TheManaDrain.com
September 29, 2025, 06:33:40 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Some graveyard and stifle questions  (Read 1572 times)
hillbilly
Basic User
**
Posts: 14


View Profile
« on: February 21, 2004, 11:06:10 pm »

Hi I have some questions about how these scenarios work I have read some things and I just want to be sure of what the rules are for certain.
If it is possible could you explain to me in detail if and how some of these things interact as my local scene has become more sophisticated and I want to make sure I am prepared in the future.

How does madness and graveyard removal work can I deny them their madness spell with it?

More on madness can I stifle a madness card?

Academy rector can I remove her from the graveyard before my opponent can use her ability?

More on rector can I stifle her ability?

How does stifle and illusionary mask interact, can I do anything to interfere with the mask player or the face down creatures?

As well do you draw a card from every card that has cycling or only the ones that actually say draw a card?

Thanks in advance for anyone who can explain these to me I appreciate it.
Logged
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2004, 11:16:04 pm »

How does madness and graveyard removal work can I deny them their madness spell with it?

you can't
madness has 1 replacement and 2 triggered abilities
it never hits the graveyard


More on madness can I stifle a madness card?

you can, by countering the first triggered ability that allows the card to be played from the rfg zone

Academy rector can I remove her from the graveyard before my opponent can use her ability?

yes

More on rector can I stifle her ability?

yes
btw, is it a HER? looks like a very old HIM to me



How does stifle and illusionary mask interact, can I do anything to interfere with the mask player or the face down creatures?

you can only stifle the ability putting the creature into play
he'll have to spend the mana again to activate the mask
the creature is in his hand all the while
you may not stifle the flipping up of the creature
it doesn't matter if mask is in play or not


As well do you draw a card from every card that has cycling or only the ones that actually say draw a card?

yes you do
the italics are reminder text
Logged

i need red mana
Dr. Sylvan
TMD Oracle and Uber-Melvin
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1973



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2004, 11:26:25 pm »

EDIT: Defeated. Clearly I need to bookmark the Comp Rules. :-P

Quote from: hillbilly
How does madness and graveyard removal work can I deny them their madness spell with it?

Madness does not put a card into the graveyard, so you cannot prevent them from casting it by removing it from the graveyard.
Quote
More on madness can I stifle a madness card?

Yes. But if I'm reading it right, you have to Stifle before they pay the cost. Someone else could back me up or correct me?
Quote
Academy rector can I remove her from the graveyard before my opponent can use her ability?

Yes. The triggered ability goes on the stack and you can respond to it, making it impossible to fetch an enchantment with it.
Quote
More on rector can I stifle her ability?

Yes.
Quote
How does stifle and illusionary mask interact, can I do anything to interfere with the mask player or the face down creatures?

You can Stifle the ability, but the creature remains in their hand. Turning the creature over can happen at any time for no cost. I suppose you could Stifle it, but they can do it again without a hitch.
Quote
As well do you draw a card from every card that has cycling or only the ones that actually say draw a card?

Cycling always draws you a card. If you mean that some cards don't have the reminder text, italicized text is irrelevant for rules purposes.
Logged

hillbilly
Basic User
**
Posts: 14


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2004, 11:40:47 pm »

one more thing on cycling, the cards that cycle for a land.
such as Forestcycling do you get to fetch a forest and still draw a card? Or are Landcycling and cycling a bit different

thanks
Logged
Dr. Sylvan
TMD Oracle and Uber-Melvin
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1973



View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2004, 11:47:47 pm »

Quote from: hillbilly
one more thing on cycling, the cards that cycle for a land.
such as Forestcycling do you get to fetch a forest and still draw a card? Or are Landcycling and cycling a bit different

Landcycling only gets you the land, there is no additional draw.
Logged

Shikari
Basic User
**
Posts: 37



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2004, 09:11:35 am »

Quote from: Dr. Sylvan
EDIT: Defeated. Clearly I need to bookmark the Comp Rules. Razz

Quote from: hillbilly
How does madness and graveyard removal work can I deny them their madness spell with it?

Madness does not put a card into the graveyard, so you cannot prevent them from casting it by removing it from the graveyard.
Quote
More on madness can I stifle a madness card?

Yes. But if I'm reading it right, you have to Stifle before they pay the cost. Someone else could back me up or correct me?
Quote
Academy rector can I remove her from the graveyard before my opponent can use her ability?

Yes. The triggered ability goes on the stack and you can respond to it, making it impossible to fetch an enchantment with it.
Quote
More on rector can I stifle her ability?

Yes.
Quote
How does stifle and illusionary mask interact, can I do anything to interfere with the mask player or the face down creatures?

You can Stifle the ability, but the creature remains in their hand. Turning the creature over can happen at any time for no cost. I suppose you could Stifle it, but they can do it again without a hitch.
Quote
As well do you draw a card from every card that has cycling or only the ones that actually say draw a card?

Cycling always draws you a card. If you mean that some cards don't have the reminder text, italicized text is irrelevant for rules purposes.


He'll have to stifle the madness trigger. He doesn't pay the cost.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.294 seconds with 19 queries.