TheManaDrain.com
November 29, 2025, 04:30:50 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Torpor Orb-Vanishing Question  (Read 5904 times)
waffles
Basic User
**
Posts: 240


View Profile
« on: December 25, 2011, 03:21:11 am »

How does Torpor Orb interact with vanishing/fading cards such as Blastoderm or Chronozoa? My opponent says my blastoderm does not come in with counters because vanishing and fading arent replacement effects, I am unsure about that. Would this mean my blastoderm would enter with no time counters and die in my next upkeep?

Quote
Torpor Orb {2}
Artifact
Creatures entering the battlefield don't cause abilities to trigger

Rulings:
6/1/2011 Torpor Orb stops a creature's own enters-the-battlefield triggered abilities as well as other triggered abilities that would trigger when a creature enters the battlefield.
 
6/1/2011 The trigger event doesn't have to specify "creatures" entering the battlefield. For example, Amulet of Vigor says "Whenever a permanent enters the battlefield tapped and under your control, untap it." If a creature enters the battlefield tapped and under your control, Amulet of Vigor would not trigger. If a land (that isn't also a creature) enters the battlefield tapped and under your control, Amulet of Vigor would trigger.

6/1/2011 Abilities that create replacement effects, such as a permanent entering the battlefield tapped or with counters on it, are unaffected.

6/1/2011 Abilities that apply "as [this creature] enters the battlefield," such as choosing a creature to copy with Clone, are unaffected.

6/1/2011 Look at the permanent as it exists on the battlefield, taking into account continuous effects, to determine whether any triggered abilities will trigger. For example, if you control March of the Machines, which says, in part, "Each noncreature artifact is an artifact creature," Torpor Orb will be a creature when it enters the battlefield and will not cause triggered abilities to trigger.

6/1/2011 If Torpor Orb and a creature enter the battlefield at the same time, that creature entering the battlefield won't cause triggered abilities to trigger.

Quote
Blastoderm {2}{G}{G}

Creature — Beast

Card Text: Shroud (This permanent can't be the target of spells or abilities.)

Fading 3 (This creature enters the battlefield with three fade counters on it. At the beginning of your upkeep, remove a fade counter from it. If you can't, sacrifice it.)

Taken from Chronozoa, Vanishing reads as follows:
 

Vanishing 3 (This permanent enters the battlefield with three time counters on it. At the beginning of your upkeep, remove a time counter from it. When the last is removed, sacrifice it.)

When Chronozoa dies, if it had no time counters on it, put two tokens that are copies of it onto the battlefield.
Logged
Clariax
Global Moderator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 428


Clariax
View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2011, 06:51:27 am »

Vanishing and Fading are each keywords which represent multiple abilities.  In each case the ability that puts counters on the permanent is a static ability that creates a replacement effect, not a triggered ability.  So Topor Orb will not interfere with either ability.
Logged

Aaron Cutler
DCI L2
Cleveland, Ohio
waffles
Basic User
**
Posts: 240


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2011, 11:45:16 am »

Vanishing and Fading are each keywords which represent multiple abilities.  In each case the ability that puts counters on the permanent is a static ability that creates a replacement effect, not a triggered ability.  So Topor Orb will not interfere with either ability.

I suspected he was wrong, thank you for clarifying. But it would have made for some interesting interactions with chronozoa and lost auramancers if it did.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.069 seconds with 20 queries.