TheManaDrain.com
September 17, 2025, 02:54:42 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hi everybody.  Since TMD Users can't post in the...  (Read 3128 times)
Lockdown
Guest
« on: August 04, 2003, 08:54:17 am »

Hi everybody.  Since TMD Users can't post in the Rules Mill so I created this thread for TMD Users to ask questions and receive answers here.  This still doesn't stop you from using the search function and looking for previous posts that might answer your question.

Rules for Posting:[/u] (In no particular order)
* Before asking questions, use the "search"-button and look at the post after this one to determine if your question has already been asked.

* Generally, the more info you give about your current situation, the better the replies.

* Obey all basic rules of civility. No flaming, trolling, or otherwise picking fights.

* At times, there may be multiple questions running at the same time, so if you choose to reply to somebody's post, please quote the question you are trying to answer.

* Please use full card names.

* Please use capitalization and punctuation when appropriate.

* Please type in a readable font.

* When posting about card interactions/rulings, post exact oracle text please.

* Please delete your post after it has been answered, if possible or it will be deleted for you (after a certain amount of time).


Helpful rules links:[/u]
Crystal Keep
Comprehensive Rules (Text-based)\n\n

Logged
Lockdown
Guest
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2003, 11:07:31 am »

List of already asked questions and answers

Individual Card Interactions:
Q: If there is an Engineered Plague in play naming Slivers, and then a player plays a Plated Sliver, will it die before its own +0/+1 ability comes into effect?
A: No.  State-based effects are checked after all continuous effects are applied, not between the application of each.

Q: Can Stifle stop a Dreadnought, played by an Illusionary Mask, from being turned face up?
A: No, Stifle cannot stop creatures being turned face up.

Q: Is it possible to create an infinite loop with Oath of Druids and Gaea's Blessing in a creatureless deck?
A: No, Gaea's Blessing's effect only resolves after the Oath finishes (when there are no cards left in your library).

Q: Can you Stifle a Black Lotus?
A: No, Black Lotus's ability counts as a mana ability.

Q: Will "When ~this~ is turned face up" abilities be triggered if you turn them face up with Illusionary Mask?
A: Yes.

Q: How does the Shapeshifter/Dreadnought/Hellion combo work?
A: First, the Shapeshifter is in play as a Flowstone Hellion.  You activate its ability 8-11 times and when that's on the stack, you discard Phyrexian Dreadnought so that when everything resolves, your shapeshifter is a 20/4 Trampling Phyrexian Dreadnought.

Q: How much mana do I get from mana echoes when I play Firecat Blitz?
A: You get mana equal to the number of tokens you put into play squared (so if you put 5 tokens into play, you get 25 mana).  Mana Echoes is triggered when the tokens come into play, but all 5 tokens will be in play when Mana Echoes effect resolves so each token will generate 5 mana.

Q: If I duress someone while Chains of Mephistopheles is out, does he get to draw a card?
A: No, the "If the player discards a card, he or she draws a card" effect only applies if he or she discards due to the Chains.

Q: If I have both Future Sight and Oath of Druids, can I play cards with Future Sight as Oath resolves?
A: No, as the Oath's ability resolves, nobody has priority to play spells.

Q: Do you get the "imprint" when you use Copy Artifact copying an artifact with something imprinted on it?
A: No, Copy Artifact comes into play as an artifact so its own imprint ability will trigger and you have the option of imprinting something else, but you don't get the original artifact's imprint.

Q: Do animated lands trigger Fecundity?
A: Yes.  They go into graveyards as creatures.

Q: Are additional costs free when you play a copy of the imprinted card on Isochron Scepter?
A: You must pay any additional costs (like sacrifices) when you play the card. You can pay for kicker/entwine/etc. too, but it's not free.

Q: Can you misdirect cards that have the potential to target multiple things (i.e. Krosan Reclamation, Violent Eruption, Contagion, etc.)?
A: Only if they choose 1 target total.

Q: Do multiple Seedborn Muses net you anything?
A: No... you may get to untap multiple times but you don't get anything out of it because you can't tap permanents when you don't have priority.

Q: Are you decked if you use Proteus Staff on a manland and reveal no creatures?
A: No.  It stops once it gets to the bottom and then you get to reorganize your deck the way you wish.

