TheManaDrain.com
December 30, 2025, 08:17:06 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: waylay tokens and stifle  (Read 12568 times)
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« on: February 02, 2004, 02:23:17 am »

Waylay
Color= White  Type= Instant  Cost= 2W US(U)  
Text (US+errata): Play ~this~ only during combat. ; Put three 2/2 white Knight creature tokens into play. Remove them from the game at end of turn. [Oracle 2000/10/24]

The three tokens do have summoning sickness. This means they cannot attack unless you have an effect that allows them to ignore summoning sickness. [D'Angelo 1998/11/20]
Before the errata, you could play this card during a player's End of Turn step and let the tokens live through the following turn. It can now only be played during combat. [D'Angelo 1999/07/29]

the last part of waylay's text says to remove the tokens at end of turn
strictly speaking, it's not formatted in a way that's intuitively counterable with stifle
would like to check if it indeed is a triggered effect and not some obscure game mechanic that removes the tokens Smile
Logged

i need red mana
Dr. Sylvan
TMD Oracle and Uber-Melvin
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1973



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2004, 02:37:29 am »

Quote
404.1. A triggered ability begins with the word "when," "whenever," or "at." The phrase containing one of these words is the trigger condition, which defines the trigger event.

"at end of turn" fits the description of the triggered ability, and therefore can be Stifled.
Logged

Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2004, 03:20:21 am »

To be more specific, Waylay sets up a Delayed Triggered ability that will make you sacrifice the tokens at end of turn.

This delayed trigger, like any other trigger, can be Stifled.
Logged
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2004, 08:05:32 am »

i ask because the phrase doesn't start with at
thanks for the clarification :lol:
white lightning lives!
Logged

i need red mana
mouth
Basic User
**
Posts: 101

10497100
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2004, 06:33:52 pm »

Actually, I've noticed that on several other cards too. Is there a functional reason to word a sentence irregularly? Is it to avoid improper grammar, possible misinterpretations, or does it have a bearing on the rules?

Just as an example, Waylay's errata reads: "Remove them from the game at end of turn", but couldn't it just as easily read "At the end of any turn, remove them/the tokens from the game." Hmm, that does sound odd.
Logged
Dr. Sylvan
TMD Oracle and Uber-Melvin
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1973



View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2004, 07:46:14 pm »

In this case it's so that they don't actually change the wording on the original card, they only add the stipulation "Play only during combat." to it.
Logged

Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2004, 09:24:02 am »

Quote from: mouth
Actually, I've noticed that on several other cards too. Is there a functional reason to word a sentence irregularly? Is it to avoid improper grammar, possible misinterpretations, or does it have a bearing on the rules?

Just as an example, Waylay's errata reads: "Remove them from the game at end of turn", but couldn't it just as easily read "At the end of any turn, remove them/the tokens from the game." Hmm, that does sound odd.


It's a fairly standard template for delayed triggered abilities.  You'll see that many effects that set up a delayed triggers are worded this way, such as [card]Astral Slide[/card] or [card]Anurid Brushhopper[/card].  I suppose they do that because it reads better.  Once you know what to look for, it is fairly easy to pick out delayed triggers.
Logged
Grand Inquisitor
Always the play, never the thing
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1476


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2004, 01:16:45 pm »

Since this is also a stifle question, I just added it here:

Can you stifle the fading counters on a tangle wire as it comes into play?  Also, can you stifle the removing of a fade counter after its in play?

For the record, I'm aware that you can stifle the tapping effect produced by the tangle wire during upkeep.
Logged

There is not a single argument in your post. Just statements that have no meaning. - Guli

It's pretty awesome that I did that - Smmenen
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2004, 01:19:23 pm »

You can stifle the removal of a counter, but not the counters themselves.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2004, 02:24:32 pm »

Quote from: Grand Inquisitor
Can you stifle the fading counters on a tangle wire as it comes into play?.


notice the same wording is used on phyrexian dreadnought Smile
Logged

i need red mana
TimeBeing
Basic User
**
Posts: 61

lawaterh20
View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2004, 11:16:51 pm »

Quote
notice the same wording is used on phyrexian dreadnougt


I hope your not saying that you can stifle a Dreadnought? Which you can't.


Phyrexian Dreadnought
Text (MI+errata): 12/12, Trample. ; If ~this~ would come into play, sacrifice any number of creatures with total power 12 or greater instead.  If you do, put ~this~ into play.  If you don't, put it into its owner's graveyard.  [Oracle 2000/02/01]

which is now a cost not a triggered effect.
Logged
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2004, 11:59:26 pm »

It's not a cost, it's a replacement ability. If it were a cost it could be circumvented by Animate Dead or some such.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2004, 11:12:58 pm »

like matt sais, "as in comes into play" is a replacement ability, and cannot be stifled
same thing goes cards that say "this comes into play with x counters"
(not replacement abilities, i forget what they're called, but they can't be stifled)
Logged

i need red mana
TimeBeing
Basic User
**
Posts: 61

lawaterh20
View Profile
« Reply #13 on: February 10, 2004, 03:54:22 am »

yeah its a replacement effect. I typed cost, not think. trying to just say it wasn't a triggered effect.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.072 seconds with 19 queries.