TheManaDrain.com
December 28, 2025, 06:40:33 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Fork questions....and another quick question about vandal  (Read 1068 times)
Cross
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


Ribs+24+7
View Profile WWW
« on: June 20, 2004, 11:15:46 am »

A couple questions on fork:
Yesterday at a tournament I played a lightning bolt targeting a kird, I then immediately forked the bolt without giving my opponent a chance to respond. I did this because of another situation in a tournament in new hampshire. In new hampshire what happened was that I played goblin grenade targeting the opponent then waited to see if he would respond when he didn't I went for the fork, but then everyone told me that I couldn't do this because I had passed priority. Which situation is correct? do you play the fork immediately or after they respond.

Another quick question about goblin vandal. I attack with vandal, and my opponent declares no blockers. I activate its ability by paying a red to destroy my opponents artifact. My opponent then stifles the ability. Does the vandal still do its damage? It seems that the way the card is worded preventing the damage is apart of the ability and not the cost.
Logged

the GG skwad

"109)   Cast Leeches.

110)   You win the game."
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2004, 11:42:12 am »

1.  When you play a spell, the first thing that happens is you get priority again.  You either can play more spells/abilities or pass to your opponent.

If you pass to your opponent, he gets priority and may play spells/abilities.  If he passess back without taking action, the top item of the stack resolves, in this case your Bolt.

If he responds with something, you'll get priority again before bolt resolves, but if he doesn't, you don't get a chance to Fork.

So, to fork reliably, you need to respond to yourself before passing.

2.  If the ability is countered, then it will still deal damage.
Logged
Cross
Basic User
**
Posts: 454


Ribs+24+7
View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2004, 11:55:53 am »

that clears up everying, thanks for a speedy response.
Logged

the GG skwad

"109)   Cast Leeches.

110)   You win the game."
goober
Basic User
**
Posts: 264


Goobady
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2004, 06:57:58 pm »

This ruling is very important for people who played Long back in the day with 4 LED, and Draw 7 now.  You need to play Rituals, pop LEDs, and Lotuses before you know if you opponent will counter the Draw7.
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft
PucktheCat
My interests include blue decks, arguing, and beer.
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 549


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2004, 07:14:13 pm »

Quote
You need to play Rituals, pop LEDs, and Lotuses before you know if you opponent will counter the Draw7.

Or forgo your chance to use them at all, which in the case of LED might be the better play in some circumstances.  Control loves to Force someone's whole hand.

Leo
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.057 seconds with 19 queries.