TheManaDrain.com
October 05, 2025, 10:52:48 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Will and LED  (Read 1096 times)
lilmidget
Basic User
**
Posts: 83



View Profile
« on: March 16, 2005, 01:23:09 am »

I know that you can play a Thoughcast with 4 artifacts on the board by announcing the spell, then sacing a sphere for U mana to pay for it.

My question is, why can't you announce Yawgmoth's Will, then sac Lion's Eye Diamond to pay for it?

It seems to me that it should work the same way, but I was told a while ago that this wasn't legal. Can anyone help please? Thanks.
Logged

it's nice to be back.
Matt
Post like a butterfly, Mod like a bee.
Adepts
Basic User
****
Posts: 2297


King of the Jews!


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2005, 01:26:41 am »

Because LED's mana ability says "Play this ability only any time you could play an instant" and you can't play instants during the announcement of spell.

The Thoughtcast example is different because Chromatic Sphere's mana ability doesn't have that extra clause.

You can play mana abilities during announcement of a spell unless otherwise stated. LED, Charmed Pendant, and Witch Engine are the only cards that currently have this clause, and Rhystic Cave has a similar but not identical clause.

Oh and [card]Mana Screw[/card] but that's Unhinged and the rules are looser there.
Logged

http://www.goodgamery.com/pmo/c025.GIF
----------------------
SpenceForHire2k7: Its unessisary
SpenceForHire2k7: only spelled right
SpenceForHire2k7: <= world english teach evar
----------------------
noitcelfeRmaeT
{Team Hindsight}
lilmidget
Basic User
**
Posts: 83



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2005, 01:32:54 am »

Oh I see. Thanks for the quick response.
Logged

it's nice to be back.
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 693



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2005, 10:50:58 am »

Note that even though LEDīs ability has a restriction, it is still a mana ability that canīt be responded to, doesnīt use the stack and canīt be countered.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.05 seconds with 17 queries.