TheManaDrain.com
December 23, 2025, 07:55:32 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question Regarding Morph Creatures  (Read 3078 times)
Charles Manson
Guest
« on: July 04, 2004, 11:02:29 am »

I have a two questions regarding morph creatures.

 Can morph creatures get around Nether Void without paying the extra 3 mana? Because it is put into play and not played from your hand I assume so.

Also, can morph creatures be countered?

Any help in answering these questions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Logged
kl0wn
Obsolete
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 425


kl0wnz0r ahappyclown
View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2004, 11:30:53 am »

Morph creatures are just 2/2 creatures for 3 colorless mana. They're spells that use the stack (and ARE played from your hand unless you're playing it from your graveyard with Yawgmoth's Will or similar), thusly they are affected by Nether Void and can be countered.

Playing a morph creature also increases your spells-played-this-turn count for Storm triggers. Because it's a spell.

If you play a morph creature facedown when there is a Pyrostatic Pillar out, you'll take 2 damage. Because it's a spell with converted mana cost 3 or less.

An opponent can counter your face down morph while it's on the stack with Exclude because your face down morph is a spell AND a creature, which makes it a "creature spell".

When a morph creature is Mana Drained (because it's a spell and spells use the stack, therefore they can be targetted AND countered by counterspells), the Mana Drainer gets 0 colorless as while the creature is on the stack, its converted mana cost is 0. When a morph creature is in play, its converted mana cost is 0.

Morph creatures also have no creature types or expansion sympbols while they're face-down.


So in other words, you're wrong.

The only situation in which you would be right would be if you were using an Illusionary Mask to put your creature into play under a Nether Void. In that situation, you would have to pay colorless equal to the creature's converted mana cost (which is the total number of colored mana symbols plus the number in the grey circle found at the top right corner of the card when added together) to put the creature into play.

You would not be able to pay 3 colorless mana to put a Titanic Bulvox into play as a face down 0/1 so you could later "turn it up" and into a facedown 2/2 colorless creature with no creature type, abilities, expansion symbol and with converted mana cost of 0, only to later pay 4GGG to flip it up again for a 7/4 trampler as Magical cards do not have 3 faces/backs/sides.

Edit: Heh...pwnt. I don't play with reactive counterspells anyway.
Logged

Team kl0wn: Quitting Magic since 2005?
The Fringe: R.I.P.
Machinus
Keldon Ancient
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2516



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2004, 11:35:11 am »

The CMC of morph is 0. Drain gets no mana.
Logged

T1: Arsenal
Moxlotus
Teh Absolut Ballz
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2199


Where the fuck are my pants?

moxlotusgws
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2004, 11:37:13 am »

The cost in the upper right corner while on the stack is 0 so no mana is given for Mana Drain.
Logged

Cybernations--a free nation building game.
http://www.cybernations.net
kl0wn
Obsolete
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 425


kl0wnz0r ahappyclown
View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2004, 12:00:04 pm »

Awesome! So the converted mana cost of a Fireball for 10 is 1 and not 11? Meltdown no longer gets around Chalice Of The Void for one? I've been playing this game wrong for years then. Go figure.
Logged

Team kl0wn: Quitting Magic since 2005?
The Fringe: R.I.P.
goober
Basic User
**
Posts: 264


Goobady
View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2004, 12:13:07 pm »

Morphing it into play isn't part of the x effect, it is definied uniquely in morph.

Quote
502.26a Morph is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card it’s on, and the morph effect works any time the card is face down. The phrase “Morph [cost]� means “You may play this card as a 2/2 face-down creature, with no text, no name, no subtypes, no expansion symbol, and a mana cost of {o0} by paying {o3} rather than its mana cost.� Any time you could play an instant, you may show all players the morph cost for any face-down permanent you control, pay that cost, then turn the permanent face up. This action does not use the stack. (See rule 504, “Face-Down Spells and Permanents.�)
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 04, 2004, 12:13:14 pm »

Quote from: kl0wn
Awesome! So the converted mana cost of a Fireball for 10 is 1 and not 11? Meltdown no longer gets around Chalice Of The Void for one? I've been playing this game wrong for years then. Go figure.


No.

On the stack, X is what you put into it.  X is only zero when it isn't on the stack.

Morph has an undefined mana cost, since there is no number in the corner.  Since you have an undefined number, its mana cost is 0.  This is also clarified in the rules for morph.
Logged
kl0wn
Obsolete
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 425


kl0wnz0r ahappyclown
View Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 04, 2004, 12:19:23 pm »

Oops. Crystal Keep had nothing on it and everyone here in Binghamton has had me misinformed then. I haven't played a Mana Drain in like a year either.
Logged

Team kl0wn: Quitting Magic since 2005?
The Fringe: R.I.P.
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #8 on: July 05, 2004, 12:15:23 am »

Quote from: kl0wn
Morph creatures are just 2/2 creatures for 3 colorless mana. They're spells that use the stack (and ARE played from your hand unless you're playing it from your graveyard with Yawgmoth's Will or similar), thusly they are affected by Nether Void and can be countered.


You cannot play Morphs from your graveyard with Will.
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2004, 12:56:47 am »

Quote from: MoreFling
Quote from: kl0wn
Morph creatures are just 2/2 creatures for 3 colorless mana. They're spells that use the stack (and ARE played from your hand unless you're playing it from your graveyard with Yawgmoth's Will or similar), thusly they are affected by Nether Void and can be countered.


You cannot play Morphs from your graveyard with Will.


Yes you can.  Why wouldn't you?
Logged
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #10 on: July 05, 2004, 12:59:29 am »

It's the same as casting them off future sight--your opponent will know what the facedown card is, but you can still play it that way.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #11 on: July 06, 2004, 11:47:26 am »

I always thought Morph is something you can only play directly from your hand. Like with Mask.
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
Jebus
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 1216


Corn is no place for a mighty warrior!

Jeabus64
View Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 06, 2004, 11:49:28 am »

Quote from: MoreFling
I always thought Morph is something you can only play directly from your hand. Like with Mask.


No.  It applies to any zone where you can play the card.  Normally this is only your hand, but if someting lets you play it from elsewhere, it applies for that as well.
Logged
rvs
cybernetically enhanced
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2083


You can never have enough Fling!

morfling@chello.nl MoreFling1983NL
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #13 on: July 06, 2004, 01:32:33 pm »

Just to be sure: With Illus. Mask in play, you cannot mask creatures from your grave into play, correct?
Logged

I can break chairs, therefore I am greater than you.

Team ISP: And as a finishing touch, god created The Dutch!
Jacob Orlove
Official Time Traveller of TMD
Administrator
Basic User
*****
Posts: 8074


When am I?


View Profile Email
« Reply #14 on: July 06, 2004, 01:33:55 pm »

Illusionary Mask: {2} |Artifact| X: Put a creature card with converted mana cost X or less from your hand into play face down as a 0/1 creature. Put X mask counters on that creature. Play this ability only any time you could play a sorcery. The creature's controller may turn the creature face up any time he or she could play an instant by removing all mask counters from it. This effect ends if the creature is turnedface up.

Note the "from your hand" clause.
Logged

Team Meandeck: O Lord,
Guard my tongue from evil and my lips from speaking guile.
To those who slander me, let me give no heed.
May my soul be humble and forgiving to all.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.035 seconds with 18 queries.