TheManaDrain.com
September 27, 2025, 04:21:21 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Madness/LED + Turn Structure  (Read 1478 times)
scutakicker
Snakes on the Drain!
Basic User
**
Posts: 70



View Profile
« on: December 06, 2005, 06:04:37 pm »

Here's the setup:
I have a mountain and a Lion's Eye Diamond on the table. In my hand is a Firestorm (R - Discard X cards to do X damage to X targets) and an Arrogant Wurm.

What I would like to do is to play the Firestorm using my mountain and, when the Arrogant Wurm is removed from the game due to its Madness use the Diamond to pay for it. I understand that its complicated due to 1) LED's ability being played as an instant and not a mana ability and 2) the Wurm only being able to be played for its madness cost until the next time I pass priority (right?).

When do I discard the cards for each? Firestorm says that you discard cards as an additional cost to play the spell, but do I only discard my hand from the Diamond when it resolves? If I cast Firestorm and sac the Diamond in response then can I play the Wurm for its madness while also having discarded it to to the Firestorm? If not, is there another way to do it so this works?

-----------
2nd Question
In order to be able to attack/tap a creature you need to have controlled it since the beginning of the turn. Does this mean the very beginning of the turn or just the beginning phase (untap/upkeep/draw)? i.e. If I put a counter on Aether Vial during my upkeep can I Vial out a creature and attack that turn with it?

Also: Someone was saying something interesting about Kiki-Jiki. They were arguing that you could play Kiki, then after EOT triggers during your opponent's turn use its ability. Then during your turn you could untap and use it again. Can you do effects that last "until end of turn" at the end of a turn but after EOT triggers like this?
« Last Edit: December 06, 2005, 06:15:57 pm by scutakicker » Logged

--ICBM--
Machinus
Keldon Ancient
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2516



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2005, 06:07:11 pm »

1) Pay R and discard the Arrogant to play Firestorm. When the damage has resolved, you will get priority again and the Madness ability will go on the stack.

2) Activate the LED and choose green. Play the Arrogant.
Logged

T1: Arsenal
Komatteru
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 783

Joseiteki


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2005, 06:14:20 pm »

LED is a mana ability that can only be played when you can play an instant.  As such, it doesn't use the stack, it can't be responded to, and it doesn't resolve or anything.  You chuck your hand, toss the LED into the yard, and you have 3 mana of your favorite color mana.  You never lose priority when you play it (regardless of turn), so when the madness trigger goes onto the stack, you already have the 3 mana to play whatever madness spells you just discarded.
Logged
Machinus
Keldon Ancient
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2516



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2005, 06:15:48 pm »

LED is a mana ability that can only be played when you can play an instant.  As such, it doesn't use the stack, it can't be responded to, and it doesn't resolve or anything.  You chuck your hand, toss the LED into the yard, and you have 3 mana of your favorite color mana.  You never lose priority when you play it (regardless of turn), so when the madness trigger goes onto the stack, you already have the 3 mana to play whatever madness spells you just discarded.

You can put the Arrogant on the stack on top of the Firestorm if you want. I was just trying to offer a simple explanation.
Logged

T1: Arsenal
Limbo
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 593



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2005, 06:17:07 pm »

Quote
When the damage has resolved, you will get priority again and the Madness ability will go on the stack.

That is incorrect. The discarding is part of putting Firestorm on the stack. So the order in which you do stuff:

Announce Firestorm, Pay R, discard a card (Arrogant Wurm).
Put Firestorm on the stack.
Put the madness trigger from the Arrogant Wurm on top of the Firestorm.
Activate your LED for green, discarding your hand. This is a mana ability, so no response possible from opponents.
Start resolving the madness trigger.
Pay for the Wurm using your LED mana.
Put Wurm into play.
Resolve Firestorm.
Logged

Without magic, life would be a mistake - Friedrich Nietzsche

Chuck would ask Chuck how a woodchuck would chuck wood...as fast as this.
Machinus
Keldon Ancient
Full Members
Basic User
***
Posts: 2516



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2005, 06:23:14 pm »

Quote
When the damage has resolved, you will get priority again and the Madness ability will go on the stack.

