TheManaDrain.com
November 25, 2025, 02:34:45 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Stifle Metalworker?  (Read 12012 times)
Bram
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 3203


I've got mushroom clouds in my hands


View Profile
« on: March 02, 2004, 07:47:41 am »

Quick question that popped up in the last e'hoven tourney.

Can you stifle a Metalworker's ability? The judge ruled no, since it's a mana ability. Is this correct?
Logged

<j_orlove> I am semi-religious
<BR4M> I like that. which half of god do you believe in?
<j_orlove> the half that tells me how to live my life
<j_orlove> but not the half that tells me how others should live theirs

R.I.P. Rudy van Soest a.k.a. MoreFling
Lockdown
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 179



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2004, 08:16:59 am »

No you can't stifle it.  Here's the Crystal Keep Ruling:

Quote
406 - Mana Abilities

    * 406.1 - A mana ability is either (a) an activated ability that could put mana into a player's mana pool when it resolves or (b) a triggered ability that triggers from a mana ability and could produce additional mana. A mana ability can generate other effects at the same time it produces mana. [CompRules 2003/07/01]


Quote
Metalworker

      Color= Artifact    Type= Artifact Creature    Cost= 3    UD(R)
      Text (UD+errata): 1/2. ; {Tap}: Reveal any number of artifact cards in your hand. Add {2} to your mana pool for each card revealed this way. [Oracle 2003/07/01]
    * You can reveal zero cards to gain zero mana. [DeLaney 1999/06/08]
    * This is a mana ability. It does not go on the stack and cannot be responded to. [DeLaney 1999/06/08]


That should clear it up.  I'll add mana abilities to my rules FAQ above.
Logged

You have the right to say what you wish, and I have the right to deny it.
DutchJungelist
Basic User
**
Posts: 22


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2004, 08:19:56 am »

damn there goes my shred of dignity  Embarassed now i have no one to blame but myself Twisted Evil
Logged
Bram
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 3203


I've got mushroom clouds in my hands


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2004, 01:36:12 pm »

Henk's a pretty good judge, so the odds of him making a mistake on a relatively simple matter like this were small in the first place.

No worries, though. There are probably many people out there that didn't know the answer (I wasn't sure of it myself either).

Even so, you did well for your first tourney. Hope to see you and your posse again soon.
Logged

<j_orlove> I am semi-religious
<BR4M> I like that. which half of god do you believe in?
<j_orlove> the half that tells me how to live my life
<j_orlove> but not the half that tells me how others should live theirs

R.I.P. Rudy van Soest a.k.a. MoreFling
DutchJungelist
Basic User
**
Posts: 22


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2004, 05:56:20 am »

yeah well probably be there on the saturday
oh just anougher rules question: can you welder something into play under a standstill without making it explode?
thanks
Logged
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2004, 06:27:31 am »

Goblin Welder brings artifacts into play. These artefacts are not played, hence they won't trigger Landstill. Playing = moving a card from the hand to the stack.
Logged
DutchJungelist
Basic User
**
Posts: 22


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2004, 06:41:32 am »

thanks i thought so but was just checking before i make me a new deck
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.06 seconds with 19 queries.