TheManaDrain.com
October 16, 2025, 04:06:14 pm
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
News
:
Home
Help
Search
Calendar
Login
Register
TheManaDrain.com
>
Vintage Community Discussion
>
Rules Q&A
(Moderators:
The Atog Lord
,
Godder
,
Demonic Attorney
,
Clariax
) >
Misdirection and Chain of Vapor.
Pages: [
1
]
Print
Author
Topic: Misdirection and Chain of Vapor. (Read 1194 times)
Disburden
Basic User
Posts: 602
Blue Blue, Drain you.
Misdirection and Chain of Vapor.
«
on:
August 22, 2006, 10:44:54 am »
I had a question regarding the way Misdirection works with Chain of Vapor. I played a test game earlier today with a friend, during the game I had Darksteel colossus out while he had several small creatures in play. At one point in the game I put Chain of Vapor on the stack to target one of his beaters. He then sacrificed a land to make a copy of Chain of Vapor onto my Colossus. At this point I used Misdirection on his Chain copy and targeted yet another one of his creatures. Is this possible with the rules? Also could he have make yet another copy of the Chain since he was a target of the second ? We had some debate over it and I would like to know if I broke any rules in the game by using the Misdirection.
Thanks !
Nick.
Logged
Unrestrict: Library of Alexandria and Burning Wish.
Location: Carmel, NY (Putnam County)
parallax
Basic User
Posts: 318
Re: Misdirection and Chain of Vapor.
«
Reply #1 on:
August 22, 2006, 11:08:57 am »
Chain of Vapor has a single target and is a legal target for Misdirection. If you Misdirect the Chain to another one of his creatures, he again gets the choice of sacrificing a land to bounce your Colossus.
Logged
How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant
Wrath of Frog
.
Disburden
Basic User
Posts: 602
Blue Blue, Drain you.
Re: Misdirection and Chain of Vapor.
«
Reply #2 on:
August 22, 2006, 01:36:34 pm »
Thanks
This is how the turn looked.
I attacked with DSC.
He chose his blockers.
I chained one of the blockers
He made a copy of chain
I put Misdirection on the stack targetting the copy and chose the new target to be the second blocker.
Now since the damage was on the stack before all of this how would the damage being taken look on resolving? Even if he did use Misdirection on DSC with another copy, the 11 damage was already on the stack, correct?
Logged
Unrestrict: Library of Alexandria and Burning Wish.
Location: Carmel, NY (Putnam County)
parallax
Basic User
Posts: 318
Re: Misdirection and Chain of Vapor.
«
Reply #3 on:
August 22, 2006, 01:42:59 pm »
Once damage is on the stack, removing blockers or attackers has no effect. Your opponent would take 11-(combined toughness of blockers) damage. Note that bouncing a blocker after damage is on the stack has no effect on how damage is dealt (other than returning the creature to its owner's hand rather than letting it die). If you had chosen to Chain his blockers before combat damage, your Colossus would return to your hand before doing any damage.
Logged
How about choosing a non-legend creature? Otherwise he is a UG instant
Wrath of Frog
.
Disburden
Basic User
Posts: 602
Blue Blue, Drain you.
Re: Misdirection and Chain of Vapor.
«
Reply #4 on:
August 22, 2006, 03:02:23 pm »
Thanks a lot for clearing these things up for me. I feel stupid for not being sure on this situation, but I am really bad with the combat step in this format, since this is all I play and no standard or anything else. Thanks again.
Logged
Unrestrict: Library of Alexandria and Burning Wish.
Location: Carmel, NY (Putnam County)
Harlequin
Full Members
Basic User
Posts: 1860
Re: Misdirection and Chain of Vapor.
«
Reply #5 on:
August 24, 2006, 08:48:32 am »
To make it a bit more clear. "Damage on the stack" means that you have already assigned where your damage is going. So you have your 11 trample damage to distribute over lets say three 2/2's and to the player. In the combat damage step the first thing you do before any player gets priory is assign your damage. So you have to announce how you divid your damage, and furthermore you must assign at least 2 damage to each of the blocking 2/2's. So before you get priority to play the chain of vapor, you have to say "I assign 2 damage each of the 2/2's, and 5 damage to you" now that is locked in. Changing creature's P/T or removing creatures from combat will not allow you to re-assign your damage.
Logged
Member of Team ~ R&D ~
Pages: [
1
]
Print
Jump to:
Please select a destination:
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Vintage Tournament Forum
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Casual Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Creative
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Rules Q&A
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Miscellaneous
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Card Creation Forum
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Vintage, Type-1 Forum
===> Archived Extreme Vintage Forum
===> Archived Tournament Results Forum
===> Archived Basic User/Newbie Forum
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Rules and Regulations
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> General Community Discussion
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
===> Archived Articles and Primers
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=====> Master List
=====> Set In Progress
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Global Vintage Tournament Reports and Results
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Tournament Announcement Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Vintage Tournament Announcements
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Other Formats
===> Non-Vintage
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Articles
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
=> Vintage Deck Discussion
-----------------------------
Archives
-----------------------------
=> Archives
=> Adept Chronicles
===> Classic MTGO Forum
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Elder Dragon Highlander Forum
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Northeast U.S.
===> Midwest U.S.
===> Western/Pacific U.S.
===> Southern U.S.
===> Canada
===> Europe
===> Other
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
=> Community Introductions
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Introduction to TMD
-----------------------------
Vintage Community Discussion
-----------------------------
===> Type 4
-----------------------------
Eternal Formats
-----------------------------
===> Blue-Based Control
===> Workshop-Based Prison
===> Ritual-Based Combo
===> Null Rod Based Aggro
===> Bazaar-Based Decks
=> General Strategy Discussion
===> Vintage Adept Q&A
===> General Strategy Discussion
=> Eternal Article Discussion
===> Online Tournaments
-----------------------------
Introduction and Announcements
-----------------------------
=> Registration for TMD
-----------------------------
Lounges
-----------------------------
===> General Yankee Discussion
Loading...