Philatio
Basic User
 
Posts: 134
It's not just an astrological sign anymore.
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2004, 06:48:10 am » |
|
Well, it's on Saturday School this morning. The long and short of it is that the player will mana burn to death.
I don't know, the effect seems to be a very clean one and not too confusing. I don't think it is that much of a nightmare for Jebus. I can see however it leading to disagreements of players on what the game state was right when playing Time Stop is some complicated things were going on.
-------------------- Time Stop
One of the biggest buzzes surrounding Champions has come from Time Stop. “End the turn.� It's simple. And yes, it's oh so effective.
The official rules for ending the turn are as follows:
509. Ending the Turn
509.1. One card (Time Stop) ends the turn when it resolves. When an effect ends the turn, follow these steps in order, as they differ from the normal process for resolving spells and abilities (see rule 413, "Resolving Spells and Abilities").
509.1a Remove every object on the stack from the game. Remove all attacking and blocking creatures, if any, from combat. All objects not in play or on the stack that aren't represented by cards will cease to exist the next time state-based effects are checked (see rule 420, "State-Based Effects").
509.1b Check state-based effects. No player gets priority, and no triggered abilities are put onto the stack.
509.1c The current phase and/or step ends. The game skips straight to the cleanup step. Skip any phases or steps between this phase or step and the cleanup step.
509.2. No player gets priority during this process, so triggered abilities are not put onto the stack. If any triggered abilities have triggered between the spell or ability resolving and the cleanup step ending, there's a chance to play spells and abilities in the cleanup step. Then there will be another cleanup step before the turn finally ends (see rule 314.3).
509.3. Even though the turn ends, "at end of turn" triggered abilities don't trigger because the end of turn step is skipped.
Q: I was wondering about Time Stop, which was previewed a couple of days ago. If I play it on the extra turn I got from Final Fortune, will I lose or will I simply have gotten an extra turn –Arthur
A: Turn? What turn? Nope, your Final Fortune Turn ends long before your fortunes become final.
Q: Does Time Stop's effect works on un-counterable spells? --Vittorio G.
A: Yes. The spells aren't countered; they're just removed from the game.
Q: What about combat damage?
A: Damage resolved is removed from the creatures. Damage on the stack goes away.
Q: Does Time Stop combo with Waylay?
A: It depends. If you play TS before the at end of turn trigger happens, then no. If you respond to the trigger with TS, then the trigger goes away, and the tokens remain.
Q: Does Time Stop make you mana burn?
A: If a player has mana in his or her pool when Time Stop resolves, he or she will burn.
Q: Does Time Stop ever resolve?
A: The spell will finish resolving, but the card will be removed from the game in the process.
|