TheManaDrain.com
October 29, 2025, 02:52:52 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Cultivate  (Read 1138 times)
Fistandantilus
Basic User
**
Posts: 39


View Profile
« on: August 02, 2007, 12:54:11 pm »

ORIGINAL TEXT:

Cultivate
{2} {G}
Instant
Search your library for up to two basic land cards and put them into play.  If you do, then sacrifice a land and shuffle your library.

***

Comments:

I like Harrow.  It's a strong card for green.  I especially love that it's an instant that puts land into play untapped.  There aren't enough of those, in my opinion.

Harrow's big drawback (the one that keeps it from being played, I think) is that you must sacrifice a land as a part of the casting cost.  The fear that Harrow might be countered, causing the loss of a player's land without any benefit to the player, might keep many a player from playing Harrow.

I propose to fix that drawback with this card. 

This is the kind of card that I might try in a High Tide deck with a green splash.

I scanned the master list, and Horticulture was the closest thing that I could find.  It is quite a bit different.  I have duplicated the text below for comparison:

Horticulture
{1} {G}
Instant
As an additional cost to play Horticulture, sacrifice a nonbasic land.
Search your library for two basic land cards and put them into play tapped. Then shuffle your library.
Logged
SpencerForHire
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1473



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2007, 04:53:47 pm »

If I'm not mistaken, lands played after tide don't produce the additional blue... Then again, I'm not positive.
Logged

Team Technology - Strictly better than our previous name.
Fistandantilus
Basic User
**
Posts: 39


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2007, 06:37:15 pm »

If I'm not mistaken, lands played after tide don't produce the additional blue... Then again, I'm not positive.

I've never heard that.  I would be quite surprised if that were actually so.  Especially in light of this ruling on High Tide, which is viewable through Gatherer:

Quote from: Gatherer
10/4/2004 It affects lands you control when it resolves and any lands you gain control of this turn.

I assume that lands that a card like Cultivate (or Harrow) puts into play after you play High Tide are included within the definition of "lands that you gain control of this turn."
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.034 seconds with 20 queries.