TheManaDrain.com
September 26, 2025, 12:06:59 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: workshop and daze question?  (Read 2295 times)
slighguy
Basic User
**
Posts: 71


maskedninja04
View Profile
« on: May 11, 2004, 06:24:53 pm »

Ok this came up at a tourny the other day when I was playing landstill against a workshop deck(slaver i think..).Well he tapped 2 workshops to play memory jar and i countered with a daze and said that he can use the 1 extra workshop mana to counter the daze effect since daze says pay an extra {1} which the judge ruled that this works cause the card says pay {1} which he said was an extra {1} to the casting cost and in my opinion that judge was wrond but i just wanted to know cause thats what is was ruled.
                             thanks
                                   slighguy.

ps. I know it doesnt work but i just wanted to know your answers.
Logged

Quote:
Ray: Canada has 8 hours per day without gravity
 Not true its only 7 hours and 47 minutes
ProZachar
Basic User
**
Posts: 73


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2004, 06:35:07 pm »

You can't use the Workshop mana to satisfy the Daze.  Daze asks for a mana payment during its resolution, at which point the play cost of the Jar has long since been decided on and paid.

You can, however, use Workshop mana to pay for additional costs.  So, if he controls a Sphere of Resistance and plays Jar, the mana from 2 Workshops will pay for it exactly.
Logged
Dante
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1415


Netdecking better than you since newsgroup days

wdicks23
View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2004, 07:26:09 pm »

Just to clarify, it's not that the Jar has been paid for already, since he still has 1 mana floating from tapping both Workshops, it's that Daze requires you to pay 1, but the 1 from the Workshop can only be used to pay for artifacts (not the Daze).

Contrast this to Sphere of Resistance, whose Oracle text is "Spells cost {1} more to play".  Because this affects the casting cost of a spell (not just "Pay 1 or counter this spell"), the artifacts actually cost 1 more and workshop mana can be used.

Bill
Logged

Team Laptop

I hate people.  Yes, that includes you.
I'm bringing sexy back
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2004, 12:42:17 am »

the oracle text for mw states it very clearly
it uses the example of nether void and powersink
no can do
Logged

i need red mana
Dante
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1415


Netdecking better than you since newsgroup days

wdicks23
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2004, 12:12:16 pm »

Quote from: DEA
the oracle text for mw states it very clearly
it uses the example of nether void and powersink
no can do


Yes and Daze falls in this category too.  These are all "pay X or it gets countered" - but that's not part of the cost of playing the spell (which is what sphere of resistance affects).

However if you are trying to say that you cannot pay the extra 1 for Sphere of Resistance with MW mana, you're incorrect.  You CAN pay for sphere of resistance costs using Mishra's Workshop - it just adds 1 to the CC of the artifact, not impose a separate "pay X or counter spell" cost.  

so to clarify, with a Sphere of Resistance in play, you can tap 2 Mishra's Workshops for 6 mana and cast a Memory Jar.  If you don't believe me, have Jebus or another judge confirm for you.
Logged

Team Laptop

I hate people.  Yes, that includes you.
I'm bringing sexy back
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2004, 12:15:14 pm »

To confirm, you can't use MW Mana to pay for things like Nether Void, Daze, or Mana Leak.

You can use MW Mana to pay additoinal costs for the artifact, such as those imposed by Sphere of Resistance, or Trinisphere.
Logged
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2004, 07:22:25 pm »

dante, my comment was actually directed at slighguy
basically, the oracle text would have answered both of his questions

This mana may be used on costs which are added to the spell cost, such as with Sphere of Resistance or Kicker (see Rule 502.21). [Rules Team 2001/05/01]
This mana may not be used to pay costs imposed after the spell is initially played, as with Power Sink and Nether Void. [WotC Rules Team 1995/10/18]
You can spend the mana on costs on the spell's text. [WotC Rules Team 1995/11/10]

yea Smile
Logged

i need red mana
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2004, 07:26:38 pm »

Just another note.

That isn't Oracle text.

Those are compiled rulings.
Logged
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2004, 07:28:56 pm »

*pauses*

ah, ok  Embarassed
Logged

i need red mana
Shikari
Basic User
**
Posts: 37



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2004, 08:04:34 pm »

kekekekeee....
Logged
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2004, 08:57:55 pm »

Questions answered, this thread has devolved. This is not a chat room![/color]
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.049 seconds with 19 queries.