TheManaDrain.com
September 13, 2025, 04:35:55 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Coerce / Inhibit  (Read 4305 times)
TheFram
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179


thefram1
View Profile
« on: January 19, 2004, 05:06:33 pm »

I thought it would be cool to do another split card, and this was on my mind. I felt like mixing it up and having the sides be different types of spells, though still fitting the same color.

----------------------------------------------------------
Coerce
{1}{B}
Sorcery

Target player reveals his or her hand.
Choose a noncreature, nonland card from it.
That player discards that card.
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Deter
{2}{W}
Instant

Until end of turn, target player
can't play instants or sorceries.

Draw a card.
----------------------------------------------------------

Essentially its a down-powered Duress coupled with a weakened Abeyance, both of which are misdirectable (i think i even worded Coerce so that you would have to find a card to discard in your hand if it was misd'd). I made Deter cost 3 to avoid scepter, since Duress+abeyance on scepter is likely much too good.[/code]
Logged
TheFram
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179


thefram1
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2004, 05:08:10 pm »

Current wording

----------------------------------------------------------
Coerce
{1}{B}
Sorcery

Target player reveals his or her hand.
Choose a noncreature, nonland card from it.
That player discards that card.
///////////////////////////////////////////
Inhibit
{2}{W}
Instant

Until end of turn, target player
can't play instants or sorceries.

Draw a card.
----------------------------------------------------------
Logged
brendan
Basic User
**
Posts: 187


1516701
View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2004, 06:23:12 pm »

Looks good. You can still imprint it on a scepter because one half of it has CMC <=2, and once it is imprinted you can play either half off the scepter. I don't see a problem with that though.
Logged
Dr. Sylvan
TMD Oracle and Uber-Melvin
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1973



View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2004, 07:25:46 pm »

I'm pretty sure Avi is right: Scepter can only imprint if the Instant side of the card is cmc<=2. So this cannot be imprinted.

Cool card. I can't think of any changes. It's the perfect split card: each side is too weak on its own, but together the flexibility of the card could cause it to see play.
Logged

TheFram
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179


thefram1
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2004, 07:29:21 pm »

Are the names good?
Should there be flavor text?
Is there room for flavor text on the split cards?

Also, does someone know for sure about the scepter rules with a card like this?

-TheFram
Logged
Kowal
My name is not Brian.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2497


Reanimate your feet!


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2004, 07:31:03 pm »

I like the names, Deter sounds more blue.  Maybe something with the word "Ward" would be more appropriate.
Logged
TheFram
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179


thefram1
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2004, 07:38:13 pm »

Choices for the white half

Deter
Inhibit
Impede
Restrict
Abrogate?
Obstruct?
Constrain?
Ward?
Logged
Dr. Sylvan
TMD Oracle and Uber-Melvin
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1973



View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2004, 07:43:12 pm »

From http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/satschoolarchive&term=isochron_scepter

Quote
Q: I see that I'm allowed to imprint Fire/Ice on Isochron Scepter but I don't understand why. I thought the converted mana cost of that card was 4.

A: The converted mana cost of Fire/Ice is actually "2 and 2". Each side has a separate mana cost, both of which are 2. The Scepter asks if the converted mana cost of the card is 2 or less, and since at least one side says "yes", the card can be imprinted

You're probably confused by the different ways costs are treated. If you do an action based on the mana cost of a split card, you will do that action twice. (For example, Pain/Suffering has mana cost "1 and 4". If you reveal it for Planeswalker's Mirth, you will gain 1 life and 4 life, for a total of 5.)

If an effect tests a split card's converted mana cost for some quality, then it will be satisfied if either side has that quality.

(For example, if somebody casts Void on you when Pain/Suffering is in your hand, you will discard it if the player chose either 1 or 4.)

Isochron Scepter is testing the cost of the card, not using it to do an action, so it will be satisfied if either side has converted mana cost 2 or less.


