TheManaDrain.com
December 29, 2025, 06:49:42 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Meltdown  (Read 1648 times)
Blue Lotus
Basic User
**
Posts: 389



View Profile
« on: September 25, 2008, 03:27:45 pm »

If trinisphere is in play, and I cast meltdown for 2R, do I destroy all 0cc artifacts or all 2cc and below?
Logged
Anusien
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 3669


Anusien
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2008, 03:38:41 pm »

It depends, what is X?  If X=2, then you destroy all artifacts with converted mana cost 2 or less.  If X is 0, then you're forced to pay 2R, but you only destroy all artifacts with converted mana cost 0.  Trinisphere does not change casting costs or the value of X, it merely makes things more expensive.
Logged

Magic Level 3 Judge
Southern USA Regional Coordinator

Quote from: H.L. Mencken
The urge to save humanity is almost always a false front for the urge to rule.
Harlequin
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1860


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2008, 03:41:15 pm »

Its actually up to you.  Before you pay for Meltdown you declare the value of X.  So you announce I am casting Meltdown with X = 2.  Now you derive the cost.   {X} = 2 = {2} +  {R} =  {2} {R}  Trinisphere says "ok, I got no beef with you"
Or you could say I annouce I am casting Meltdown with X = 0.  Now  {X} = 0 = {0} + {R} = {R} now Trinisphere says "Hey you didn't pay 3, so I will increase the cost you pay to {2} {R} "  this does not change the value of X.
Logged

Member of Team ~ R&D ~
Blue Lotus
Basic User
**
Posts: 389



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2008, 04:33:42 pm »

Ok thanks a bunch
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.189 seconds with 20 queries.