TheManaDrain.com
September 26, 2025, 06:56:32 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Meddling Mage and Stifle  (Read 2773 times)
boasnapes
Basic User
**
Posts: 36



View Profile
« on: April 10, 2004, 02:09:28 pm »

For reference:

Meddling Mage

Color= Multi  Type= Creature - Wizard  Cost= WU PS(R)  
Text (PS): 2/2. ; As ~this~ comes into play, name a nonland card. ; The named card can't be played.

My question is, can you stifle the naming of a card? I was asked to judge on this last night, and I said yes, because coming into play is the trigger. But the more I think about it, I am not so sure I was correct. The wording is weird, "AS this comes into play" instead of the usual "WHEN this comes into play".

So was I right to say you can stifle the naming of a card, or not? Thanks a lot guys.

boasnapes
Logged

Team Blood Moon. I am a cowboy.
Dr. Sylvan
TMD Oracle and Uber-Melvin
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1973



View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2004, 03:43:07 pm »

No, you cannot Stifle it. It's not a triggered ability; you choose before it even enters play.
Logged

rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2004, 05:15:25 pm »

Quote from: Dr. Sylvan
No, you cannot Stifle it. It's not a triggered ability; you choose before it even enters play.


Actually, that's not true. You choose upon resolution.
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
PandaPokemon
Basic User
**
Posts: 41


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2004, 05:28:25 pm »

Quote
You name a card during the resolution of this spell, at the same time it is being put into play. Once you name the card, there is no chance for any player to respond to this choice before the "can't be played" effect takes hold.


The naming of the card is upon resolution, whether you name it before you put it on the table or after you put it on the table is up to you I guess though the theoretical best would to be to name the card while slamming your mage on the table. =P

Anyway from StarCityGames Virtual Judge
Quote

Q: Can Stifle counter Meddling Mage's ability? If yes, can I first know which card he wants to prevent from being played, then Stifle the ability? If not, what kind of ability is this? A static ability?


Can the same be done to Flametongue Kavu, waiting for a target and then Stifling it?


A: Stifle cannot affect Meddling Mage's ability, but it can counter Flametongue Kavu's. The difference is that the Mage's ability is worded "as ~this~ comes into play..." as opposed to "when ~this~ comes into play." The former is part of the resolution of the spell or ability that puts it into play; the latter is a triggered ability.


I would agree and say it isn't a triggered ability as well.
Logged
Dr. Sylvan
TMD Oracle and Uber-Melvin
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1973



View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2004, 06:11:36 pm »

Quote from: MoreFling
Quote from: Dr. Sylvan
No, you cannot Stifle it. It's not a triggered ability; you choose before it even enters play.

Actually, that's not true. You choose upon resolution.

Isn't there a window between resolution and it coming into play? Hence the wording "As ~this~ comes into play".
Logged

Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2004, 07:13:38 pm »

It isn't really a "window" so to speak, although some people think of it that way.

The choice is made as part of its resolution or as part of the resolution of what is putting it into play.  It isn't in play at this point, but it will be shortly.

It really comes down to semantics after that.
Logged
boasnapes
Basic User
**
Posts: 36



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2004, 01:47:29 am »

Thanks guys. Its confusing but I get it. At least I was right that I was wrong.  Confused

boasnapes
Logged

Team Blood Moon. I am a cowboy.
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2004, 11:52:55 am »

It may help to imagine instants and sorceries having the text "As this spell resolves, put it in its owner's graveyard" and creatures to have similar 'hidden' text directing you to put it into play. That's what Sheldon is referring to when he says "part of the resolution of the spell or ability that puts it into play".
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
dmessiah
Basic User
**
Posts: 20



View Profile Email
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2004, 01:36:40 pm »

Quote from: Dr. Sylvan
Quote from: MoreFling
Quote from: Dr. Sylvan
No, you cannot Stifle it. It's not a triggered ability; you choose before it even enters play.

Actually, that's not true. You choose upon resolution.

Isn't there a window between resolution and it coming into play? Hence the wording "As ~this~ comes into play".


     There's not a window there, really - it is jsut that some choices get made upon the sucessful resolution of the spell.  Like Misdirect.  When you play that, for example, you have to choose the spell that you would like to misdirect upon declaration; however, you don't have to choose the new target until the MisD has sucessfully resolved.  "As ~this~ comes into play" is something associated with the SPELL, not the perm once it has come into play, so it's taken care of during the resolution.
Logged

We, who do not deny the animal of our nature
We, who yearn to preserve our liberation
We, who face darkness in our hearts with a solemn fire
We, who aspire to truth and pursue its strength

-- Dimmu Borgir
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.033 seconds with 19 queries.