Q: Can artifact lands be welded under Blood Moon?
A: Yes.  Blood Moon takes away all of each nonbasic land's subtypes, and replaces them with "mountain". It doesn't take away supertypes like "basic" or "legendary", nor does it add such supertypes.

Q: Does Chalice of the Void set at 0 stop alternate casting cost spells?
A: No.  The converted mana cost is always what is printed at the top right corner.  Even if played "free", the converted mana cost on Force of Will, for example, remains at 5.

Q: If my opponent has Rule of Law in play, and I play a spell, and my opponent counters it, did the first spell get played?
A: If you put a spell on the stack, then it is "played", even if it gets countered

Q: Are the Lair lands (for example, Crosis's Catacombs) ability a triggered ability (when it comes into play) or a replacement effect (if it would come into play)?
A: The Lair lands all have triggered abilities.

Q: Can Stifle stop the "sac 12" clause on Phyrexian Dreadnought?
A: No.  It is a replacement effect and acts as an additional cost and cannot be stifled.

Q: What happens if you use Scroll Rack for more cards than are in your library?
A: You do not lose because Scroll Rack is not a draw effect.  You get as many cards are left in your library.

Q: Can you sac Academy Rector to Cabal Therapy in response to a Swords to Plowshares?
A: Play Academy Rector. When it resolves, it comes into play, the stack is empty and you have priority. Your opponent cannot StP it before you pass priority. So, you flashback Cabal Therapy. Because the sacrifice is a cost, the rector goes to the graveyard before you pass priority, and they never get a chance to StP it.

Q: Once Hidden Herd is activated, is it an enchantment or creature?
A: It is both, and hence, any effect that could legally target an enchantment or a creature can target an activated Hidden Herd.

Q: Can a Mishra's Factory attack or pump another Factory the turn it comes into play?
A: It effectively has summoning sickness but it doesn't matter unless the Factory becomes animated.  Once it's animated, it acts as if it was a creature that had just come into play.  Otherwise, it can still use its ability to pump another Factory.  Note that this does not mean that it has summoning sickness everytime it's animated, only the turn the land first came into play.

Q: Can you Stifle madness or flashback?
A: You can stifle the Triggered part of Madness that allows them to play the card from the removed from game zone until they next pass priority.  If you do, the card stays removed from the game and cannot be played.  Flashback is not an activated or triggered ability so Stifle has no interaction with it.

Q: Can you Stifle the upkeep cost to Solitary Confinement?
A: Yes, it is a triggered ability.

Q: If I have both Familiar Ground and Goblin War Drums in play are my creatures unblockable?
A: Yes.

Q: Am I forced to use Uktabi Orangutan's ability if there is an artifact in play?
A: Yes.

Q:If my opponent activates his Nevynrhal's Disk and I have Karmic Justice in play, how many permanents do I get to destroy?  Does the Justice trigger for each non-creature permanent destroyed by Disk or does the ability just trigger once?
A:  Karmic Justice will trigger for each permanent destroyed.

General Rules Questions (Mechanics, Play order, etc.):
Q: If I have to discard multiple cards, how is the order that they go into the graveyard determined?
A: You get to choose the order they enter the graveyard.

Q: Does change of permanent type (a.k.a. from elemental to artifact creature) change the color?
A: No.  Change of type doesn't affect the color.

Q: Do playing cards out of the graveyard count towards storm?
A: Yes. Flashback is just a different way of playing the spell. It still counts for storm, as does anything cast out of the graveyard via Yawgmoth's Will.

Q: When is the first time players have priority?
A: In the upkeep step, upkeep-triggered effects go on the stack (in APNAP order), then the active player gets priority. As soon as they pass priority, you get it.

Q: If I imprint an opponent's card (e.g. through Duplicant), can they wish for it back, making my card lose the imprint?
A: Yes.  It is a card they own and it is in the removed from game zone.  They can wish for it back and it will no longer be imprinted on the permanent

Q: Is there any rule in magic which prevents someone from using a 2 headed or tailed coin? Because it would be quite bad winning from mana clashing turn 1 with a 2-tailed coin.
A: To flip a coin, one player flips the coin, and the other player calls “heads” or “tails” in the air. If the coin you’re using doesn’t have an obvious “heads” or “tails,” designate one side to be “heads,” and the other side to be “tails.” Rolling a die is an acceptable alternative if no coin is available.

Q: What is the converted mana cost of a card?
A: The converted mana cost is always the amount in the top right corner, regardless of how the card was played (alternate casting cost, madness, etc.).