Avi and I are mistaken. You could imprint this on Scepter, because the conditions are each met by at least one side of the card. I don't see that as broken, though, so I don't think it forces us to up the mana cost.
Logged

Kowal
My name is not Brian.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2497


Reanimate your feet!


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2004, 07:44:39 pm »

I really like Obstruct.  I think you should go with that one.
Logged
RoadTrippin
Basic User
**
Posts: 235


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2004, 07:49:18 pm »

Intercede sounds pretty catchy.
Logged
TheFram
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179


thefram1
View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2004, 07:50:54 pm »

This is probably better than Fire/Ice on the scepter, and it's definitely better than abeyance on a scepter (aside from not stopping tog growings and welding). However, the fact that it's not blue makes it less generally good than fire/ice, so it might be balanced.


As for the misdirectability i added to Coerce, if it get's misd'd, does the player need to take a card from his own hand? I wanted to weaken it sufficiently that they would.

-thefram
Logged
TheFram
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179


thefram1
View Profile
« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2004, 08:10:09 pm »

----------------------------------------------------------
Coerce
{1}{B}
Sorcery

Target player reveals his or her hand.
Choose a noncreature, nonland card from it.
That player discards that card.
///////////////////////////////////////////
Inhibit
{2}{W}
Instant

Until end of turn, target player
can't play instants or sorceries.

Draw a card.
----------------------------------------------------------


For some reason I cannot edit my posts in this particular part of the forum, so here is the current card
Logged
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2004, 09:06:52 pm »

Quote from: Dr. Sylvan
From http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/satschoolarchive&term=isochron_scepter

Quote
Q: I see that I'm allowed to imprint Fire/Ice on Isochron Scepter but I don't understand why. I thought the converted mana cost of that card was 4.

A: The converted mana cost of Fire/Ice is actually "2 and 2". Each side has a separate mana cost, both of which are 2. The Scepter asks if the converted mana cost of the card is 2 or less, and since at least one side says "yes", the card can be imprinted

You're probably confused by the different ways costs are treated. If you do an action based on the mana cost of a split card, you will do that action twice. (For example, Pain/Suffering has mana cost "1 and 4". If you reveal it for Planeswalker's Mirth, you will gain 1 life and 4 life, for a total of 5.)

If an effect tests a split card's converted mana cost for some quality, then it will be satisfied if either side has that quality.

(For example, if somebody casts Void on you when Pain/Suffering is in your hand, you will discard it if the player chose either 1 or 4.)

Isochron Scepter is testing the cost of the card, not using it to do an action, so it will be satisfied if either side has converted mana cost 2 or less.


Avi and I are mistaken. You could imprint this on Scepter, because the conditions are each met by at least one side of the card. I don't see that as broken, though, so I don't think it forces us to up the mana cost.

Actually, you were right before. The scepter checks each half separately, and as long as one half fits completely, both can go on. You can never use the scepter to cast imprinted sorceries, though, even with a split card, so this can't possibly work with a scepter.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
TheFram
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179


thefram1
View Profile
« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2004, 09:15:38 pm »

Good, that was the intended effect.

Thanks Jacob
Logged
brendan
Basic User
**
Posts: 187


1516701
View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: January 20, 2004, 12:22:33 am »

Yeah whoops, I didn't notice that Coerce was a sorcery, which of course it is.

Why can't I edit my own posts? Argh!

"Edit" issue fixed.
-- Toad
Logged
TheFram
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179


thefram1
View Profile
« Reply #15 on: January 20, 2004, 11:51:33 am »

Thanks to the mods for allowing the edit function back into this forum.

Ok, so question for Matt and Kaervek (and other CC forum ppl):

Is this a card that could fit in the set, or should I have the mods close the topic?

-TheFram
Logged
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2004, 12:33:29 pm »

It can certainly go on the master list. I'm not sure if we'll have room in our first set, but we might be able to expand this into a large cycle for our second or third sets.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
TheFram
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179


thefram1
View Profile
« Reply #17 on: January 20, 2004, 12:38:18 pm »

So 24 Hr clock going now?

-Thefram
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.321 seconds with 21 queries.