TheManaDrain.com
September 17, 2025, 12:04:01 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Diplomatic immunity  (Read 1534 times)
Goodguy666
Basic User
**
Posts: 7


View Profile
« on: February 14, 2009, 06:25:11 pm »


Diplomatic immunity gives shroud to itself and a creature. The text it:

"Enchant creature
Shroud (This permanent can't be the target of spells or abilities.)
Enchanted creature has shroud"

If using Zur the enchanter to attack someone can I get another Aura and put on Zur ? Seen alot in EDH format get diplomatic immunity and put on Zur and then get another enchantment after that and put it on him. How is that possible ? isent he enchancment a targetet spell ?

Thanks in advance
 Goodguy
Logged
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2009, 08:43:08 pm »

Enduring Ideal decks often put enchantments into play, some are auras like Faith's Fetters.  these auras come into and have to go on a creature (or artifact or whatever), however, auras only target when they are on the stack. So Faith's Fetters could get put on Simic Skyswallower in this way.  On creatures like Progentus, the Protection From ability specifically destroys the aura.
Logged

Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2009, 11:20:24 am »

Enduring Ideal decks often put enchantments into play, some are auras like Faith's Fetters.  these auras come into and have to go on a creature (or artifact or whatever), however, auras only target when they are on the stack. So Faith's Fetters could get put on Simic Skyswallower in this way.  On creatures like Progentus, the Protection From ability specifically destroys the aura.
Does the Aura get to enchant the Progenitus at all, if only for a very brief time, or does it never actually come into play? Say, if the only creature in play has pro:red and I use Enduring Ideal to search for Galvanic Arc, do I get to deal 3?
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
Nefarias
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 932


NefariasAndy
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2009, 11:42:30 am »

Enduring Ideal decks often put enchantments into play, some are auras like Faith's Fetters.  these auras come into and have to go on a creature (or artifact or whatever), however, auras only target when they are on the stack. So Faith's Fetters could get put on Simic Skyswallower in this way.  On creatures like Progentus, the Protection From ability specifically destroys the aura.
Does the Aura get to enchant the Progenitus at all, if only for a very brief time, or does it never actually come into play? Say, if the only creature in play has pro:red and I use Enduring Ideal to search for Galvanic Arc, do I get to deal 3?

It can't be enchanted, at all, even for a second. Protection covers four things, abbreviated DEBT (Let's say it a creature with pro:red): Prevent all Damage that would be dealt to the creature by red sources; The creature can't be Enchanted by red sources; It can't be Blocked by red creatures, and it can't be Targetted by red spels or abilities. Enduring Ideal gets around the "T" but it can't circumvent the "E".

From the most recent Riki Rules, referring to Deathrender and Progenitus:
Quote
Why does the Deathrender fail to attach itself? This is the inevitable follow-up question. The confusion arises here because players think of protection’s “no targeting” section, which normally prevents the equip ability itself. But without the targeting, they think that it is okay to go ahead and attach it through other means like Deathrender. However, rule 502.7d states “A permanent with protection can’t be equipped by Equipment that have the stated quality…” This is a blanket statement that means that an equipment can never be attached to such a creature. Not even for a second. Deathrender does not attach itself to Progenitus and fall off; it just never gets there.
Logged

Team GG's

Quote from: Young Jeezy
This will be the realest shit you ever quote
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2785


Team Vacaville


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2009, 02:42:19 am »

Enduring Ideal decks often put enchantments into play, some are auras like Faith's Fetters.  these auras come into and have to go on a creature (or artifact or whatever), however, auras only target when they are on the stack. So Faith's Fetters could get put on Simic Skyswallower in this way.  On creatures like Progentus, the Protection From ability specifically destroys the aura.
Does the Aura get to enchant the Progenitus at all, if only for a very brief time, or does it never actually come into play? Say, if the only creature in play has pro:red and I use Enduring Ideal to search for Galvanic Arc, do I get to deal 3?

Well, for a short while Akroma could be enchanted by Animate Dead long enough to say, stay in play after the black enchentment falls off, but Animate dead is a special case of an enchantment that becoomes an auro during resolution.  Enduring Ideal did indeed let you put Fetters or whatnot on otherwize untargetable creatures, but as for protection and Galvanic arc, JUDGE!!!

Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.038 seconds with 19 queries.