TheManaDrain.com
October 03, 2025, 03:14:41 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Eureka and Pandemonium  (Read 1632 times)
dicemanx
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1398



View Profile
« on: March 22, 2004, 01:37:23 pm »

If I Eureka and have a Pandemonium plus creatures in hand, can I make it so that the opponent takes Pandemonium damage? Is order of "playing" cards under Eureka important? Can I wait until the opponent drops his creatures before dropping Pandemonium to not take damage?
Logged

Without cultural sanction, most or all our religious beliefs and rituals would fall into the domain of mental disturbance. ~John F. Schumaker
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2004, 01:50:42 pm »

The cards put into play during Eureka enter play one at a time. This means that if two of the same Legend are put into play as the result of this spell that the second one is buried, not both of them. [Aahz 1994/06/22]

apparently the ORDER of permanents coming into play is important
however, triggered effects go on the stack after eureka resolves
so i think, yes, you can stack it so your opponent gets it up the arse  :lol:
Logged

i need red mana
dicemanx
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1398



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2004, 01:59:56 pm »

Yeah, I checked out the summaries for Eureka and saw the Legends ruling, but it's not entirely clear what happens with Pandemonium, or any card with a triggered ability that triggers off another card put into play by Eureka.

Run on sentences 4L Smile.
Logged

Without cultural sanction, most or all our religious beliefs and rituals would fall into the domain of mental disturbance. ~John F. Schumaker
Dante
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 1415


Netdecking better than you since newsgroup days

wdicks23
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2004, 03:54:21 pm »

I'm not a judge, but if you drop Pandemonium first under Eureka, then I would say yes, the pandemonium triggered abilities would happen because:

"The cards put into play during Eureka enter play one at a time. This means that if two of the same Legend are put into play as the result of this spell that the second one is buried, not both of them. [Aahz 1994/06/22] "

So Pandemonium is in play and when the creatures are brought into play, the triggered ability happens, but doesn't resolve until the Eureka is done.

"Any abilities that trigger due to these cards coming into play do not actually resolve until after the entire Eureka effect is done resolving. [WotC Rules Team 1998/02/01] "
Logged

Team Laptop

I hate people.  Yes, that includes you.
I'm bringing sexy back
DEA
Basic User
**
Posts: 384



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2004, 10:04:52 pm »

join the queue waiting for jaapman to chime in  :lol:
Logged

i need red mana
Toad
Crazy Frenchman
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2152


112347045 yoshipd@hotmail.com toadtmd
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2004, 06:03:08 am »

The order of putting cards into play is important. Even if you are resolving a single spell, permanents that comes into play during the resolution will only see the other permanents that are already into play by the time you Eureka them.

For example, imagine you have Pandemonium and a random 2/2 in hand. If you Eureka the 2/2 first, then the Pandemonium, nothing will trigger. If you Eureka the Pandemonium then the 2/2, the Pandemonium's triggered ability will go on the stack at the next time any player would receive priority.

So yes, you can wait until your opponent drops his creatures before dropping the Eureka.

At the end of the resolution, all the triggered abilities will go on the stack according to the APNAP rule (Active Player, Non Active Player). That means all your opponent's triggers will resolve in the order he wants before yours. That can be annoying if you are low on life and you desperately need to drop that Pandemonium.
Logged
Jaapmans
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 44

47573040 jaapbrouwer@hotmail.com
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2004, 01:20:39 pm »

Except for the typo, Toad is correct.

Jaap
Quote from: Toad

...
So yes, you can wait until your opponent drops his creatures before dropping the *Pandemonium*
...
Logged

- "Sorry, did I break your concentration?"
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.027 seconds with 19 queries.