TheManaDrain.com
December 29, 2025, 12:32:24 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Elvish Drummer  (Read 1962 times)
jeek
IRC Overlord
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 79


IRC Overlord

4428726 tajikistan@hotmail.com TJEckman tajiki
View Profile WWW
« on: January 24, 2006, 02:14:22 pm »

Elvish Drummer
{G}{G}
Creature - Elf
Tap: Add 1 to your mana pool.
Whenever you tap ~this~ for mana, destroy target artifact with converted mana cost equal to the amount of mana in your mana pool.
1/1

Easy enough concept, I wanted an artifact killer that doesn't get shut down by Pithing Needle.

It also has a Shuriken-like ability to let you kill 0cc artifacts by using the Drummer to pay the cost of a spell/effect as you play it.

Elvish Drummer
{G}{G}
Creature - Elf
Tap: Add 1 to your mana pool.
Whenever you tap ~this~ for mana, you may destroy target artifact if its converted mana cost is equal to the amount of mana in your mana pool.
1/1
« Last Edit: February 08, 2006, 03:09:08 pm by jeek » Logged

You know what irks me the most?
That MaRo had the audacity to taint the good name of the Rakdos by including a justification for HoFLong in their article.
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/daily/mr241
Anusien
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 3669


Anusien
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2006, 05:01:19 pm »

Interesting, but the stack rules worry me, simply because you're putting a triggered ability onto a mana ability.  Whether you tap the guy during the casting of a spell or tap him for mana before you cast the spell is an important but subtle distinction that I'm worried may be a little too difficult for wide print.
Logged

Magic Level 3 Judge
Southern USA Regional Coordinator

Quote from: H.L. Mencken
The urge to save humanity is almost always a false front for the urge to rule.
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2006, 03:54:30 am »

Very similar, only not, ofcourse:

-Datatog- Glissa Sunseeker {2GG} |Legendary Creature -- Elf| 3/2. First strike / T: Destroy target artifact if its converted mana cost is equal to the amount of mana in your mana pool. MRD-R [Legal in Vin Leg Ext.]

Should take care of Anusien's worries though, I guess.
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
jeek
IRC Overlord
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 79


IRC Overlord

4428726 tajikistan@hotmail.com TJEckman tajiki
View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2006, 12:18:57 pm »

Interesting, but the stack rules worry me, simply because you're putting a triggered ability onto a mana ability.  Whether you tap the guy during the casting of a spell or tap him for mana before you cast the spell is an important but subtle distinction that I'm worried may be a little too difficult for wide print.

Setting up a trigger on mana abilities has been done before, at least once. (Manabarbs) I think it adds a little extra power for players who can figure out how to use it properly. Also, it can't hit 0cc artifacts without that bit.
Logged

You know what irks me the most?
That MaRo had the audacity to taint the good name of the Rakdos by including a justification for HoFLong in their article.
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/daily/mr241
Machinus
Keldon Ancient
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2516



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2006, 12:46:21 am »

Interesting, but the stack rules worry me, simply because you're putting a triggered ability onto a mana ability.  Whether you tap the guy during the casting of a spell or tap him for mana before you cast the spell is an important but subtle distinction that I'm worried may be a little too difficult for wide print.

 Also, it can't hit 0cc artifacts without that bit.

You can't play a G spell with this, and then target a mox? Wouldn't there be no mana in your pool when the ability resolves?
Logged

T1: Arsenal
jeek
IRC Overlord
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 79


IRC Overlord

4428726 tajikistan@hotmail.com TJEckman tajiki
View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2006, 11:34:05 am »

Interesting, but the stack rules worry me, simply because you're putting a triggered ability onto a mana ability.  Whether you tap the guy during the casting of a spell or tap him for mana before you cast the spell is an important but subtle distinction that I'm worried may be a little too difficult for wide print.

 Also, it can't hit 0cc artifacts without that bit.

You can't play a G spell with this, and then target a mox? Wouldn't there be no mana in your pool when the ability resolves?

With the original wording at the top, you wouldn't be able to target the mox as you announce the ability.

Edit: Wait, yes you could. I'm an idiot. :/
Logged

You know what irks me the most?
That MaRo had the audacity to taint the good name of the Rakdos by including a justification for HoFLong in their article.
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/daily/mr241
Kasuras
The Observer
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 323



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2006, 03:28:43 pm »

Is there any reason why you must do this? Adding "may" might solve it, although I don't know whether you want this:

Whenever you tap ~this~ for mana, you may destroy target artifact with converted mana cost equal to the amount of mana in your mana pool.
Logged

Ye weep, unhappy ones; but these are not your last tears!
-Frankenstein, -Mary Shelley.

Lasciate ogne speranza, voi ch'intrate.
-The Divine Comedy, -Dante Alighieri
LordHomerCat
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1397

Lord+Homer+Cat
View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2006, 03:16:37 pm »

It seems to me that, in order to avoid all kinds of weird timing issues with the targeting stuff, why don't you just say "Whenever you tap ~this~ for mana, you may destroy target artifact if its converted mana cost is equal to the amount of mana in your mana pool."  That lets you target any artifact you want (so you dont have to worry about tapping him during the announcement of a spell in order to kill a mox, etc.) and you still get the desired Glissa effect, without requiring very specific knowledge of spell timing rules.
Logged

Team Meandeck

Team Serious

Quote from: spider
LordHomerCat is just mean, and isnt really justifying his statements very well, is he?
jeek
IRC Overlord
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 79


IRC Overlord

4428726 tajikistan@hotmail.com TJEckman tajiki
View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2006, 03:08:32 pm »

Elvish Drummer
{G}{G}
Creature - Elf
Tap: Add 1 to your mana pool.
Whenever you tap ~this~ for mana, you may destroy target artifact if its converted mana cost is equal to the amount of mana in your mana pool.
1/1

That seems to be the slickest wording I've seen for this effect. I'll add it to the top.
Logged

You know what irks me the most?
That MaRo had the audacity to taint the good name of the Rakdos by including a justification for HoFLong in their article.
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/daily/mr241
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.041 seconds with 18 queries.