reparations to trigger. It will only trigger on the initial target.
Logged
Aaron Cutler
DCI L2
Cleveland, Ohio
Pages: [
1
]
Print
Jump to:
Please select a destination:
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Vintage Tournament Forum
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Casual Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Creative
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Rules Q&A
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Miscellaneous
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Card Creation Forum
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Vintage, Type-1 Forum
===> Archived Extreme Vintage Forum
===> Archived Tournament Results Forum
===> Archived Basic User/Newbie Forum
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Rules and Regulations
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> General Community Discussion
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Articles and Primers
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=====> Master List
=====> Set In Progress
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Global Vintage Tournament Reports and Results
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Tournament Announcement Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Vintage Tournament Announcements
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Other Formats
===> Non-Vintage
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Articles
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Vintage Deck Discussion
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Archives
=> Adept Chronicles
===> Classic MTGO Forum
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Elder Dragon Highlander Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Northeast U.S.
===> Midwest U.S.
===> Western/Pacific U.S.
===> Southern U.S.
===> Canada
===> Europe
===> Other
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Community Introductions
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Introduction to TMD
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Type 4
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Blue-Based Control
===> Workshop-Based Prison
===> Ritual-Based Combo
===> Null Rod Based Aggro
===> Bazaar-Based Decks
=> General Strategy Discussion
===> Vintage Adept Q&A
===> General Strategy Discussion
=> Eternal Article Discussion
===> Online Tournaments
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Registration for TMD
-----------------------------
Lounges
-----------------------------
===> General Yankee Discussion
Loading...