That is incorrect. The discarding is part of putting Firestorm on the stack. So the order in which you do stuff:

Announce Firestorm, Pay R, discard a card (Arrogant Wurm).
Put Firestorm on the stack.
Put the madness trigger from the Arrogant Wurm on top of the Firestorm.
Activate your LED for green, discarding your hand. This is a mana ability, so no response possible from opponents.
Start resolving the madness trigger.
Pay for the Wurm using your LED mana.
Put Wurm into play.
Resolve Firestorm.

Do you have to choose to activate the Madness trigger as soon as it goes on the stack? I thought you could wait until the next time you had priority.
Logged

T1: Arsenal
scutakicker
Snakes on the Drain!
Basic User
**
Posts: 70



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2005, 06:35:27 pm »

My understanding was that there were 2 abilities in madness--a static ability that gave you the option of removing it from the game rather than putting in the graveyard and a triggered ability that allowed you to play it for its madness cost that would trigger if you  did remove it from the game.

I thought you had to use the remove from game ability at the time you discard it and would otherwise put it in the graveyard, right? And LED ability doesn't use the stack? So the main effect of its wording is to make it so you can't use it to play spells from your hand?

I also added a question about timing/turn structure which wasn't there originally
Logged

--ICBM--
Nibble
Basic User
**
Posts: 194


HisNameIsBoopy
View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2005, 06:59:02 pm »

My understanding was that there were 2 abilities in madness--a static ability that gave you the option of removing it from the game rather than putting in the graveyard and a triggered ability that allowed you to play it for its madness cost that would trigger if you  did remove it from the game.

You're correct here, so let's take a look at the exact wordings from comp rules:

“If a player would discard this card, that player discards it, but may remove it from the game instead of putting it into his or her graveyard�

So, at the time you pay costs for Firestorm, you can discard the Wurm and choose to apply the effect, removing it from the game.

“When this card is removed from the game this way, until that player passes next, the player may play it any time he or she could play an instant by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost. When the player passes next, he or she puts this card into his or her graveyard.�

After Firestorm goes on the stack, the Wurm is RFG'd and you have priority. Now is the time to activate LED and get your mana. Even though it has the 'can only be played as an instant' clause, it doesn't use the stack, so you don't have to pass priority to have it resolve. So, you'll get your {G}{G}{G} with the Wurm still removed, voila.

I thought you had to use the remove from game ability at the time you discard it and would otherwise put it in the graveyard, right? And LED ability doesn't use the stack? So the main effect of its wording is to make it so you can't use it to play spells from your hand?

Correct, correct, and correct. Wizards decided the 'announce a spell, then pay costs with LED once it's out of your hand' play was not intended and too strong, so they fixed it.

I also added a question about timing/turn structure which wasn't there originally
In order to be able to attack/tap a creature you need to have controlled it since the beginning of the turn. Does this mean the very beginning of the turn or just the beginning phase (untap/upkeep/draw)? i.e. If I put a counter on Aether Vial during my upkeep can I Vial out a creature and attack that turn with it?

Beginning of turn is beginning of turn, no getting around that. It has to be there at the beginning of the untap step.

Also: Someone was saying something interesting about Kiki-Jiki. They were arguing that you could play Kiki, then after EOT triggers during your opponent's turn use its ability. Then during your turn you could untap and use it again. Can you do effects that last "until end of turn" at the end of a turn but after EOT triggers like this?

This happens because of a discrepancy between 'at end of turn' and 'until end of turn'. Effects that last 'until end of turn' truly mean that, they are removed during the cleanup step and there's no way to get them to last into a different turn. 'At end of turn' effects are different, because they're actually triggered abilities that go on the stack at the beginning of the end step. The catch here is that the end step is a time when players can get priority, so if you play an ability with an 'at end of turn' trigger after the current turn's end step has already begun, the trigger won't retroactively activate, so it'll have to wait until the next turn's end step to trigger. It's the same idea as putting something into play that has an 'at the beginning of your upkeep' trigger into play during your upkeep - it obviously won't trigger for that upkeep, you'll have to wait for the next one.
Logged

Team Grosse Manschaft - We don't just play type 4 all the time, we swear
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.038 seconds with 19 queries.