Q: Can you choose to "untap" permanents that are already untapped?
A: Yes, unless it states otherwise on the card.

Q: I play a spell with an X in it.  What is its converted mana cost?
A: On the stack, it's whatever you payed. In play, X is ALWAYS 0.\n\n

Logged
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2003, 06:58:18 pm »

Quote
Quote 302. Untap Step

302.1 First, all permanents with phasing that the active player controls phase out, and all phased-out objects that the active player controlled when they phased out simultaneously phase in (this game action doesn’t use the stack). See rule 217.8, “Phased-Out,” and rule 502.15, “Phasing.”

302.2. Then, the active player determines which permanents he or she controls will untap. Then he or she untaps them all simultaneously (this game action doesn’t use the stack). Normally, all of a player’s permanents untap, but effects can keep one or more of a player’s permanents from untapping.

302.3. No player receives priority during the untap step, so no spells or abilities can be played or resolved. Any ability that triggers during this step will be held until a player would receive priority during the upkeep step. (See rule 303, “Upkeep Step.”)

303. Upkeep Step

303.1. As the upkeep step begins, any abilities that trigger at the beginning of that upkeep step or that triggered during that turn’s untap step go on the stack. (See rule 410, “Handling Triggered Abilities.”) Then the active player gets priority and players may play spells and abilities.
\n\n

Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Lockdown
Guest
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2003, 03:21:22 pm »

Ah... finally got around to updating the list.  If its not too much trouble, could one of the mods please remove all the posts now?  Thanks to everybody for their cooperation.

-Lockdown

Thread cleaned.
-Matt
\n\n

Logged
kakeboy07
Guest
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2003, 03:21:08 pm »

Hey there,

I have been playtesting against dragon, and am wondering what it is specifically that i can stifle to put them in the worst position possible. Do i stifle the when this leaves play: return all your removed cards into play.

So that the dragon is in the yard, and then all that players cards are left in the RFG area?

please lmk ive been dying to understand this one.
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2003, 05:52:08 pm »

Quote from: kakeboy07+Dec. 13 2003,15:21
Quote (kakeboy07 @ Dec. 13 2003,15:21)Hey there,

I have been playtesting against dragon, and am wondering what it is specifically that i can stifle to put them in the worst position possible. Do i stifle the when this leaves play: return all your removed cards into play.

So that the dragon is in the yard, and then all that players cards are left in the RFG area?

please lmk ive been dying to understand this one.
I suppose this is sort of rules related...

Stifle the Dragon's leaves play ability.  They will be left with nothing in play.
Logged
jawman16
Guest
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2003, 02:44:19 pm »

I am asking this question for my brother since he does not have a SN here.

He controls a Manta Rider and the opponent controls a Nantuko Shade.  My brother attacks with the rider without giving it flying.  The opponent says he is going to block with the shade.  In response the rider is given flying.  The opponent argued that the creature is still blocked.  I argue on my bro's behalf that he never gave my brother a chance to play instant effects in response to him even declaring blockers; he just jumped to individual blocking assignments without giving the opponent a chance to respond to blockers being declared.  Who is right??

Also lets say I have a Ravenous Baloth in play and my opponent controls 2 White Knights.  He can double block the beast with both knights killing it before the Baloth does ne damage correct??  Thanx
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2003, 02:50:59 pm »

Quote
Quote He controls a Manta Rider and the opponent controls a Nantuko Shade.  My brother attacks with the rider without giving it flying.  The opponent says he is going to block with the shade.  In response the rider is given flying.  The opponent argued that the creature is still blocked.  I argue on my bro's behalf that he never gave my brother a chance to play instant effects in response to him even declaring blockers; he just jumped to individual blocking assignments without giving the opponent a chance to respond to blockers being declared.  Who is right??

Sounds like a classic case of playing with too many shortcuts.

The last chance you get to play abilities before blockers are declared is right after declaring your attackers.  If you do nothing here, they can declare their blockers.

You cannot respond to them blocking your creature.  You only get a chance to play anything after blockers are declared.  Once blocked, giving the Riders flying does not make the block illegal.

If you want to give the Riders flying, you need to do so before blockers are declared.  If he jumped ahead, you have to back up.  However, it is really unclear to me what exactly happend in your situation.


Quote
Quote Also lets say I have a Ravenous Baloth in play and my opponent controls 2 White Knights.  He can double block the beast with both knights killing it before the Baloth does ne damage correct??

