Luiggi
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 463
Fear me, if you dare.
|
 |
« on: October 20, 2005, 09:07:31 am » |
|
Quick question about Dredge and it's interaction with Bazaar of Baghdad...
Let's say we have 2 Darkblasts in our graveyard (or any other Dredge card, really), and activate Bazaar of Baghdad. At this point we choose to replace both of the Bazaar's draws with the Dredge mechanic and return both Darkblasts to our hand. The question is, do we still need to discard 3 cards?
Since it's a replacement effect and we never actually draw cards off the Bazaar, I'd imagine that we wouldn't need to discard anything, much like Bazaar's interaction with Uba Mask... I'd appreciate a confirmation or rebuttal of this.
Luiggi
|
|
|
Logged
|
"I saw endless fields of workshops... They were harvesting fish, using them as batteries. [...] If Workshops are the machines and Fish are the humans, G/R Beats is Neo,  ."
|
|
|
epeeguy
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2005, 09:57:28 am » |
|
Let's say we have 2 Darkblasts in our graveyard (or any other Dredge card, really), and activate Bazaar of Baghdad. At this point we choose to replace both of the Bazaar's draws with the Dredge mechanic and return both Darkblasts to our hand. The question is, do we still need to discard 3 cards?
Yes. Bazaar of Baghdad says "  : Draw two cards, then discard three cards." When you would draw a card, Dredge allows you to replace the draw (and only the draw) with the ability to Mill X cards and then return the card with Dredge to your hand. However, all that does is replace the event of the card draw itself. It doesn't change anything else about the ability that caused the card to be drawn. So, with two Darkblasts in your graveyard and choosing to replace both card draws with Dredge, effectively the text of Bazaar might read: "  : Put the top 3 cards from your library into the graveyard and return Darkblast to your hand. Put the top 3 cards from your library into the graveyard and return Darkblast to your hand. Discard three cards." Since the discard is not dependent on having drawn cards (if it were, it would have to say "If you drew cards this way, then discard three cards."), then you still have to discard three cards.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Level 2 Judge
It's the wood that should fear your hand, not the other way around. No wonder you can't do it, you acquiesce to defeat before you even begin. - Pai Mei
(Retired Poster)
|
|
|
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 593
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2005, 10:06:40 am » |
|
much like Bazaar's interaction with Uba Mask The interaction between bazaar and uba mask is that the cards you draw with the bazaar are removed from the game instead (these removed cards can still be cast because of uba mask). However, this only negates the discard effect if your hand is already empty (making the "discard 3 cards" effectively "void"). If you have cards in your hand when you activate bazaar with an uba mask in play, you still need to discard 3...
|
|
|
Logged
|
Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood... as fast as this.
|
|
|
ctthespian
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 224
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2005, 10:07:47 am » |
|
Since it's a replacement effect and we never actually draw cards off the Bazaar, I'd imagine that we wouldn't need to discard anything, much like Bazaar's interaction with Uba Mask...
Bazaar works with Uba Mask only because the player doesn't have a hand when using the bazaar and therefore have no cards to discard. I see Limbo beat me too it.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Alpha Underground Sea = $200 Alpha Black Lotus = $1000 Knowing that I can build almost any deck in T1 and have it be black bordered. = Priceless
|
|
|
Luiggi
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 463
Fear me, if you dare.
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2005, 12:34:30 pm » |
|
Ah, ok, this clarifies a lot. I was under the impression that when you activate a Bazaar with an Uba Mask out you never discarded, even if your hand was full, since you weren't actually drawing any cards off the Bazaar. I figured that would've "countered" the rest of the Bazaar's activated ability... I guess I thought it was like the old Sylvan Library/Abundance combo, where you wouldn't have to put back any cards due to Sylvan Library, since you replaced those two optional draws with Abundance activations...
Thanks for clarifying!
