Whatever you do, don't plan on stopping Fire/Ice.
Meddling Mage asks for (and "bans") a card name. Fire is not a valid card name. Ice is not a valid card name. Fire/Ice ("Fire and Ice") is a valid card name.
However, when your opponent goes to Fire your dude, he's only playing the spell Fire. A Meddling Mage set to "Fire/Ice" won't stop it.
Is this correct? Crystalkeep seemed silent on the issue. The Comp rules offer this:
505.7. If an effect instructs a player to name a card and the player wants to name a split card, the player must name both halves of the split card.
Which doesn't really address the question. Also relevent is this:
409.4 A player can't begin to play a spell or activated ability that's prohibited from being played by an effect.
Since Fire/Ice is known as Fire/Ice everywhere except on the stack, and you can't put it on the stack because of Meddling Mage it would seem to me to not be playable, but I am not sure of that. What is correct?
Leo