Machinus
Keldon Ancient
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 2516
|
 |
« on: May 13, 2004, 12:44:13 am » |
|
Question:
Are there any other cards that allow you to play lands during another players turn? I am wondering how good Zvi's invitational card really is. I am assuming you could play it during your opponent's turn even if you played a land during your own, but only one, right? Any help would be nice. Oh, and here is the text:
CARDNAME
Land
CARDNAME comes into play tapped.
If you control fewer lands than an opponent, you may play CARDNAME during that player's turn as though it were your turn.
Tap, Return CARDNAME to its owner's hand: Add U to your mana pool.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
T1: Arsenal
|
|
|
|
brendan
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2004, 01:26:58 am » |
|
212.6a A player may play a land card from his or her hand only during a main phase of his or her turn, and only when he or she has priority and the stack is empty. A land card isn’t a spell card, and at no time is it a spell. When a player plays a land card, it’s simply put into play. The land card doesn't go on the stack, so players can’t respond to it with instants or activated abilities.
212.6b A player may play only one land card during each of his or her own turns. Effects may allow the playing of additional lands; playing an additional land in this way doesn’t prevent a player from taking the normal action of playing a land. Players can’t begin to play a land that an effect prohibits from being played. As a player plays a land, he or she announces whether he or she is using the once-per-turn action of playing a land. If not, he or she specifies which effect is allowing the additional land play. Effects may also allow you to “put� lands into play. This isn’t the same as “playing a land� and doesn’t count as the player’s one land played during his or her turn. So the text on the card bypasses 212.6a, allowing you to play it on your opponants turn. 212.6b limits you to one per turn, but only during your turn. This suggest to me that you can play unlimited lands during your opponants turn, if you have some way of playing lands in your opponants turn. So either. 1) There's another rule that I didn't find that limits you to 1 in your opponants turn. 2) I'm misinterpreting 212.6b 3) They would change 212.6b if this ever saw print, to stop people from being able to play 4 lands during your opponants turn 1. This card is cool, the fact that it comes into play tapped stops it from being stupidly broken. It's still really really really good but at least it doesn't allow first turn counterspells.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
walkingdude
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2004, 01:55:30 am » |
|
what stops you from playing 4 during their turn 1 is that after the first you no longer have fewer lands than them.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team 10111011: too 10100111001 for decimal
|
|
|
Lockdown
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 179
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2004, 07:26:58 am » |
|
Oddly enough, this question was somewhat addressed in my fantasy card Day of Creation. Not sure if it answers your question, but according to Jebus, you can't get around the more than 1 land a turn rule, even if it's on your opponents turn.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
You have the right to say what you wish, and I have the right to deny it.
|
|
|
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1216
Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2004, 08:34:30 am » |
|
Oddly enough, this question was somewhat addressed in my fantasy card Day of Creation. Not sure if it answers your question, but according to Jebus, you can't get around the more than 1 land a turn rule, even if it's on your opponents turn. Looking back, I may very well have been wrong about that (I do make mistakes you know. I just try to make as few as possible.  ). I'm not certain where i got the notion, but I was certain that was correct at that time. Which is probably a good indicator why Wizards hasn't made a card the lets you play lands on your opponent's turn. It causes problems with the current rules. If Zvi's card ever saw print, it would probably become a put into play effect, or rule 212 would be altered to clear up this card's interaction.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
ProZachar
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2004, 08:36:06 am » |
|
The reason is the "as though it were your turn". That means that, for the purpose of playing land, you treat the game as if it were your turn. You can normally only play one land during your turn, so that applies during other turns as well.
Note that Fastbond & Co. (tm) will let you play more lands as appropriate.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1216
Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2004, 08:38:15 am » |
|
The reason is the "as though it were your turn". That means that, for the purpose of playing land, you treat the game as if it were your turn. You can normally only play one land during your turn, so that applies during other turns as well.
Note that Fastbond & Co. (tm) will let you play more lands as appropriate. I had actually overlooked the "as though it were your turn" bit. That should keep everything nice an neat. 
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
walkingdude
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2004, 08:54:54 am » |
|
Makes sense. I trust Zvi more than anyone else to design cards that will actually work in the rules since he does have his own game.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Team 10111011: too 10100111001 for decimal
|
|
|
Machinus
Keldon Ancient
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 2516
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2004, 07:42:20 pm » |
|
Thanks, you guys have confirmed my instincts here. Now only if Zvi had won instead of Jorstedt...
Which reminds me, can someone tell me if poison is a state-based effect listed in the rules (like decking), or if you have to have one of the poison creatures in play in order to win? The reason I ask is because, well, just imagine combo decks that only need to cast 2 grasps to win instead of 9 spells and a tendrils.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
T1: Arsenal
|
|
|
|
Meddling Mike
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2004, 09:55:28 pm » |
|
From Saturday School #25 by Rune Horvik, Saturday, April 26, 2003: Q: When you look at older cards that give poison counters (i.e., Marsh Viper), they say "If a player has ten or more poison counters, that player loses the game." My friend says that the text is like the Flagbearer text and there needs to be something in play with that text for it to have an effect. I say it's part of the rules and acts like reminder text and you'll lose even if there's nothing with that text in play. Who is right?
A: You are right. The Oracle lists the text in parenthesis, it's just reminder text. It's covered by game rule 420.5h, causing a player with ten or more poison counters to lose the game even if no “poison� creatures are in play.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Meddling Mike posts so loudly that nobody can get a post in edgewise.
Team TMD - If you feel that team secrecy is bad for Vintage put this in your signature
|
|
|
Machinus
Keldon Ancient
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 2516
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2004, 10:01:04 pm » |
|
Thanks, Mage. I predict that development asks Bob for a new card as soon as he wins.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
T1: Arsenal
|
|
|
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1216
Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2004, 09:52:37 am » |
|
Thanks, Mage. I predict that development asks Bob for a new card as soon as he wins. He hasn't won yet. THey have to go through the finals still.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
SpikeyMikey
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2004, 11:32:26 am » |
|
Which is probably a good indicator why Wizards hasn't made a card the lets you play lands on your opponent's turn. It causes problems with the current rules.
Ever heard of Burgeoning?
The key here is that it says as if it was your turn. Since you're only allowed to play one land per turn on your turn, you can only play one land on their turn with Zvi's card, unless you had Exploration or Fastbond in play, in which case you'd be able to play the appropriate number of additional lands.
Frankly, the CiPT part makes me wonder what possible use this card would have. If you didn't have to return it to add mana, I'd say it'd be useful, but as it stands, I can't see why anyone would run it...
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 1216
Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2004, 12:03:33 pm » |
|
Ever heard of Burgeoning?
Yes I am quite familiar with it. Note how it does not allow you to play lands on your opponents turn.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|