The Knights have First Strike.  They will each deal 2 damage to the Baloth in the First Strike combat damage step, destroying it.  The Baloth will never get a chance to deal damage to the Knights.
Logged
jawman16
Guest
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2003, 04:51:38 pm »

Ok let me try to clear up this mess about the Manta Rider.  Before you actually assign which creature is blocking a specific creature you have to declare that you are going to make blocks, corrrect???  Yes, no??  Therefore the attacking player has the ability to respond to the opponent declaring that he will be making blocks.  If the defending player does not declare this step and just jumps to specific blocking assignments then he has messed up and you still have the option to respond to him declaring that he will be making blocks correct??  Therefore I argued that my brother has priority to give his Rider flying in response to the opponent declaring that he will be making blocks.  I hope that is easier to understand then it was before.  Thanx again.
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2003, 07:37:25 pm »

Quote from: jawman16+Dec. 14 2003,16:51
Quote (jawman16 @ Dec. 14 2003,16:51)Ok let me try to clear up this mess about the Manta Rider.  Before you actually assign which creature is blocking a specific creature you have to declare that you are going to make blocks, corrrect???  Yes, no??  Therefore the attacking player has the ability to respond to the opponent declaring that he will be making blocks.  If the defending player does not declare this step and just jumps to specific blocking assignments then he has messed up and you still have the option to respond to him declaring that he will be making blocks correct??  Therefore I argued that my brother has priority to give his Rider flying in response to the opponent declaring that he will be making blocks.  I hope that is easier to understand then it was before.  Thanx again.
Ok, here is what the Combat Phase looks like.

Beginning of Combat Step
Declare Attackers Step
Declare Blockers Step
Combat Damage Step
End of Combat Step

Now, if you Pass Priority after Declaring Attackers in the Declare Attackers step and they also pass, you go right to the Declare Blockers step.

Once in the Declare Blockers step, you have to wait until Blockers are declared before you get Priority again.

You have to activate the Manta Rider's ability before the Declare Blockers step before it can be effective and you must do so before you know if they will chose to block it or not.
Logged
jawman16
Guest
« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2003, 10:53:02 pm »

Ok thanks that clears that mess up.   I have two more though.

1.) Can The Abyss kill a White Knight or any other pro-black creature for that matter??

2.) Does Karmic Justice trigger off Smokestack or Braids, Cabal Minion??
Logged
frimble
Guest
« Reply #11 on: December 14, 2003, 11:05:24 pm »

1.) No. The Abyss cannot target Pro-black creatures.  If you have another creature in play with out Protection that can be the target of The Abyss's ability, then you would have to sacrifice that one.

2.) Yes. Karmic Justice could trigger off an opponent's Smokestack forcing you to sacrifice your permanents.
Logged
Mage of Dreams
Guest
« Reply #12 on: December 14, 2003, 11:19:54 pm »

Karmic Justice does not trigger off Smokestack or Braids, your perms. are being sacrificed not destroyed.

Karmic Justice

Text (OD): Whenever a spell or ability an opponent controls destroys a noncreature permanent you control, you may destroy target permanent that opponent controls.

Karmic Justice will not trigger off its ability destroying a permanent since you destroy the permanent and you are not one of your opponents. [D'Angelo 2001/10/18]

If an opponent destroys Karmic Justice, it will trigger on its own destruction. [Jordan 2001/10/14]

A spell or ability that asks for a sacrifice will not trigger this card. [Odyssey FAQ 2001/10/04]

Karmic Justice will not trigger if an opponent's spell or ability causes your permanent to be destroyed indirectly. For example, if the spell caused an ability you control to trigger, and thereby destroy your permanent. [D'Angelo 2002/04/20]
Logged
frimble
Guest
« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2003, 08:41:04 am »

Mage: Is the key word difference "you must sacrifice" verses "smokestack destroys"?
Logged
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2003, 09:57:59 am »

Quote from: frimble+Dec. 15 2003,08:41
Quote (frimble @ Dec. 15 2003,08:41)Mage: Is the key word difference "you must sacrifice" verses "smokestack destroys"?
There is a difference between Destruction and a Sacrifice.  Smokestack causes a sacrifice.  This does not trigger Karmic Justice.

If Smokestack destroyed permanents, then Justice would trigger.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.296 seconds with 21 queries.