Luiggi
|
|
|
Logged
|
"I saw endless fields of workshops... They were harvesting fish, using them as batteries. [...] If Workshops are the machines and Fish are the humans, G/R Beats is Neo,  ."
|
|
|
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 593
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2005, 12:58:38 pm » |
|
Sylvan Library has an "if you do" clause. So if you don't draw the cards (by replacing the draw by something else), you don't have to put them back. Just to explain Sylvan Library completely, there is one more thing you can do to prevent putting back a card. Suppose you have a Sylvan Library, and a Words of Worship. At the beginning of your Draw Phase, you draw your card for the turn, which turns out to be a Lightning Bolt. Then you stack the Sylvan Library ability. Before the trigger from the Sylvan Library resolves, you can sling the lightning bolt at something. If you would replace one card drawn for Sylvan Library by the effect from Words of Worship, the "put cards back" from the Sylvan Library would only affect the single card in your hand that was drawn that turn, and you would only have to put back one, OR pay 4 life. If the lightning bolt would be an Ancestral Recall, you get the choice to put back 2 out of the four cards in your hand drawn that turn, as now you can choose either of the 4 cards drawn. If you cast brainstorm, then you are in for some serious book-keeping, but I think / hope you get the point.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood... as fast as this.
|
|
|
Luiggi
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 463
Fear me, if you dare.
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2005, 02:14:31 pm » |
|
I sort of do, but no worries, I'm not about to play Sylvan Library in any format,  . Luiggi
|
|
|
Logged
|
"I saw endless fields of workshops... They were harvesting fish, using them as batteries. [...] If Workshops are the machines and Fish are the humans, G/R Beats is Neo,  ."
|
|
|
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 2785
Team Vacaville
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2005, 08:26:48 am » |
|
I have a followup questiion about Dredge.
Dredging up Darkblast under Possessed Portal? Is that ok? Cereberal Assassin may get a new toy!
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Gabethebabe
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 693
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2005, 09:24:50 am » |
|
That will work, you can choose which of the replacement effects to apply.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
LotusHead
Full Members
Basic User
  
Posts: 2785
Team Vacaville
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2005, 03:19:16 pm » |
|
That will work, you can choose which of the replacement effects to apply.
Speaking of replacement effects, Yawgmoth's Will and discarding (or sacrificing) a Darksteel Colossus. Both have replacement effects. Could you will DSC away if you wanted to? (RFG Colossus? )
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
epeeguy
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: October 21, 2005, 03:37:51 pm » |
|
Speaking of replacement effects, Yawgmoth's Will and discarding (or sacrificing) a Darksteel Colossus. Both have replacement effects. Could you will DSC away if you wanted to? (RFG Colossus? )
Provided the Colossus would somehow go to the graveyard, yes you could. The controller/owner of the Colossus can choose the replacement effect of the Will to remove it from the game, or you can choose the replacement effect of the Colossus to have it shuffled into your library.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Level 2 Judge
It's the wood that should fear your hand, not the other way around. No wonder you can't do it, you acquiesce to defeat before you even begin. - Pai Mei
(Retired Poster)
|
|
|
Lunar
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: October 21, 2005, 08:35:07 pm » |
|
Cereberal Assassin may get a new toy! worried about me jeff??? heh... I still prefer Death Spark over Darkblast in CA for now...killing people with the spark AND being able to kill multiple welders/shamans is pretty coo, couple that with multiple triskelions and duplicant and its already pretty cooll...however....being able to kill 2/2s and stuff with all the draw in my deck is neat as well.. you also cant forget that death spark acts like a squee that costs 1...darkblast doesnt help with card advantage with bazaar sorry to keep this a bit off topic, heh...
|
|
|
Logged
|
Dozer - "TMD is not a place where everyone can just post what was revealed to them in their latest wet dream"
Webster - "most of the deck is pimped, like my insane shirt, which exudes a level of pimpness only to be expressed as sublime."
|
|
|
Upinthe
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2005, 01:35:06 pm » |
|
Quick question about Dredge and it's interaction with Bazaar of Baghdad...
Let's say we...
Luiggi
I call the judge over because you are getting coached... Don't dredge (haha) up months-old topics for stuff like this. In fact, don't dredge up months-old threads at all. -Dante
|
|
« Last Edit: December 08, 2005, 02:51:07 pm by Dante »
|
Logged
|
I know this won't happen in a tournament, but if my opponent has Chaos Orb in his hand while I'm controlling his turn from a Mindslaver, who flips the card if I force him to play it and activate it?
"When I saw the announcement of Temple Garden on wizards.com, I knew that I was going to be out of Type 2 for the next two years" - JDizzle
|
|
|
|