TheManaDrain.com
October 24, 2025, 01:03:16 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Very basic misdirection question.  (Read 1854 times)
mikee
Basic User
**
Posts: 15


View Profile Email
« on: August 10, 2005, 02:17:37 am »

My question is simply, do I need to chose a new target when I misdirect, or is it up to me? I would assuem i have to choose a new target, but what if this isnt possible, such as let's say an raise dead, but there is only one creature in all graveyards? Do I just not choose a new target or do I have to choose the one possible one, and thus render misdirection ineffective and pointless?

Also, even if there ARE other possible targets, do I have to choose one? Like if he plays raise dead, and has two creatures in his graveyard, would I have to redirect the spell to target the other creature (which would still be disadvantageous for me), or could I choose to not target any creature at all?
Logged
Joblin Velder
Basic User
**
Posts: 510


Useless casual

ninjabot7000@hotmail.com CountRockula999
View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2005, 02:42:00 am »

You MUST name a target.
Logged

Team Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday: I will pee all over myself then we'll see who will end up looking bad.
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2005, 02:45:01 am »

You MUST name a target.

This does not actually answer the question. The answer would be:

Quote
Change the target of target spell with a single target.

A card always does as much as possible, and here CHANGING is the word to go by. In the case of only one target for raise dead in the yard, the misdirection will do nothing, as it cannot change anything (but still resolve!). In the case of two targets in the yard, your misdirection MUST switch to the other legal target.
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
crazzykid81083
Basic User
**
Posts: 34


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2005, 10:08:39 am »

Im confused doesnt raise dead read return target creature in target graveyard to owners hand if so then i believe you cant misdirect it because the raise dead targets 2 things a graveyard and a creature same with
donate
fire part on fire/ice
Dont quote me youll have to read raise dead
Logged
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2005, 10:10:47 am »

Always always always check http://gatherer.wizards.com for the latest card wordings!

Rules Text (Oracle):    Return target creature card from your graveyard to your hand.

Raise Dead has only one target. It cannot be used to put a creature back in an opponent's hand (like, say, a Genesis which is bothering you), and never could.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
mikee
Basic User
**
Posts: 15


View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2005, 01:54:19 pm »

Ok, so doesn't that amke midirection a very limited card? I can only really see it having use in a counter war. Which is very useful, but also very limited.
Logged
Roxas
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 422


JesusRoxas
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2005, 03:27:36 pm »

It's good for spells like Ancestral Recall, Deep Analysis, Mind Twist, and pretty much any spell that targets a player.  It can also be randomly useful on things like Echoing Truth, Swords to Plowshares, etc.  It -is- a rather situational card, but it's not as limited as you seem to think.
Logged

mikee
Basic User
**
Posts: 15


View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2005, 04:46:45 pm »

Yeah, actually you are right, I didn't think of those other situations.

But just so I can be 100% sure I understand. If there is no other possible target, then misdirection simply does not do anything, and the spell that I cast it on follows through with it's original target?
Logged
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2005, 06:02:43 pm »

Correct.
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2005, 08:02:56 pm »

But if there's only one possible target, you can still cast the MisD, right? Like say to grow a Dryad or gain like off a [card]Krakens Eye[/card].
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2005, 08:55:30 pm »

But if there's only one possible target, you can still cast the MisD, right? Like say to grow a Dryad or gain like off a [card]Krakens Eye[/card].
Correct. You could Misdirect a Duress in a two player game, for example, if for some reason you felt like playing the card, but as you are the only legal target, you'd still get hit. This can also be relevant on Mindslaver turns.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.032 seconds with 19 queries.