TheManaDrain.com
December 10, 2025, 04:28:40 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Snapcaster Mage and Thoughtcast  (Read 4738 times)
Ten-Ten
Basic User
**
Posts: 473


Shalom Aleichem


View Profile
« on: October 18, 2011, 09:47:03 pm »

if I have an Thoughtcast in my graveyard and i give it flashback via the snapcaster will the flashback cost still be reduced by {1} for each artifact I control?

thank you in advanced Very Happy
Logged

Colossians 2:2,3
 That their hearts might be comforted, being knit together in love, and unto all riches of the full assurance of understanding, to the acknowledgement of the mystery of God, both of the Father, and of Christ; In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.
bluemage55
Basic User
**
Posts: 583


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2011, 10:21:45 pm »

Yes.  Affinity changes the casting cost rather than giving you an alternate cost the way that Gush or Force of Will do.
Logged
serracollector
Basic User
**
Posts: 1359

serracollector@hotmail.com
View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2011, 01:53:38 am »

I was wondering the same, but with Mindbreak Trap and Ravenous Trap.  Sorry to hijack the thread, but can you pay 0 for them if the demands are met, or do you have to pay the full mana cost on both/either?
Logged

B/R discussions are not allowed outside of Vintage Issues, and that includes signatures.
bluemage55
Basic User
**
Posts: 583


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2011, 07:50:25 am »

I was wondering the same, but with Mindbreak Trap and Ravenous Trap.  Sorry to hijack the thread, but can you pay 0 for them if the demands are met, or do you have to pay the full mana cost on both/either?

You have to pay the full cost.

The 0 cost on traps is an alternative cost, similar to Force of Will or Gush, merely one that only exists when certain conditions are met.  Snapcaster merely gives a card a flashback cost equal to it's normal cost, and under normal conditions (e.g. not under Yawg) the only way you can play a card from your grave is using the flashback cost.
Logged
Delha
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1271



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2011, 11:33:11 am »

The key to recognizing an alternate cost is looking for the phrase "rather than pay CARDNAME's mana cost".

In FoW: You may pay 1 life and exile a blue card from your hand rather than pay Force of Will's mana cost.
In Gush: You may return two Islands you control to their owner's hand rather than pay Gush's mana cost.
In Mindbreak: If an opponent cast three or more spells this turn, you may pay {0} rather than pay Mindbreak Trap's mana cost.

The easiest way to remember the interaction is that flashing back a spell is already making use of an alternative cost. I've quoted the exact wording of flashback below for reference, as well as the rule preventing the payment of multiple alternative costs.

Quote
702.32. Flashback
702.32a Flashback appears on some instants and sorceries. It represents two static abilities: one that
functions while the card is in a player’s graveyard and the other that functions while the card is
on the stack. “Flashback [cost]” means “You may cast this card from your graveyard by paying
[cost] rather than paying its mana cost”
and “If the flashback cost was paid, exile this card
instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack.” Casting a spell using its
flashback ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2e–g.
Quote
601.2b If the spell is modal the player announces the mode choice (see rule 700.2). If the player
wishes to splice any cards onto the spell (see rule 702.45), he or she reveals those cards in his or
her hand. If the spell has alternative or additional costs that will be paid as it’s being cast such as
buyback, kicker, or convoke costs (see rules 117.8 and 117.9), the player announces his or her
intentions to pay any or all of those costs (see rule 601.2e). A player can’t apply two alternative
methods of casting or two alternative costs to a single spell.
If the spell has a variable cost that
will be paid as it’s being cast (such as an {X} in its mana cost; see rule 107.3), the player
announces the value of that variable. If a cost that will be paid as the spell is being cast includes
hybrid mana symbols, the player announces the nonhybrid equivalent cost he or she intends to
pay. If a cost that will be paid as the spell is being cast includes Phyrexian mana symbols, the
player announces whether he or she intends to pay 2 life or the corresponding colored mana cost
for each of those symbols. Previously made choices (such as choosing to cast a spell with
flashback from a graveyard or choosing to cast a creature with morph face down) may restrict
the player’s options when making these choices.
Logged

I suppose it's mostly the thought that this format is just one big Mistake; and not even a very sophisticated one at that.
Much like humanity itself.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.04 seconds with 19 queries.