TheManaDrain.com
September 22, 2025, 01:25:54 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can Pithing Needle target Wasteland?  (Read 4701 times)
Cavius The Great
Basic User
**
Posts: 379


I'm realer than you.

King+Cavi
View Profile
« on: January 16, 2006, 04:49:25 pm »

I just want to clarify this. If I name "Wasteland" with a Pithing Needle will that prevent my opponent from sacking it? I know that Pithing Needle doesn't work on mana abilities but will it prevent the "second" ability from being used? I assume so.
Logged

Creator of Nourishing Lich & Enchantress Bloom.

PM me if you're interested in serious Vintage testing on MWS.
Mind_under_Matter
Basic User
**
Posts: 69

trojanoline63
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2006, 04:59:00 pm »

Correct, just like it prevents Vhitu-Ghazi making tokens in t2. It doesn't say non-land card in the text, so feel free to name anything. Maze of Ith was one of my personal favorites.
Logged

So in conclusion, creatures are bad. Play blue cards instead.
-Dr. Sylvan
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2006, 05:25:46 pm »

Note: the Wasteland will still be able to tap for mana, since Needle can't turn off the mana ability. But it can turn off the land-destroying ability, as well as any additional nonmana abilities it might acquire (say from Flame Fusillade).
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Cavius The Great
Basic User
**
Posts: 379


I'm realer than you.

King+Cavi
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2006, 06:32:08 pm »

Thanks guys. I basically asked that question as a solution to wasteland targeting Tiaga and the guildpact R/G dual land, so my kird apes would maintain its +1/+2 ability. running 8 Tiagas and 4 Wooded Foothills makes Kird Ape a force to be reckoned with in both Legacy and Vintage IMO.
Logged

Creator of Nourishing Lich & Enchantress Bloom.

PM me if you're interested in serious Vintage testing on MWS.
Komatteru
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 783

Joseiteki


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2006, 06:33:52 pm »

You can actually name any card with Pithing Needle, it's just a matter of whether it will do anything.  You can name Island, if you really want to, for instance.
Logged
TJ-Whoopy
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 189


RL>M:tg

Tjwhoopy Tyroniousj
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2006, 08:43:10 pm »

last waterbury I had a kid name black lotus on me, after explaining why this wouldn't do anything he still insisted on naming Lotus
Logged

Ball and Chain: The only Magic team worth being on when you no longer play Magic

Retired from Magic and loving it.
Mind_under_Matter
Basic User
**
Posts: 69

trojanoline63
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2006, 11:18:42 pm »

just in case you turned it white, had a crusade out, animated it, and cast flame fusilade.  :lol:
Logged

So in conclusion, creatures are bad. Play blue cards instead.
-Dr. Sylvan
49 Cents
Basic User
**
Posts: 591


Von Dutch


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2006, 02:37:40 am »

Actually, I attended an Extended tourney a while ago, where someone named Tooth and Nail with Needle >_<
Logged

Team TDC: The man with a new idea is a fool. Unless the idea turns out to be a succes.

www.BeNeLegacy.nl - For all your Legacy
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2006, 03:52:20 am »

if your opponent has a Wasteland out, and you play Pithing Needle, the can waste something in response while Needle is on the stack.

once it hits play, and you name Wasteland, then it's too late to waste stuff.
Logged

Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2006, 07:13:44 am »

Actually, I attended an Extended tourney a while ago, where someone named Tooth and Nail with Needle >_<
And I´ve seen them name Metalworker and Ophidian too.

Knowing the rules is pretty vital when you want to play Magic at a certain level.
Logged
Mind_under_Matter
Basic User
**
Posts: 69

trojanoline63
View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2006, 07:48:56 am »

and in 'Phid's case, the oracle text
Logged

So in conclusion, creatures are bad. Play blue cards instead.
-Dr. Sylvan
PucktheCat
My interests include blue decks, arguing, and beer.
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 549


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2006, 12:45:21 pm »

Quote
if your opponent has a Wasteland out, and you play Pithing Needle, the can waste something in response while Needle is on the stack.

once it hits play, and you name Wasteland, then it's too late to waste stuff.
Just to be clear, if your opponent does use his Wastes in response then you have the option of naming something else, right.  In other words, you name on resolution.

Leo
Logged
Slack
Basic User
**
Posts: 40


誰が居ますか。


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2006, 03:38:52 pm »

Quote
if your opponent has a Wasteland out, and you play Pithing Needle, the can waste something in response while Needle is on the stack.

once it hits play, and you name Wasteland, then it's too late to waste stuff.
Just to be clear, if your opponent does use his Wastes in response then you have the option of naming something else, right.  In other words, you name on resolution.

Leo

This is correct.  You don't name the card until the needle enters play.  So, you really shouldn't say anything at all regarding the named card until Pithing Needle resolves.

Of course if he does waste in response, you can still name wasteland if you want to prevent any future use of other wastelands.
Logged

"The past is a ghost that haunts you from the moment it exists until the moment you don't"
           -Gerrard

RIT Magic
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.038 seconds with 19 queries.