TheManaDrain.com
October 12, 2025, 11:32:55 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Exploiting the land  (Read 1978 times)
Tenebrozo
Basic User
**
Posts: 26



View Profile
« on: November 12, 2004, 12:24:25 pm »

Exploiting the Land
G1
Enchantment
Whenever a player taps a land for mana, that players adds 1 to his mana pool.
Whenever a player taps a land for mana, that player must pay 1 or sacrifice that land.
Those who overwork the land may find themselves without land to work on.

Basically a Mana Flare, it looks symetrical but you can build decks around this to play high casting cost cards at the cost of lands, while your opponent most likely will think twice before exploiting the ability. Thoughts?



Current wording:

Exploiting the Land
1G
Enchantment
Whenever a player taps a land for mana, he or she can sacrifice it to add 1 to his or her mana pool
Those who overwork the land may find themselves without land to work on.

Changes:
- Changed the wording.
Logged
Bram
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 3203


I've got mushroom clouds in my hands


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2004, 12:42:12 pm »

I like this. It's flavorful and interesting. I can't see why this should be more expensive. Great card.
Logged

<j_orlove> I am semi-religious
<BR4M> I like that. which half of god do you believe in?
<j_orlove> the half that tells me how to live my life
<j_orlove> but not the half that tells me how others should live theirs

R.I.P. Rudy van Soest a.k.a. MoreFling
Tenebrozo
Basic User
**
Posts: 26



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2004, 01:21:58 pm »

Does anyone have any issue with the card?

24 hour clock
Logged
Ephraim
Moderator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 2938


The Casual Adept

LordZakath
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2004, 01:57:01 pm »

I'm aware that the Mana Flare ability has migrated to green, but it doesn't really seem like a green ability to exploit land. This really feels more red or black than green. For one, it only produces colourless mana and the idea of exploitation is against green's theme of affinity with nature.
Logged

Did you know that Red is the color or art and music and passion? Combine that with Green, the color of nature, spiritualism, and community and you get a hippie commune of drum circles, dreamcatchers, and recreational drug use. Let's see that win a Pro Tour.
Tenebrozo
Basic User
**
Posts: 26



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2004, 05:32:39 pm »

That's why you have the option of using the extra resources to keep the land producing, or you can use them for your own good. You need the green magic to be able to produce the extra resources in the first place.
Logged
Tenebrozo
Basic User
**
Posts: 26



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2004, 06:25:58 pm »

Any more issues with the card? Is it all right, too boring or too out of flavor?
Logged
stolen
Basic User
**
Posts: 202



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2004, 08:28:42 pm »

I really like it.  It gives a person the opportunity to abuse his or her land for immidiate gain, but has that very in-flavor "you'll be sorry" aspect.  The flavor text is perfect in that regard.

To answer your questions, kinda, yes, no, no.

A couple minor technical things:
The mana cost should be written "1G", not "G1".
We have to be politically correct here.  "His or her mana pool."
Logged

"ardon me: I was born to speak all mirth and no matter."

~William Shakespeare, Much Ado About Nothing
Tenebrozo
Basic User
**
Posts: 26



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2004, 11:45:44 pm »

24 hour clock again to see if anyone has any trouble with the card.
Logged
Necrologia
Basic User
**
Posts: 453


RPZ85
View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2004, 06:11:39 am »

"Sacrifice a land: add 1 to your mana pool. Any player may play this ability," is the same thing isn't it? So it's basically it's a Rain of Filth or a Mana Seism for all players? I like this in green, but it seems a little out of color doesn't it?
Logged

This space for rent, reasonable rates
Malhavoc
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 394


Lich Overlord


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2004, 06:18:35 am »

Quote from: Necrologia
"Sacrifice a land: add 1 to your mana pool. Any player may play this ability," is the same thing isn't it?


It's a bit different: in this way you can also get mana even from tapped lands. With the other text you cannot.

Wouldn't be simple to rule it this way instead: "Whenever a player taps a land for mana, he or she can sacrifice it to add 1 to his or her mana pool". It's more elegant and simple IMHO.
Logged

Tipo1: Everything about Vintage in Italy.
Norm4eva
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1072

The87thBombfish
View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2004, 02:51:24 pm »

I think you guys are missing the point.  The idea is, whenever a land is tapped for mana it produces an additional 1.  However, if you want to keep that land you must spend that additional 1 to avoid a sacrifice.
So let's say you cast Wild Mongrel (1G) with two Forests and CARDNAME in play.  Use GG to pay for Mongrel, use the 2 colorless to keep those land in play.  Next turn you play Call of the Herd (2G) with the same two Forests in play.  Use 1GG to pay for COtH, spend the other 1 to keep a land in play - but since you couldn't pay for both, one must be sacrificed.  Get it?
Logged
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: November 18, 2004, 03:26:39 pm »

That's exactly the same as Malhavoc's wording.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.065 seconds with 22 queries.